Restaurants you may also like
beer-battered carrot sticks with a fresh herb & jalapeño buttermilk dip
grilled house-made beef patty with bacon, cheddar, lettuce, tomato, onion, house pickles & Russian dressing on a toasted Brioche bun
romaine lettuce, Asiago & croutons in house-made Caesar dressing with maple-candied bacon & lemon
Our first visit and we were impressed. SanCarlos was excellent
Hello LoraM, Thank you for your review, and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first visit. Please check out our website in the next month or two to find out when San Carlos will be back! We look forward to serving you again. Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager
A modern-vibe atmosphere with excellent food, at a good price. Jennifer, our server, was efficient, patient and lovely. Especially enjoyed the Friday night music. Will be back!
Hello LoriM, Thank you so much for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening, and I will certainly pass your kind words on to Jennifer. You can take a look at our website for details on our upcoming music nights! Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager
Valentines Day 4 course dinner. Live jazz piano and guitar. Rose petals on the table. I chose Era as there was a vegan option for each course. Lovely wines by the glass. Great service, friendly and attentive.
Hello AllieF, Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Valentine's Day dinner! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your evening, and we hope to get the chance to serve you again soon. Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager
Great meal, service, music.
Due to poor acoustics music is way to loud.
Music should be second thought rather than having speaking louder to overcome music.
Hello Kenb, Thank you for your review of our Valentine's Day dinner! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening. I certainly understand your feelings regarding live music volume; we will definitely take your feedback into consideration on our next live music nights. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager
The atmosphere was terrific because we were able to actually enjoy a pleasant conversation without having to shout at each other like the noise at most chain restaurants. Our tables were well spaced apart and you didn’t have to walk sideways to your table. You could see the passion of the chefs because they are visible to the restaurant patrons. The food was very fresh and tasty from beginning to the the end.
The only thing I didn’t like was paying for evening parking after dropping over $200 for a restaurant dinner and it would be nice to get a discount voucher for the Human Rights Museum after spending a minimum amount over $100.
Hello VictorM, Thank you so much for your kind review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner, and agree that seeing the chefs in action can be quite special! I completely understand your sentiment regarding the paid parking. I will pass your feedback on and we will evaluate whether a parking voucher is something that can be implemented in the future. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again soon! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager
Our lunch here was a mostly pleasant experience. The restaurant is very open (even the kitchen!) but we did not find it overly noisy. We enjoyed a table by the window but would have been totally fine at a communal table as well, what an interesting concept! The food was excellent and nicely presented. I'm not sure whether the influx of people from our seminar was overwhelming but getting our order in took some time and we did not receive our food until 1:25. (our reservation was for 12:15) At least our water glasses were refilled regularly while we waited! We were supposed to be back from lunch at 1:30 so we decided to miss the next presentation and stay to enjoy our food. Some places are just slower, but it would be nice to know in advance so you can be prepared for it. :-)
Hello, Thank you so much for your review, and I sincerely apologize for the long wait you endured. You are correct in that we had a very large number of guests seated at once from the conference, which slowed things down for the kitchen. I do appreciate your having made a reservation, and can assure you that if you were to visit on a regular day, you would not need to expect nearly that much of a wait. Thank you again for your honest feedback, and we so look forward to serving you again soon!
Service was great; informed and responsive. The food however was good but a few items were not. The carrot fries were overly breaded and served cold - yuck. We have enjoyed these previously and they were half the size with half the coating. But not this time. Additionally, the menu really fails for vegans. There are several vegetarian options but it is time to rethink the menu and offer some real options for vegans. And finally, offering only soy milk (which MANY vegans already know isn’t a great health option) as the only vegan milk option is short sighted. Almond, cashew and oat are alternative milk options that would be more welcoming to many. Soy milk curdles in hot coffee and is profoundly off putting. That all being said - this bistro really remains a great place to dine - the menu is interesting and the food for the most part is great.
Hello, Thank you for your honest feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your service and some of the food. I do apologize about the disappointing carrot fries and will pass your experience on to the chef. With regard to vegan meals, while we do have some delicious vegan options on the menu, there is always room for improvement and expansion of that category. I also appreciate your note regarding the soy milk, and will absolutely look into other dairy alternatives. Thank you again!
Great tasting food. Live music was a nice touch. A little loud when we arrived
Hello markl, Thank you for your review, and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the live music. We will definitely take your note regarding the volume into account when preparing for our upcoming music nights. Thank you so much again, and we hope to serve you again soon!
Good food and service. A bit noisy because of the concrete floors.
Hello ttbz, Thank you for your review, and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your food they are a challenge that we have been trying to overcome, and there is always room for improvement with regard to the ambiance of our space. Thank you again, and we hope to serve you again soon! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager
Carrot fries for the win!
Would like them to sell the jam. Otherwise really enjoyable.
Our group of friends had a marvelous time celebrating our friendship around this Christmas Season and everything was superb!!! The perfect setting and wouldn't change a thing!!!! Thank u!!!!🎄💖🎅👍
Merry Christmas back at you all!!!
Linda, Marilynn, Shirley, Marj & Rita
We had great service & food. The live music was right beside us so it was loud & the dining room is very open. Overall we loved it & will be back.
Our server was wonderful and very hard working, it seemed like she had a lot of tables and handled it very well. The food was delicious and fairly priced. We enjoyed our dinner after a lovely visit to the museum. Would definitely return again. Thank you.
Love this restaurant, food is unique and the service is always top notch.
Great food and service. The atmosphere inside the great Winnipeg Human Rights bldg is a bonus. Highly recommended.
The meals were delicious, the service great. We will be back.
It was a quiet morning and Maggie was our server. The mimosas, lattés, morning burger and creme brulée we're all delicious. I'll definitely be back.
My wife and I had dinner at ERA after spending some time at CMHR for Friday Night Rights. Place was surprisingly lively on our arrival, with a couple of larger groups clearly celebrating some kind of special event. All good; have fun. The only caveat to this is that due to the design of the space, the acoustics made it such that it was quite “LOUD”. Again, nobody’s fault, and I can be a pretty loud guy myself at times.
Server was pleasant and seemed genuine. She did get into a minor tussle with the wine when she brought to the table. Minor detail..that’s a practice thing.
Pike cakes..excellent; potato latkes very good; chicken dish off the specials menu...very good. Service good..just needs a little practice. My wife and I are big eaters so as we were sharing everything including the main, we weren’t entirely sated when we left, but like I said...ravenous appetizes.
Absolutely would recommend, and we will go back.
A great way to spend a Friday evening after taking in "Friday Night Rights " at the museum. There was live music, which was excellent, although we weren't expecting it and did find it a bit loud for conversation. The food and service were great, I will definitely return.
Wonderful service and a locally inspired menu. The venue is beautiful.
I would recommend to friends and family as a must visit.
Good food, and good service. Only complaint is lack of water refill. Would go again.
Carrot fries are amazing! We also had pulled pork tacos which were mediocre, and shrimp caesar salad which was also just ok. I would go try other things on the menu.
Great food will be back! Had the chickpea and bean sloppy joe.
We had visitors from out of town who were going to see the CMHR so we met for lunch at ERA before their visit. Everyone had something different from the mushroom linguini to the quinoa salad with chicken breast and the food and service were great. The one misstep was that a guest ordered the daily soup and specifically asked for it to be very very hot. When it came, it had no steam rising from it and it was lukewarm. Our very accommodating and competent server immediately whisked it away and quickly returned with a steaming hot bowl of delicious soup.
We also shared the chocolate mousse cake in a jar with some excellent vanilla icecream. The patio looked beautiful with the Esplanade Bridge in the background but it was too chilly to eat outside. Something to look forward to next summer. We will definitely be back!
Super friendly people, and a lovely environment in which to enjoy a delicious and relaxing lunch.
I did see the chef take fruit directly out of the grocery store clam shell without washing it and then adding placing the fruit on our brunch plates. Not impressed.
Thank you for your feedback. I completely understand that what you saw would have been unsettling. I'm happy to tell you that when we receive our orders of fresh berries, we rinse them in the containers they come in (which are perforated for this purpose) before they are stocked on the line to be used. So, while it appeared as though they were not washed before being put on your plate, I can assure you that they were. I hope this helps, and that you won't hesitate to dine with us again!
This is my second visit to Era Bistro. And I found the food to be disappointing, I orederd the monte cristo. The sandwich was good, however my hash browns were over done and dry and my bacon the same.
The service was good, she was polite and helpful.
I would probably not go back... I'm torn because my first time was so enjoyable.
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your hashbrowns and bacon were over-done; this is certainly not the standard we strive for at the Bistro, and I apologize that this error was not caught before the meal was delivered to you. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and that you enjoyed your sandwich; I hope this will encourage you to give us another chance, so that we can try to make up for the unfortunate parts of your most recent visit. Thank you again!
Food was great as always. Service was very disjointed. The server who took our drink order was terribly confused and came back to the table to clarify what we had wanted (1 water, 1 soft drink). We then waited way too long to have our order taken. Again, she had to come back to the table to ask questions about what we had just ordered (if you can't remember things write them down!). Food was brought out quickly, but then we never saw the server again. No one came to see if the food was ok (luckily it was), and eventually we had to wave someone down to get our bill. I think it may have been an issue with one waitress going home and another one coming on shift.........but if that's the case they need a better system.
We first encountered heavy security at the entrance of the Human Rights Museum and there was a bit of a dark maze to get to the Resturant. In keeping with the austerity of the site, it is dark and windowless. Most of the tables are very long but because of the quiet of the long weekend, we were able to obtain one of the few private tables. There was a wait before our server arrived to get drink orders and and give us water. There was a really long wait for the meals to arrive after they were ordered. I loved the pork souvlaki with arugula salad and tzatziki sauce. It was delicious. My son was disappointed with his choice from the Brunch menu, the Good Morning burger. The patty had a texture of sausage meat. Because the menu stated a beef patty, he was expecting the meat to be regular hamburger. There should be a more accurate description to avoid disappointment. I would like to see steamed fresh vegetables included on this menu for a healthy option. Salad type vegetables were the only choices available, except for unhealthy fat laden carrot fries
The food, ambience, entertainment (San Carlos) all exceeded our expectations. It was our first visit and we loved our entire experience. We will be back soon!
Great dinner - amazing location and delicious food! Highly recommended!
We had been pre warned that it would be very busy and service not up to par. That was true. It seemed the outdoor clientele received better service than those inside. As a result if delays in service, one of the desserts two of our table ordered were no longer available. There were also
Menu items not available. My recommendation is given the increasing popularity of Wednesday evening dining, increase the serving staff and be sure to have sufficient menu items to fulfill what is on the menu. I have been here twice and both times, items were not available. For a fine dining restaurant this is unacceptable.
It was a very enjoyable experience.
Went for dinner and for the live music. Food was surprisingly delicious and sitting on the patio with live performers was simply perfect. Music was a bit loud, so don’t expect just background music.
it was a generally quiet afternoon. I had taken a young woman for her birthday to the Museum for a tour and lunch after. She really enjoyed their burger and the chocolate mouse dessert. I had the steel-head trout. I found the salad stringy and hard to manage in a restaurant setting but overall everything we had was good. The staff were thoughtful and not intrusive.
Carrot fries are my only complaint - deep fried carrots - no place for these on such a healthy menu
Nice place for an outside venue to listen to good music by the Doug Edmond band , beers were good ( lake of the Woods blond) chicken club average along with the hamburger considered the menus is small and not really my cup of tea , if you come for the ambience and beer or wine it’s great
I Made a reservation for 12:15, thought it would be best to reserve a table since the restaurant is located in the HRM, and figured it would be very busy.
When we arrived at the restaurant, the inside had only had 3 guests,. I had reservations for the patio, there too, there were only 3 guests, it was very quiet.
We were seated promptly and requested a table with an umbrella. The hostess was very nice and cleared the table right away and seated us.
This is where the restaurant fails at service. We sat there for about 20 minutes, debating whether or not we should get up and leave. When our server arrived, I asked if she had forgotten about us, she replied that she was trying to balance the inside patrons with the patio patrons of the restaurant. There was only 3 tables inside, plus another server on duty! When our meals arrived, it was another 20 minutes before we were checked on to see if everything was alright and to top up the coffee. The servers were polite and friendly but lack the operational skills required for the restaurant.
ERA Bistro is rated 4.3 stars by 192 OpenTable diners.