Service was great; informed and responsive. The food however was good but a few items were not. The carrot fries were overly breaded and served cold - yuck. We have enjoyed these previously and they were half the size with half the coating. But not this time. Additionally, the menu really fails for vegans. There are several vegetarian options but it is time to rethink the menu and offer some real options for vegans. And finally, offering only soy milk (which MANY vegans already know isn’t a great health option) as the only vegan milk option is short sighted. Almond, cashew and oat are alternative milk options that would be more welcoming to many. Soy milk curdles in hot coffee and is profoundly off putting. That all being said - this bistro really remains a great place to dine - the menu is interesting and the food for the most part is great.
Great tasting food. Live music was a nice touch. A little loud when we arrived
Good food and service. A bit noisy because of the concrete floors.
Carrot fries for the win!
Would like them to sell the jam. Otherwise really enjoyable.
Our group of friends had a marvelous time celebrating our friendship around this Christmas Season and everything was superb!!! The perfect setting and wouldn't change a thing!!!! Thank u!!!!🎄💖🎅👍
Merry Christmas back at you all!!!
Linda, Marilynn, Shirley, Marj & Rita
We had great service & food. The live music was right beside us so it was loud & the dining room is very open. Overall we loved it & will be back.
Our server was wonderful and very hard working, it seemed like she had a lot of tables and handled it very well. The food was delicious and fairly priced. We enjoyed our dinner after a lovely visit to the museum. Would definitely return again. Thank you.
Love this restaurant, food is unique and the service is always top notch.
Great food and service. The atmosphere inside the great Winnipeg Human Rights bldg is a bonus. Highly recommended.
The meals were delicious, the service great. We will be back.
It was a quiet morning and Maggie was our server. The mimosas, lattés, morning burger and creme brulée we're all delicious. I'll definitely be back.
My wife and I had dinner at ERA after spending some time at CMHR for Friday Night Rights. Place was surprisingly lively on our arrival, with a couple of larger groups clearly celebrating some kind of special event. All good; have fun. The only caveat to this is that due to the design of the space, the acoustics made it such that it was quite “LOUD”. Again, nobody’s fault, and I can be a pretty loud guy myself at times.
Server was pleasant and seemed genuine. She did get into a minor tussle with the wine when she brought to the table. Minor detail..that’s a practice thing.
Pike cakes..excellent; potato latkes very good; chicken dish off the specials menu...very good. Service good..just needs a little practice. My wife and I are big eaters so as we were sharing everything including the main, we weren’t entirely sated when we left, but like I said...ravenous appetizes.
Absolutely would recommend, and we will go back.
A great way to spend a Friday evening after taking in "Friday Night Rights " at the museum. There was live music, which was excellent, although we weren't expecting it and did find it a bit loud for conversation. The food and service were great, I will definitely return.
Wonderful service and a locally inspired menu. The venue is beautiful.
I would recommend to friends and family as a must visit.
Good food, and good service. Only complaint is lack of water refill. Would go again.
Carrot fries are amazing! We also had pulled pork tacos which were mediocre, and shrimp caesar salad which was also just ok. I would go try other things on the menu.
Great food will be back! Had the chickpea and bean sloppy joe.
We had visitors from out of town who were going to see the CMHR so we met for lunch at ERA before their visit. Everyone had something different from the mushroom linguini to the quinoa salad with chicken breast and the food and service were great. The one misstep was that a guest ordered the daily soup and specifically asked for it to be very very hot. When it came, it had no steam rising from it and it was lukewarm. Our very accommodating and competent server immediately whisked it away and quickly returned with a steaming hot bowl of delicious soup.
We also shared the chocolate mousse cake in a jar with some excellent vanilla icecream. The patio looked beautiful with the Esplanade Bridge in the background but it was too chilly to eat outside. Something to look forward to next summer. We will definitely be back!
Super friendly people, and a lovely environment in which to enjoy a delicious and relaxing lunch.
I did see the chef take fruit directly out of the grocery store clam shell without washing it and then adding placing the fruit on our brunch plates. Not impressed.
Thank you for your feedback. I completely understand that what you saw would have been unsettling. I'm happy to tell you that when we receive our orders of fresh berries, we rinse them in the containers they come in (which are perforated for this purpose) before they are stocked on the line to be used. So, while it appeared as though they were not washed before being put on your plate, I can assure you that they were. I hope this helps, and that you won't hesitate to dine with us again!
This is my second visit to Era Bistro. And I found the food to be disappointing, I orederd the monte cristo. The sandwich was good, however my hash browns were over done and dry and my bacon the same.
The service was good, she was polite and helpful.
I would probably not go back... I'm torn because my first time was so enjoyable.
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your hashbrowns and bacon were over-done; this is certainly not the standard we strive for at the Bistro, and I apologize that this error was not caught before the meal was delivered to you. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and that you enjoyed your sandwich; I hope this will encourage you to give us another chance, so that we can try to make up for the unfortunate parts of your most recent visit. Thank you again!
Food was great as always. Service was very disjointed. The server who took our drink order was terribly confused and came back to the table to clarify what we had wanted (1 water, 1 soft drink). We then waited way too long to have our order taken. Again, she had to come back to the table to ask questions about what we had just ordered (if you can't remember things write them down!). Food was brought out quickly, but then we never saw the server again. No one came to see if the food was ok (luckily it was), and eventually we had to wave someone down to get our bill. I think it may have been an issue with one waitress going home and another one coming on shift.........but if that's the case they need a better system.
We first encountered heavy security at the entrance of the Human Rights Museum and there was a bit of a dark maze to get to the Resturant. In keeping with the austerity of the site, it is dark and windowless. Most of the tables are very long but because of the quiet of the long weekend, we were able to obtain one of the few private tables. There was a wait before our server arrived to get drink orders and and give us water. There was a really long wait for the meals to arrive after they were ordered. I loved the pork souvlaki with arugula salad and tzatziki sauce. It was delicious. My son was disappointed with his choice from the Brunch menu, the Good Morning burger. The patty had a texture of sausage meat. Because the menu stated a beef patty, he was expecting the meat to be regular hamburger. There should be a more accurate description to avoid disappointment. I would like to see steamed fresh vegetables included on this menu for a healthy option. Salad type vegetables were the only choices available, except for unhealthy fat laden carrot fries
The food, ambience, entertainment (San Carlos) all exceeded our expectations. It was our first visit and we loved our entire experience. We will be back soon!
Great dinner - amazing location and delicious food! Highly recommended!
We had been pre warned that it would be very busy and service not up to par. That was true. It seemed the outdoor clientele received better service than those inside. As a result if delays in service, one of the desserts two of our table ordered were no longer available. There were also
Menu items not available. My recommendation is given the increasing popularity of Wednesday evening dining, increase the serving staff and be sure to have sufficient menu items to fulfill what is on the menu. I have been here twice and both times, items were not available. For a fine dining restaurant this is unacceptable.
It was a very enjoyable experience.
Went for dinner and for the live music. Food was surprisingly delicious and sitting on the patio with live performers was simply perfect. Music was a bit loud, so don’t expect just background music.
it was a generally quiet afternoon. I had taken a young woman for her birthday to the Museum for a tour and lunch after. She really enjoyed their burger and the chocolate mouse dessert. I had the steel-head trout. I found the salad stringy and hard to manage in a restaurant setting but overall everything we had was good. The staff were thoughtful and not intrusive.
Carrot fries are my only complaint - deep fried carrots - no place for these on such a healthy menu
Nice place for an outside venue to listen to good music by the Doug Edmond band , beers were good ( lake of the Woods blond) chicken club average along with the hamburger considered the menus is small and not really my cup of tea , if you come for the ambience and beer or wine it’s great
I Made a reservation for 12:15, thought it would be best to reserve a table since the restaurant is located in the HRM, and figured it would be very busy.
When we arrived at the restaurant, the inside had only had 3 guests,. I had reservations for the patio, there too, there were only 3 guests, it was very quiet.
We were seated promptly and requested a table with an umbrella. The hostess was very nice and cleared the table right away and seated us.
This is where the restaurant fails at service. We sat there for about 20 minutes, debating whether or not we should get up and leave. When our server arrived, I asked if she had forgotten about us, she replied that she was trying to balance the inside patrons with the patio patrons of the restaurant. There was only 3 tables inside, plus another server on duty! When our meals arrived, it was another 20 minutes before we were checked on to see if everything was alright and to top up the coffee. The servers were polite and friendly but lack the operational skills required for the restaurant.
Beautiful day to sit outside. Professional and pleasant service, good food!
Nice ambiance and the food was very tastey. We like the open kitchen concept. The prices are quite reasonable - we were tgere for brunch. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. It was quite busy in the restaurant when we were there with a couple of large parties. Also a bit loud as there were some busy children in there at the time but happy voices so it added to the pleasant atmosphere. I would recommend it and definately return.
I enjoyed my time on the patio with a friend. As a vegetarian who cannot tolerate garlic, I found few food choices. I lucked out in that you happened to have tofu, which you apparently don't usually carry. The tofu was okay, not very tasty. I appreciated that I was able to get a source of protein, and not just a salad. I think a place like ERA should offer more for the vegetarian.
My friend had the salmon and found it very tasty.
Our server was excellent (sorry don't remember her name).
The menu left so much to be desired. The pairing of sausages with pickerel cheeks and grains sounded very unappealing, we didn't order it. The one dish we wanted Salmon Trout, it was listed on the menu and we ordered it. The server came back and said it wasn't available. Why not say that before we order it? What else would we like so we quickly had to chose whereas in hindsight we should have just settled with the Vietnamese spring rolls (which were very good) and our wine and left. But it was our anniversary dinner so we chose (1) Pork Souvlaki with arugula - no Greek would eat arugula with that! (2) Butter chickpeas with added Shrimp. Another mistake because shrimp and butter curry sauce do not work. Chicken, yes. The shrimp were flabby and tasted underdone. All in all a very disappointing dinner. Surely ERA could do much better with just some great tasting local dishes and forget about being trendy. It didn't work for us.
We always enjoy coming to this wonderful place for lunch. The food is great, ambience is terrific; we simply love being here.
Great place, friendly service.
Noise level is a bit loud for my liking but it won’t stop me from returning.