Benihana at Fairmont Royal York

4.3
1011 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fun
  • Good for a Date
Benihana is a Japanese steak and seafood house that features teppanyaki style dining spaces, sushi / sashimi bar and a traditional Japanese menu. It’s Japanese décor and experienced staff create an authentic Japanese ambiance. The combination of these aspects results in a unique experience for guests of all ages. Inspired by the culture of Japan and reinvented with contemporary design, our Sushi & Sake Lounge provides the perfect backdrop to sip on premium sake while savouring expertly crafted culinary delights prepared by our skilled sushi chefs.
What 1011 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.5
Service
4.2
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
l
Savannah
3 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Friendly, attentive service. Very good meal and lots of food!

Report
Helpful
OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Awesome service, a little expensive for drinks.

Report
Helpful
ST
Toronto
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 1

Poor service felt rushed. Ordered shrimp for my wife and I we paid but the chef gave our food to the whole table. We dressed for an elegant evening but the dress code was way too relaxed for elegance. What we ate and drank was not worth the price. I would not eat here again

Report
Helpful
CO
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The experience is awesome. So much fun. I’m very happy with the vegetarian menu too. You get good food and they cook it carefully first so it doesn’t touch meat. The waitress even subbed the onion soup for an extra salad because it contains chicken broth.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review, Carolina. We are delighted to know you had an awesome experience and our team ensured every course was enjoyable for you! We hope to welcome you back soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
NT
1 review
Dined on July 12, 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Food was delicious, however the experience was not exactly as expected. We enjoyed it, but our chef was not as entertaining as we expected, and the show was not spectacular. We had expected at Benihana that we would have been blown away by the show, but it was just standard. They did do a very good job accommodating dietary restrictions of our group and celebrating a birthday with us.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review, Natalie. While we are pleased to know you had a delicious meal, we are sorry to learn of your overall disappointing experience. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the level of service or entertainment we are known to provide and we profusely apologize. We have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage for internal follow-up. . It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report
Helpful
OT
Toronto
8 reviews
Dined on July 12, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

taste like ............dont try!!! waste of koney....................

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to learn you did not have an exceptional experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

This was the worst dinner I have ever experienced at a high end restaurant. The food was lacking flavour, my steak was over cooked, the service was ridiculously slow and the waitress had a lot of attitude.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointing visit with us. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the quality experience we are known to provide and we profusely apologize. We have shared your feedback with the Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage for internal follow-up. It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your trust in our restaurant. - Meaghan, Guest Experiences

Report
Helpful
PH
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Everything was wonderful and the filet Mignon was out of this world. The fried rice was just a little bland. Could have used garlic and a little more seasoning

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 12, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Patricia. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience and we have shared your feedback with the Executive Chef. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
B
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

Food was good however over priced. There are other fantastic Sushi restaurants in Toronto that are less expensive and very good. Service lacked. No personality!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 12, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to learn you did not have an exceptional experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
F
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

First time to the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was delicious and it was amazing watching the chef cook our food in front of us. Will be back!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 12, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a fantastic experience and enjoyed the hibachi show! We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Food was great. A little over priced.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 12, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Benihana was a very nice place for a family dinner. Our chef and the staff were awesome and our food was delicious. It is a little hard to find because it’s tucked away in a hotel and parking was a pain but other than that we loved it.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and delicious meal! We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
A
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 3

I would recommend but with the caveat that it's a hotel restaurant.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 12, 2019

Thank you for the four star rating, Amanda. We hope to welcome you again! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
l
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

This time, my friends and I had summerlicious menu in Benihana, and I ordered beef while my friend ordered chicken. Both of our main courses were over-cooked. Moreover, the whole dinner was in a rush, rush serving food, rush taking our plates and rush checking our bills. Besides, the chief was quite silent when cooking, which made the whole experience plain and bored.

I've been to Benihana before and I had a great experience, that's why I decided to try a second time. However, this time was quite disappointing for us, no matter of the food or the service. I believe the restaurant can do much better than this.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 12, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. As you are aware this is highly atypical and not reflective of the service we strive to deliver. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and have passed this along to our Director of Food and Beverage for internal review. We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
PN
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 3Ambience 1

In general, the food is poor and the performance is not too special. I booked a table to Benihana for summerlicous because I expected the experience at a restaurant in Fairmont hotel would be outstanding and amazing, but I totally disappointed.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 12, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are sorry to learn you had a disappointing experience with us. We can assure you this is not what our guests have come to know or expect and we profusely apologize. We have shared your comments with the Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage for internal review. It is our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future for an exceptional experience. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall 4Food 2Service 5Ambience 4

My boyfriend and I were very excited to go to Benihana for the first time to celebrate his birthday. Overall experience is good but both of our stomach felt upset immediately after eating their food...

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 5, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. While we appreciate knowing overall you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed your meal, it is disappointing to learn you weren't feeling well afterwards. We kindly ask you to reach out to the restaurant directly so we may further investigate. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
AS
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on June 28, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

Restaurant is well located and easy to find, they put us on a corner table facing the wall and the kitchen door, not very pleasant. Food was good although very salty. Too expensive for what you get

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 5, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent visit, Ana. We are sorry to learn of your disappointing experience with us. We can assure you this is not indicative of the quality experience we are known to provide and we have shared your comments with our management team for internal review. It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your trust in our restaurant. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
A
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Benihana always delivers!
perfect place for a birthday surprise dinner.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 5, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating, Andrew! We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
AM
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

Honestly the only issue I had was that it was so incredibly hot where we were sitting. The rest is of the restaurant was cool and lively but i was immediately sweating and uncomfortable where we sat.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on July 5, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Angie. We are sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we have shared your feedback with our Director of Food and Beverage for internal investigation on where you were sitting and how we can solve this concern for future guests. It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your trust in our restaurant. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
K
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Overall, we enjoyed our dinner very much. Ahi tuna was delicious! Steak cooked medium rare could have been a better quality cut of meat. Given that, the price should better reflect the quality of meat.

Other than that, service was excellent, and we would definitely return.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Krysten. We are delighted to know you had a great experience and we appreciate your feedback. We have shared your comments with our team for internal review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
RA
1 review
Dined on June 21, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great atmosphere. Great food. Good service
I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating, Robert! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
w
Toronto
8 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Great service and a fun place to enjoy an entertaining meal.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for the four star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
L
Louisville
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We had an excellent chef. He was so interesting and we had great conversations!
Please tell him we so enjoyed!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had an exceptional experience and wonderful service from your Chef. We have passed your compliments onto our team to share with him. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on June 18, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The sever Daly is a true professional. So caring! We came back because she was so amazing.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are delighted to learn of the professional service you received and we have shared your comments with our Management Team to recognize this individual. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
JM
London
2 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 4

We were expecting better from Benihana to be honest. Service wise & food. Just average. For that we paid too much. I usually tip but not this time.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Jamie. We are sorry to learn of your disappointing experience with us. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the quality experience we are known to provide. We have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
J
Toronto
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Hands down the best Teppanyaki restaurant. Had a great time.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating, Jimmy! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
Singapore
1 review
Dined on June 14, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Great time

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on June 14, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Great friendly chef and attentive waiter. Great food but small sizes

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for the four star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
LA
Toronto
12 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

As always an amazing meal at Benihana with fantastic service. Our chef was really fun and engaging and great at his craft. The best tappanyaki in Toronto!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 28, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating, Leah! We are delighted to know you had an amazing experience and received fantastic service. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
VT
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent dinner experience! Right from being welcomed until the last bite the staff was excellent and very attentive. The food and the show was nothing like I had ever seen or eaten before! Highly recommended!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 13, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Vanda. We are delighted to know you had an exceptional experience with us! We hope to welcome you back soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
AR
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 4Ambience 3

Party of 9 could not fit at one hibachi. I think that should have been told to me when I made the reservation. Shrimp was like leather. $6.00 for vegetable fried rice. Chef really didn't do many traditional teppanyaki manuevers.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 13, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Andrea. We are sorry to learn of your disappointing experience. You are absolutely correct that you should have been made aware that our Teppanyaki tables can only seat seven guests at a time. This is in our communication and we are following up on how this was missed from your interaction. We have also shared your comments with our Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report
Helpful
DF
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 5Ambience 4

I have eaten at 6 different Benihana's and I have never had to pay for Benihana's fried rice. When I asked they told me that fried rice only comes White do you want anything else it's extra, caught me off guard. And when they made me the Benihana's fried rice for my children and my wife I didn't taste garlicky like normal Benihana's fried rice so all in all I paid $26 for fried rice that didn't taste like Benihana fried rice

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 13, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Derek. We are sorry to learn of your recent disappointing experience. We have shared your comments with our Executive Chef for internal follow-up. It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your trust in Benihana. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. It is truly appreciated. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
a
1 review
Dined on June 7, 2019
Overall 2Food 4Service 1Ambience 1

The waitress was EXTREMELY rude. I ordered hibatchi and my wife only wanted sushi, this caused the waitress to treat us poorly and rudely. It was an awful experience on our anniversary no less...

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 13, 2019

Thank you for your review, Andrew. We are truly sorry to learn of your negative experience with us. We can assure you this is not inactive of the level of service we strive to provide to our guests. No matter what our guests prefer to enjoy from our menu you should be accommodated with the utmost respect. This is concerning to us and we have shared your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage for internal investigation. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Report
Helpful
r
Toronto
1 review
Dined on June 6, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We have been coming here for the past 25 years and always have a great time! Connie has been with us from many years and is the sweetest and most lovely woman. We have also had Peter as our chef a few times and he is very personable and fun to watch cook. We will always continue coming here!

Report
Helpful
LB
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Benihana is our favourite place to dine when in Toronto. The dining room has a pleasant atmosphere. The cook at our table was very entertaining as well as providing an excellent meal. The servers are attentive making for a great dining experience. The price is quite reasonable for the quality of the meal and the service.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 13, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know we are a favourite spot when visiting the city and we are thrilled this visit was just as fantastic as the previous ones! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

My sisters bday and very kind services from all servers and manager. Very worm welcoming from all staffs. Food quality is top of notches. Such a good memorial experience. Thank you.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 5, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a fantastic experience and received welcoming service from our Colleagues. We hope you visit again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
JS
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

We had been talking about going here for ages, and finally decided to go for our anniversary! We had a lot of fun, were entertained by our chef, and had a lovely evening. The surprise "Happy Anniversary" dessert was the icing on the cake! Thank you!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on June 5, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Jessica. We are delighted to know that you finally came for a visit and celebrated a very special day with us! We hope to welcome you back in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
DM
Toronto
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 5

Only had Sushi and Sashimi. Was ok. Not spectacular for the price you pay.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on May 27, 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Danny. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the Executive Chef for internal review. It is our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
DK
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Our Chef was excellent and we would come back in a heartbeat.
Thanks to all at Benihana at the Fairmont Royal York.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on May 21, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating, David! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
Helpful
JT
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

The meal was ok. The Travelzoo menu was a bit misleading. It said choose two menu items however they only offered us one item ... Smaller portions and unremarkable. Possibly the full menu is better.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on May 21, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback John. We are sorry to learn you did not have an outstanding experience with us. As a measure of explanation the Travelzoo offer is shared sushi platter, choice of appetizer, entree and dessert per person. We are sorry for any confusion and have shared this with the Director of Food and Beverage for internal follow-up on communicating this to our guests. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26