ERA Bistro

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
172 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Bistro

Top tags:

Casual
Contemporary and fresh with an emphasis on local, Fairtrade & sustainable ingredients. Located within the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. Admission to the museum is not required to dine.

Special Offers

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Join us on December 31st for a specially curated four-course dinner. Vegan & gluten-free options available.

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

What 172 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.3
Service
4.4
Ambience
4.2
Value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
Manitoba
3 reviews
Dined on November 2, 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Family brunch

TR
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on November 2, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

Good food, and good service. Only complaint is lack of water refill. Would go again.

LA
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on November 1, 2019
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience5

Carrot fries are amazing! We also had pulled pork tacos which were mediocre, and shrimp caesar salad which was also just ok. I would go try other things on the menu.

e
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Great food will be back! Had the chickpea and bean sloppy joe.

GA
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

We had visitors from out of town who were going to see the CMHR so we met for lunch at ERA before their visit. Everyone had something different from the mushroom linguini to the quinoa salad with chicken breast and the food and service were great. The one misstep was that a guest ordered the daily soup and specifically asked for it to be very very hot. When it came, it had no steam rising from it and it was lukewarm. Our very accommodating and competent server immediately whisked it away and quickly returned with a steaming hot bowl of delicious soup.
We also shared the chocolate mousse cake in a jar with some excellent vanilla icecream. The patio looked beautiful with the Esplanade Bridge in the background but it was too chilly to eat outside. Something to look forward to next summer. We will definitely be back!

SK
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Super friendly people, and a lovely environment in which to enjoy a delicious and relaxing lunch.

OT
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience4

I did see the chef take fruit directly out of the grocery store clam shell without washing it and then adding placing the fruit on our brunch plates. Not impressed.

ERA Bistro
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I completely understand that what you saw would have been unsettling. I'm happy to tell you that when we receive our orders of fresh berries, we rinse them in the containers they come in (which are perforated for this purpose) before they are stocked on the line to be used. So, while it appeared as though they were not washed before being put on your plate, I can assure you that they were. I hope this helps, and that you won't hesitate to dine with us again!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience3

This is my second visit to Era Bistro. And I found the food to be disappointing, I orederd the monte cristo. The sandwich was good, however my hash browns were over done and dry and my bacon the same.
The service was good, she was polite and helpful.
I would probably not go back... I'm torn because my first time was so enjoyable.

ERA Bistro
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your hashbrowns and bacon were over-done; this is certainly not the standard we strive for at the Bistro, and I apologize that this error was not caught before the meal was delivered to you. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and that you enjoyed your sandwich; I hope this will encourage you to give us another chance, so that we can try to make up for the unfortunate parts of your most recent visit. Thank you again!

Report
j
Manitoba
13 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall3Food5Service2Ambience4

Food was great as always. Service was very disjointed. The server who took our drink order was terribly confused and came back to the table to clarify what we had wanted (1 water, 1 soft drink). We then waited way too long to have our order taken. Again, she had to come back to the table to ask questions about what we had just ordered (if you can't remember things write them down!). Food was brought out quickly, but then we never saw the server again. No one came to see if the food was ok (luckily it was), and eventually we had to wave someone down to get our bill. I think it may have been an issue with one waitress going home and another one coming on shift.........but if that's the case they need a better system.

m
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

We first encountered heavy security at the entrance of the Human Rights Museum and there was a bit of a dark maze to get to the Resturant. In keeping with the austerity of the site, it is dark and windowless. Most of the tables are very long but because of the quiet of the long weekend, we were able to obtain one of the few private tables. There was a wait before our server arrived to get drink orders and and give us water. There was a really long wait for the meals to arrive after they were ordered. I loved the pork souvlaki with arugula salad and tzatziki sauce. It was delicious. My son was disappointed with his choice from the Brunch menu, the Good Morning burger. The patty had a texture of sausage meat. Because the menu stated a beef patty, he was expecting the meat to be regular hamburger. There should be a more accurate description to avoid disappointment. I would like to see steamed fresh vegetables included on this menu for a healthy option. Salad type vegetables were the only choices available, except for unhealthy fat laden carrot fries

h
Vancouver
4 reviews
Dined on August 28, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food, ambience, entertainment (San Carlos) all exceeded our expectations. It was our first visit and we loved our entire experience. We will be back soon!

BD
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great dinner - amazing location and delicious food! Highly recommended!

h
Manitoba
14 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

We had been pre warned that it would be very busy and service not up to par. That was true. It seemed the outdoor clientele received better service than those inside. As a result if delays in service, one of the desserts two of our table ordered were no longer available. There were also
Menu items not available. My recommendation is given the increasing popularity of Wednesday evening dining, increase the serving staff and be sure to have sufficient menu items to fulfill what is on the menu. I have been here twice and both times, items were not available. For a fine dining restaurant this is unacceptable.

DJ
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

It was a very enjoyable experience.

FF
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Went for dinner and for the live music. Food was surprisingly delicious and sitting on the patio with live performers was simply perfect. Music was a bit loud, so don’t expect just background music.

h
Manitoba
15 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

it was a generally quiet afternoon. I had taken a young woman for her birthday to the Museum for a tour and lunch after. She really enjoyed their burger and the chocolate mouse dessert. I had the steel-head trout. I found the salad stringy and hard to manage in a restaurant setting but overall everything we had was good. The staff were thoughtful and not intrusive.

KB
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2019
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience4

Carrot fries are my only complaint - deep fried carrots - no place for these on such a healthy menu

LH
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Nice place for an outside venue to listen to good music by the Doug Edmond band , beers were good ( lake of the Woods blond) chicken club average along with the hamburger considered the menus is small and not really my cup of tea , if you come for the ambience and beer or wine it’s great

N
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience4

I Made a reservation for 12:15, thought it would be best to reserve a table since the restaurant is located in the HRM, and figured it would be very busy.
When we arrived at the restaurant, the inside had only had 3 guests,. I had reservations for the patio, there too, there were only 3 guests, it was very quiet.
We were seated promptly and requested a table with an umbrella. The hostess was very nice and cleared the table right away and seated us.
This is where the restaurant fails at service. We sat there for about 20 minutes, debating whether or not we should get up and leave. When our server arrived, I asked if she had forgotten about us, she replied that she was trying to balance the inside patrons with the patio patrons of the restaurant. There was only 3 tables inside, plus another server on duty! When our meals arrived, it was another 20 minutes before we were checked on to see if everything was alright and to top up the coffee. The servers were polite and friendly but lack the operational skills required for the restaurant.

JK
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Beautiful day to sit outside. Professional and pleasant service, good food!

LI
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on June 23, 2019
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience5

Nice ambiance and the food was very tastey. We like the open kitchen concept. The prices are quite reasonable - we were tgere for brunch. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. It was quite busy in the restaurant when we were there with a couple of large parties. Also a bit loud as there were some busy children in there at the time but happy voices so it added to the pleasant atmosphere. I would recommend it and definately return.

D
1 review
Dined on June 18, 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

I enjoyed my time on the patio with a friend. As a vegetarian who cannot tolerate garlic, I found few food choices. I lucked out in that you happened to have tofu, which you apparently don't usually carry. The tofu was okay, not very tasty. I appreciated that I was able to get a source of protein, and not just a salad. I think a place like ERA should offer more for the vegetarian.

My friend had the salmon and found it very tasty.

Our server was excellent (sorry don't remember her name).

L
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2019
Overall2Food2Service5Ambience4

The menu left so much to be desired. The pairing of sausages with pickerel cheeks and grains sounded very unappealing, we didn't order it. The one dish we wanted Salmon Trout, it was listed on the menu and we ordered it. The server came back and said it wasn't available. Why not say that before we order it? What else would we like so we quickly had to chose whereas in hindsight we should have just settled with the Vietnamese spring rolls (which were very good) and our wine and left. But it was our anniversary dinner so we chose (1) Pork Souvlaki with arugula - no Greek would eat arugula with that! (2) Butter chickpeas with added Shrimp. Another mistake because shrimp and butter curry sauce do not work. Chicken, yes. The shrimp were flabby and tasted underdone. All in all a very disappointing dinner. Surely ERA could do much better with just some great tasting local dishes and forget about being trendy. It didn't work for us.

RR
Ottawa
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We always enjoy coming to this wonderful place for lunch. The food is great, ambience is terrific; we simply love being here.

KG
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great place, friendly service.
Noise level is a bit loud for my liking but it won’t stop me from returning.

C
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Loved the food, the atmosphere and the service. The staff made use feel really special especially my mom. We took her to Era's for mothers day. The price wasn't overly expensive for brunch. Totally worth it to give her a special day.

DF
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience5

We thought we were getting brunch since our reservation was for 10am. We were able to order from the lunch menu though. I had the whitefish po’ boy and was a bit disappointed. The fish was over fried and needed seasoning. I ordered (because the server said they were fantastic) the carrot fries and I was very disappointed. The batter was way too thick and needed seasoning. My guests had a Caesar salad and the vermicelli salad which they said was good. Coffee was good. Server was very friendly and efficient.

AN
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great service and great food. We like to come here for a nice meal even when we're not visiting the museum.

CR
1 review
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience5

The soup and salad required a little more seasoning.

OT
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had brunch and visited the museum

JL
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on March 21, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

Nice atmosphere, good food. Nice to be in a space that is quiet enough for conversation.
Only critique - we had to wait a few minutes before we were greeted at the door.

A
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience4

I loved the open concept and the food presentation was amazing as well as very tasty!

p
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on January 27, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food and service here are stellar . Lots of choice of excellent dishes made with local ingredients. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. We always enjoy stopping here, even if we are not visiting the museum.

BD
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was very tasty and staff were very friendly and accommodating.

SN
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food was awesome. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal The Monte Cristo sandwich was hot and good. Dessert was creme brûlée and it was a sweet delight.

OT
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Love the Bistro Burger but to upgrade the side salad to a small Caesar brought price to $19 so a bit pricey!

ES
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a spectacular dinner on New Years Eve. The choices were exceptional, everything from the first course to the last. The staff were friendly, joyful and shared the workload well. We had a quiet meal as a couple and were not bothered by large groups nearby, as well as a child at one table with his parents. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the room as well.
We look forward to another New Years eve dinner next year.

WT
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience3

First visit. Wonderful experience and will definitely be back.

D
1 review
Dined on November 21, 2018
Overall3Food1Service4Ambience4

It's a shame that they have such a small and unappetizing menu and terrible chef in this beautiful location. We brought an out-of-town guest lecturer here, thinking she should experience some of the CMHR during her visit. I knew that the bistro space is very cool-looking, too, having been there over a year ago. The lights were too bright this time, but the real disappointment was the food. The selection on the menu is limited, heavy, and not inherently consistent, and the execution of the meals was worse. The battered carrot fries were soppy with grease and the "jumbalaya" was vegetable free: potatoes on wheat berries with sausage -- so, carbs on carbs with some meat. Huh? Really disappointing. Why can't the bistro get one of the many great chefs that come from Red River College to shake things up?

BH
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on October 20, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was outstanding. We went for Saturday brunch and had the burger and the croissant melt. I would highly recommend either. We also order a side of pancakes, which were huge and delicious. Great coffee, great service. Will definitely be back.

Tweets by ERA Bistro