El Catrin

4.6
4266 reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
Mexican
Our heated patio seating is offered on a first come first served basis only. In the event of rain, the patio will be closed. All reservations are for our indoor space only. All people entering must wear a mask that covers the nose, mouth, & chin. For more information on our health and safety practices please visit https://distilleryhospitality.com/health-and-safety

Located in the Distillery District, El Catrin pairs an ambitious, wide-ranging, tapas-style menu with Canada's largest mezcal and tequila collection. El Catrin has built its reputation as one of the most celebrated restaurants in Toronto by offering transportive dining experiences, serving traditional and modern Mexican cuisine in a lively and award-winning atmosphere. The decor features a breathtaking mural by Oscar Flores that took over 100 days to complete, and the year-round patio has been named the best in the city.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 4266 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
Food
4.4
Service
4.6
Ambience
4.1
Value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
ES
ElisabethS
Toronto
1 review
Dined 10 hours ago
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience5

Good food. Well presented. Good service

G
Gino
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great location, great food, great ambiance. Go there often with friends and this last visit was for a birthday dinner. Great service perfect place for dinner and special events.

VH
VeronicaH
Toronto
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great place. Great food. We will definitely be back. The patio look beautiful at night.

El Catrin
Responded 19 hours ago

Thanks for your review, Veronica! We're beyond thrilled you had the opportunity to dine with us. It's wonderful you experienced the 5-star experience we're known for and you most definitely deserve. We look forward to your return and another lovely meal on our patio. Best, Stuart K.

Report
MM
MatthewM
Toronto
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

The atmosphere is great - we faced an intricate theme wall with multiple calaveras illuminated with black lights. The cocktails were tasty, especially the Pepino Diablo, and the food was yummy. I appreciate the gluten information on the menu, and the menu allows filtering for gluten-free options (although filtering out the cocktails was a step too far, since they don't contain gluten).

El Catrin
Responded 19 hours ago

Everything from our atmosphere to our tasty dishes will leave you amazed, Matthew! We're glad to hear that our menu was easy to navigate and it made your experience that much better. We're also delighted that our decor is like the cherry on top to your experience and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
DH
vipDeniseH
Toronto
24 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience2

Disappointing. Service at the front was unfriendly. Menu had fewer options.

El Catrin
Responded 19 hours ago

Denise, we take great pride in delivering outstanding, friendly customer service, so we're quite surprised to hear your experience was anything less than outstanding. If you had any concerns about our staff, a manager would have been more than happy to speak with you. Hope you consider giving us another chance to demonstrate the amazing service we're known for and you deserve. Best, Stuart K.

Report
J
Javamamma
Toronto
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Our server was excellent - we found the baja fish tacos outstanding. The chicken and pork were on the dry side, but still very tasty. Drinks were also very tasty.

El Catrin
Responded 19 hours ago

Javamamma, it means a lot to have your high praise for both our cuisine and awesome service. The Baja Tacos are an absolute crowd favourite and we're so glad you loved them too! We can't wait to welcome you again for more delicious drinks and cuisine. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
LF
LFar
Toronto
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Wonderful night out with delicious food and great service.

El Catrin
Responded 19 hours ago

Thank you for this exceptional review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our cuisine and service so much, and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another wonderful night out! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
k
karenp
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Great food and ambiance. Pricey though. Servers tend to come a lot though. Maybe they should stop asking and taking dishes out too much. Thanks.

El Catrin
Responded 19 hours ago

Thank you for your feedback, Karen! We are thrilled you chose us to enjoy a beautiful night out shared by amazing food and drinks. We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for another tasty meal. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OA
OrnaA
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience5

We loved the look and feel of the outdoor patio. Staff were very attentive and intuitive. Service was fast and food was tasty. The only downside for me was feeling rushed after an hour and a half to finish, pay and leave. I understood the 2 hours mark but think that 10-15 minutes before time was up enough of a reminder.
Despite this, we would consider returning and hope that this rushed feeling would be minimized.

El Catrin
Responded 19 hours ago

Orna, we're glad you loved our atmosphere and had excellent, attentive service! It was a pleasure welcoming you in. In regard to feeling rushed at the end of your meal, we hear your feedback and it has been passed along accordingly. We look forward to your return and another lovely meal. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
MB
ManpreetB
1 review
Dined on July 20, 2021
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience1

We had the worst experience last night with the waitress who was assigned to us. She ignored us the whole time. She was constantly checking on all the other tables except ours. She smiled and was nice with others but was super grumpy with us. People who came 20 mins after us had drinks and apps and we were still struggling to get her attention to get waters. We had to ask other servers for drinks and food. We were there for 2 hours and barely got any service from her. Drink took her full hour. And food another hour. She never refilled waters or offered refills for our drinks. We will never return, this has to be the worst service we ever received. She made us feel very uncomfortable and made me feel like she wasn't giving proper service because we are brown.

El Catrin
Responded 5 days ago

Manpreet, I am deeply troubled that you were left with this impression as we want everyone who walks through our doors to feel welcome. I assure you that we value the interactions we have with all of our guests. The interaction you described does not reflect our values, culture, or practices and is certainly not acceptable. We would appreciate the opportunity to connect. You can reach us by calling Zara, the GM, at 416.203.2121. Please leave a message if she is not available. Best, Casey Tanaka

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 20, 2021
Overall5Food2Service3Ambience5

Never again!!

El Catrin
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for giving us a try and for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. It is disappointing to hear that your experience fell short of the standard you expect and deserve. We hope you will give us another chance to make your next visit more memorable. All the very best, Stuart K.

Report
K
Kristi
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Wonderful as always, great food and atmosphere, excellent service.

El Catrin
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review, Kristi! We're beyond thrilled you had the opportunity to dine with us and experience the 5-star service we are known for and you deserve. We can't wait to welcome you back again to discover more favourites. Best, Stuart K.

Report
D
Dory171
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 19, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food is really good, quite a bit of variety considering its covid. very nice atmosphere and service is great

El Catrin
Responded 7 days ago

Dory, it means a lot to have your high praise for both our cuisine and awesome service! Thank you for leaving your review. We can't wait to welcome you in again soon for another exceptional experience. Best, Stuart K.

Report
JE
JENNIFER
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

fresh food, great service.

will definately go back

El Catrin
Responded on July 20, 2021

Jennifer, we’re so happy to hear you are a fan of our flavours! Thank you for taking the time to show us your support. We'd love to welcome you to El Catrin again for another exceptional experience. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
MR
MaricruzR
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We celebrated my sister's birthday. The booking was smooth. There was not a lot of people. Service was great, and plenty space for a stroller.

El Catrin
Responded on July 20, 2021

Maricruz, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at El Catrin. We're honoured to have hosted you for such a special celebration with your family. It's great you were provided with exceptional service, and we'd love to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
IG
IanG
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5Food5Service3Ambience5

Great food and atmosphere. The service was very nice and the atmosphere was great. Clear health guidance from staff, mask-wearing, and signage is appreciated and the place is very clean.

El Catrin
Responded on July 19, 2021

From drinks to desserts, Ian, our flavourful menu won't disappoint! We're happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your visit including the service, cuisine and atmosphere. We look forward to your next meal with us. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 21, 2020
Overall4Food5Service1Ambience5

Food was very good but seats and table was so dirty..

El Catrin
Responded on November 30, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and appreciate your feedback regarding the overall service. We fully understand that there is no excuse for service that misses the mark, so please know that your feedback has been heard. We do hope that you will give us the chance to show you a more memorable visit. All the very best, Stuart K.

Report
ML
MelL
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

I’d say they have the best margarita in TO. Also the guacamole is really good!

El Catrin
Responded on November 27, 2020

Mel, it's wonderful to have your support! You can count on us to always deliver on delicious cuisine and drinks! We are honoured to have the best margarita in Toronto! Come back anytime for more margaritas and guacamole. Best, Stuart K.

Report
n
vipnoots
Toronto
13 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall4Food2Service3Ambience5

I bring my friends to this place because the decor is so beautiful. The one drawback is the food. It’s too saucy / greasy for my liking and I love Mexican food. For someone who is new to Mexican or enjoys pub food this review wouldn’t be helpful. Will come back for the churros and the guacamole/chips which are pretty much the best two items on the menu.

El Catrin
Responded on November 27, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than outstanding. Please know that we would have been happy to replace anything that was not to your liking had you brought it to our attention. We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful setting and our crowd favourites, the guacamole and churros. We hope your next experience is more memorable. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
CC
CarmenC
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience5

Unfortunately, I would not recommend El Catrin. While the service was excellent and the ambience perfect, the food was bland and not what I’d consider traditional Mexican. It was disappointing because I’d read so many positive things about it.

El Catrin
Responded on April 5, 2021

Carmen, while we're delighted you enjoyed our service and ambience, it's disappointing to hear that you weren't just as wow-ed by our cuisine. We pride ourselves in offering authentic, modern Mexican cuisine. We always want our guests to leave feeling wowed by our meals, and wish we could've given you this impression. Please know we would have been happy to replace anything that was less than satisfactory. It would be our pleasure to host you again. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
TG
TaniaG
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Once outdoor dining opens up again in the city, I’d recommend El Catrin’s large outdoor space. Comfortable seating, we were kept warm with heaters, there was lots of space and health precautions were well in place.

El Catrin
Responded on November 27, 2020

Tania, thank you for taking the time to leave an incredible review! We are delighted we provided you with exceptional service and allowed you to feel comfortable on our outdoor heated patio. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
A
Asma
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 19, 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Great experience overall. Food was really good. Had the fish tacos which were amazing! Loved the music and heated patio as well

AW
AnthonyW
1 review
Dined on November 19, 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Great to be able to sit in the open air during covid. Good menu, good service and good experience, thanks.

BD
BebsabeD
1 review
Dined on November 17, 2020
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

I love this place, I'll just suggest they have more heaters because it can get really cold. I'm writing this in November 2020. This year we really can use some patios with a good heat.

h
viphrt8
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

Even with heaters, feet and hands were frozen.

SC
ShafinaC
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Perfect spot for an outdoor date night. Food was delicious!

MP
MarineP
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience4

Disappointed about the service and the food. Overrated.

DB
DeliaB
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food is amazing and they have a great patio! Definitely would go back

KH
KimH
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2020
Overall1Food5Service1Ambience5

We ordered drinks and tacos only. My bf was served his tacos first we waited 20 plus mins and had to ask another server for the other tacos as we were splitting them. I watched numerous orders of fish tacos come out after .... Our waiter didn't even apologize on the mess up/ wait

El Catrin
Responded on November 24, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. There is no excuse for service that misses the mark, so please know that we genuinely apologize that your experience fell short. That said, we encourage guests to bring forward any concerns they have during their visit so we have the opportunity to make things right. A manager would have been happy to speak with you, had you mentioned anything. We hope to welcome you again to show you a better experience in the future. Best, Stuart K.

Report
MS
MelissaS
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing food (especially the guacamole!), great atmosphere and felt very safe and spaced out in terms of Covid. The heat lamps worked really well to keep it nice and warm on the patio despite the cold weather

k
katm
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 12, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had fabulous food, margaritas, and an awesome, gregarious server.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 11, 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Had a bday dinner here and it was just the nicest :)

EL
ElissaL
1 review
Dined on November 11, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great food and drinks, as always. Good service and atmosphere. Even with the heaters our table was a bit cold, though, and it was 11 degrees so during the winter they may need more heaters.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on November 11, 2020
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience2

I was refused access to the washroom as I am unable to wear face masks and I have a medical condition certification from my doctor. I will never go back there and I won’t recommend it for people with disabilities since they are very disrespectful towards it.

GC
GgCc
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Food was great! Service was great, friendly and helpful.
Coffees at the end we were 50/50 divided. Some were happy some wasnt. We weren’t there for the coffee so it doesn’t matter

GT
GulayT
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience5

The ambiance is amazing! ne of the best patios that I have ever been.

A
Amandad
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience3

There should be 2 lines, we had to wait for over 15 min in line with many people who did not have reservations, restaurant should have fast tracked those that had reservations instead of making us wait with everyone.

KW
KristineW
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall4Food5Service3Ambience4

The tasting menu was great value for the money. Our server had to many large tables and it took a long time to get our drinks. Food was excellent.

SM
vipSharonM
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

We felt very safe dining here and that’s what it’s all about these days. We were seated underneath a warming light as though we were McDonalds French fries and enjoyed excellent service and generously filled tacos, margaritas and tequila shots. Quite frankly, the space between tables is a welcome change from Before Times when the table next door could bear witness. It was lovely to be able to chat about everything without a nearby table having to hear the sordid details of our pandemic sex lives!

El Catrin
Responded on November 24, 2020

Thank you so much for leaving a fantastic review, Sharon. We are so glad we met all of your expectations and provided a safe dining experience for you and your guests. Our guests are our top priority. We look forward to welcoming you back for more tacos, drinks and good conversation! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 5, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The service and the food were amazing! I will go back!

FAQs

El Catrin is rated 4.6 stars by 4266 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by El Catrin