Cluny

4.4
3484 reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
French
Outdoor tables are subject to the weather. If it rains, we can not guarantee indoor space. For more information on our health & safety procedures, please visit https://distilleryhospitality.com/health-and-safety

Exciting, non-pretentious menus inspired by Frances's modern food movement paired with vibrant music, breathtaking design, & personalized service have made us the best French restaurant in Toronto. Nearly every item on our menu is made from scratch and we proudly maintain a curated Wine Spectator recognized wine list with nearly 200 bottles.

Our adjacent café lets you take Cluny home with pastries, macarons, housemade terrines and preserves, and artisanal pantry items. Take out, from coffee to fresh-baked breads, made-to-order crepes to sandwiches.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 3484 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.5
Service
4.6
Ambience
4.1
Value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
LJ
LauraJ
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Outstanding patio dining - the food was perfect and I can't wait to go back. Service was excellent.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Laura, thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our patio dining as well as our cuisine. We can't wait to welcome you back for another exceptional experience. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

It was lovely and the food was very good. It was just freezing and the heaters were not doing much!

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your amazing review! We are happy to hear you had such a lovely experience dining with us. We understand patio temperatures can be chilly although we do our best to provide you with the best service during these times. Come back anytime for another amazing experience! Best, Stuart K.

Report
LT
LaurenT
1 review
Dined on November 22, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Cozy and beautiful. They definitely have done the best they can given the unfortunate circumstances of 2020.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for choosing us to make your dining experience so special, Lauren! We are thrilled you have a wonderful time and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future. Best, Stuart K.

Report
MC
MhairiC
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 21, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The outdoor patio at Cluny's was perfect for outdoor dining. From the overhead heaters to the blankets (for sale) to cover your legs, you couldn't ask for a better COVID dining experience. The Breakfast Hash was off the charts!

A
Annnon
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Quality food, beautifully designed and great service. We'll be back here again.

KF
vipKimF
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our server was amazing! Wish I got his name.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
15 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Sat out in the heated patio area. Service and food was excellent!! I really like that the patio was semi-enclosed with artificial vines providing a bit of privacy between us and the pedestrians on the other side of the seating area.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Always such a treat to come to Cluny 💕

OT
OpenTable Diner
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on November 19, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food, amazing service and the most unique ambiance. The outdoor “secret garden” felt like we were transported to the South of France!

JM
JenniferM
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 19, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutely lovely. Can’t wait for life to get back to normal and go back

VC
VanessaC
1 review
Dined on November 18, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing food, great ambience and staff was lovely!

EL
ElizabethL
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 15, 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

A very lovely brunch. Outdoor tent was beautifully decorated.

DL
DLI2
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food, service & atmosphere. Can't wait to return.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

One of the best onion soups I've ever tasted

TG
TomG
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall4Food5Service1Ambience4

As always, food was great. Service has dropped a bit, culminating in our waiter literally begging to tip well.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience4

The hostesses were very nice and efficient and no issues came up until the server began talking to us. He was not the friendliest but that didn’t really matter because we were here for the ambience and food. He made no efforts to recommend anything that was good on the menu and it seemed like he was unfamiliar himself. Everything was fine - food was not great though - until the bill came. My friend and I each paid and tipped regardless of our server’s bad attitude tonight (who knows, he may have been going through a personal problem so we did not want to judge or complain) but we felt as though he was watching us like a hawk when we were putting in our cards to pay. We both returned the machine to him and said thanks but he grabbed it and did not say anything. Not a thanks or a bye and it was so bizarre because never have I been treated like this at a restaurant. Please watch who you hire because some people are just not fit to be in the customer service/hospitality field. Due to this bad experience, I will not be returning. Additionally, the food is overpriced and you are just paying for the ambience. All that is fine because I’m a sucker for Instagram pictures but the service just completely turned me off from ever returning.

Cluny
Responded on November 24, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our ambience. That said, there is no excuse for service that misses the mark, so we truly apologize that your visit fell short. When guests experience any service issues, we encourage them to speak up, so please know a manager would have been happy to speak with you if you had any concerns. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the experience you deserve. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Beautifully-lit and heated outdoor patio makes you forget that it's November!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on November 11, 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Food was good quality standard French. Location is great - central bustling Distillery but on a side street so outdoor tables not feeling like you’re eating on Yonge st. They have vine covered trellis and heaters dor outdoor dining, but you would still want a thick jacket once it gets really cold.

Indoors is really good but obviously we won’t be seeing that for a while. We had two drinks, two mains, and one dessert for $250 (inc generous tip)

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
37 reviews
Dined on November 11, 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

A pleasant heated patio and a good bistro menu. Hard to beat in November!

T
Tori
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Well, we got the worst seat in the house right by the front/hostess even though we had a reso - so i was hoping they would have reserved a better table and left the front ones for walk-ins. But anywho, maybe they were busy. My partner and I ordered the Steak Frites medium rate and it came back medium well. I also put in that we were celebrating a big promotion and i noticed lots of people getting birthday celebration plates but we didn't get anything which was disappointing and when we left, the hostess at the front didn't even say goodbye. The only highlight was the frites and our server who was delightful. Will not be returning.

Cluny
Responded on November 24, 2020

Tori, we're sorry to hear that you did not have the outstanding experience that you deserve for such a special occasion. We always encourage guests to let us know when anything about their experience is missing the mark — we would have loved the opportunity to make things right with you. So please know a manager would have been happy to speak with you. We hope that you will give us the chance to show you a better experience should you join us again. Best, Stuart K.

Report
K
Kooka
Toronto
8 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We loved every aspect of our lunch...patio is decorated with ivy and twinkle light, the server was lovely, very attentive, funny and personable. Food, as always was excellent.

MS
MyronS
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our 44th wedding anniversary brunch at our favourite eating place in the Distillery District. Great food, great service from Armando. Keep up the good work.
Can’t wait to go back.

C
Clarisse
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Great food and ambiance. Service was wonderful. I gave 4 stars because I wasn't blown away.

KT
KevinT
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience3

Food was average at best, expected better especially at the price point.

Cluny
Responded on November 24, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, Kevin. We're sorry to hear that you weren't wow-ed by your meal. Please know that we would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your taste. As well, any of our servers would be happy to make personalized recommendations. We are confident that there is something perfect on our menu for everyone. We hope to see you again soon to try some more of our flavourful menu! Best, Stuart K.

Report
SE
SimgeE
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Amazing service, delicious food, wonderful ambiance, friendly staff. We had a great time.

Cluny
Responded on November 23, 2020

Simge, thank you for taking the time to review us! We are over the moon to hear we provided you with amazing service and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for your some more of your favourites. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
Z
Zedzed
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Good food, but there is a DIstillery District price bump. Service is friendly and attentive. Miss the dining room, but the patio is a lovely space.

GM
GlennM
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Always enjoy it. Good food and good service. Nice patio

Cluny
Responded on November 23, 2020

Glenn, we're so glad you could stop by! We'd love to see you back our way again soon for more good food and service. Best, Stuart K.

Report
DB
DougB
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 5, 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

We had a great experience, the food was excellent and while the service got off to a slow start it got steadily better throughout the meal.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutely love cluny! Amazing steak amazing wine! The patio is so romantic - perfect for any anniversaries. However, the patio heaters were not that effective. Was still cold, would have stayed longer for more drinks but too cold. They did have a $10 blanket but didn’t see the value in that as I have too many blankets at Home.

RR
RebeccaR
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

Food was delicious and the service was great, very attentive and friendly. More/stronger heaters could be added, especially to the tables closest to the door. Overall, a fantastic experience, will definitely be back.

Cluny
Responded on October 27, 2020

Rebecca, thank you for taking the time to show us your support! We're thrilled our food and service hit the spot. Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
N
Nicola
Toronto
26 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience3

Great that the patio use has continued! Servers were great and the movement and access through the space was clear and reassuring. Not sure if it is possible to line up the tables more closely with the focus of the angled heaters to optimize comfort. Thanks for the blanket purchase option. Food was great though myst be eaten quickly as the weather has been brisk!

Cluny
Responded on October 27, 2020

Nicola, it's wonderful to know you enjoyed our patio! Thank you for taking the time to reach out. We hope you will join us for another good time soon! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
M
Mila
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Always enjoyable to visit Cluny. My friends came for the first time and were delighted! Thank you for your great help and service! We will definitely be back outdoor or indoor regardless! Please stay safe and healthy and see you soon!!!

Cluny
Responded on October 27, 2020

Mila, we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us many times! Thanks for appreciating our cuisine and service. We look forward to welcoming back you and your friends sometime soon. Best, Stuart K.

Report
MZ
MichelleZ
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall1Food2Service2Ambience1

Last time when I was at Cluny, it was for a colleague's baby shower. I had such a great experience back then I decided to take my buddy for her bday brunch this past Sunday. Of course it was a patio seating arrangement due to the COVID. It was close to 0 degree outside and the patio is on a alley basically so made the seating area extremely windy. Our table was not even under the heating lamps above us (they do not have standing heating lamps). My buddy and I were trembling the whole time barely could speak clearly. I ordered a beef short ribs hash which costs 26 bucks and a latte. My buddy ordered farm house and Americano. Her dish was OK mine was barely warm even when it got brought up. While we were waiting for our coffees to come, I was asking the waiter whether we can move to a table closer to the restaurant so that we did not feel we were sitting right in the middle of the wind and was declined, despite the fact there were several empty tables when we got there and left there. I barely could eat my dish as it was cold in a second. My latte turned cold in a minute. Cannot really sit there as it was so cold we decided to leave after being there for maybe over 30 mins. With tips, I paid close to 80 bucks. Had I known the patio would be unbearably cold, I would not have taken my buddy there for her bday. Needed more attentive and better services for sure.

Cluny
Responded on October 28, 2020

Michelle, we truly appreciate your support throughout this time, but are sorry that your experience fell short. You are right, outdoor dining can be chilly at this time of the year, so we recommend guests layer up and even bring blankets to keep them cozy throughout their meal. Reservations for larger party sizes prevented us from moving your table, so we do apologize if this was not communicated to you clearly. That said, we hope you'll join us again in the future. Best, Stuart K.

Report
A
vipAmz418
New York Area
59 reviews
Dined on October 25, 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience5

Likely our last brunch for the year - and we loved Cluny. Chose the classics, and they did not disappoint, in fact the cook was exquisite. If the heaters can be cranked up, the outdoor experience would be more enjoyable.

Cluny
Responded on October 27, 2020

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your most recent brunch experience! We hope to welcome you back again soon for some more classics. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
MF
MarieF
2 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Very good time spent on the patio of Cluny. The service is fast and very pleasant and the food is good served in a nice setting. I will come back !

Cluny
Responded on October 27, 2020

Marie, our guests deserve only the absolute best! Thank you for showing your support. We'd love to have you join us again soon. Stuart K.

Report
GM
GlennM
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Restaurant food service ambience always good. Small attached bakery the staff is always bad. Bakery nice staff bad. Takes away from overall experience.

Cluny
Responded on October 27, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback Glenn. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us many times, but are surprised to see that the same is not said of our adjacent Boulangerie. Please know that a manager would have been happy to speak with you had you any concerns about our staff. Regardless, we appreciate you reaching out and hope to see you again soon to show you another memorable meal. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent service and amazing food. Highly recommend.

Cluny
Responded on October 27, 2020

We are so glad to have given you a wonderful experience. We hope that you'll join us again soon! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
LM
vipLifestylesbyMG
Toronto
14 reviews
Dined on October 22, 2020
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience2

Certainly an off day for Cluny, really not sure what happened. A very frustrating and slow dining experience. It may have been a staffing issue but we certainly left feeling incredibly disappointed.
We ordered sparkling water, the server brought the bottle but forgot to bring glasses which we had to remind him about two times. Then our server forgot to ring in our appetizer (the manager was nice enough to take care of this for us). We ordered a cocktail without ice and it came with ice (almost a cup of ice). The beef tenderloin was ordered on the rare side of medium rare and it came out done medium well to well done. It was just one disappointment after another.
On a positive note, the outside patio area offers a beautiful dining atmosphere.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Great outdoor patio! Heaters were a welcome treat. Food was delicious and filling. Best French Inion Soup.

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for some more French onion soup sometime soon. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
F
Frankie
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience5

The outdoor patio is great! Lots of heaters and tables are socially distanced. French onion soup is a MUST!

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

Frankie, We're happy we made sure you had a memorable time. Your must-try recommendation of our French onion soup is a favourite of ours as well. We would love to welcome you back again soon to discover more delicious flavours! Best, Stuart K.

Report

FAQs

Cluny is rated 4.4 stars by 3484 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Cluny