ERA Bistro

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
193 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Bistro
Contemporary and fresh with an emphasis on local, Fairtrade & sustainable ingredients. Located within the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. Admission to the museum is not required to dine.
What 193 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.4
Service
4.4
Ambience
4.2
Value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
LM
LoraM
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on February 21, 2020
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Our first visit and we were impressed. SanCarlos was excellent

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello LoraM, Thank you for your review, and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first visit. Please check out our website in the next month or two to find out when San Carlos will be back! We look forward to serving you again. Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager

Report
LM
LoriM
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on February 21, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A modern-vibe atmosphere with excellent food, at a good price. Jennifer, our server, was efficient, patient and lovely. Especially enjoyed the Friday night music. Will be back!

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello LoriM, Thank you so much for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening, and I will certainly pass your kind words on to Jennifer. You can take a look at our website for details on our upcoming music nights! Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager

Report
AF
AllieF
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Valentines Day 4 course dinner. Live jazz piano and guitar. Rose petals on the table. I chose Era as there was a vegan option for each course. Lovely wines by the glass. Great service, friendly and attentive.

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello AllieF, Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Valentine's Day dinner! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your evening, and we hope to get the chance to serve you again soon. Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager

Report
K
Kenb
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great meal, service, music.
Due to poor acoustics music is way to loud.
Music should be second thought rather than having speaking louder to overcome music.

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello Kenb, Thank you for your review of our Valentine's Day dinner! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening. I certainly understand your feelings regarding live music volume; we will definitely take your feedback into consideration on our next live music nights. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager

Report
VM
VictorM
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

The atmosphere was terrific because we were able to actually enjoy a pleasant conversation without having to shout at each other like the noise at most chain restaurants. Our tables were well spaced apart and you didn’t have to walk sideways to your table. You could see the passion of the chefs because they are visible to the restaurant patrons. The food was very fresh and tasty from beginning to the the end.

The only thing I didn’t like was paying for evening parking after dropping over $200 for a restaurant dinner and it would be nice to get a discount voucher for the Human Rights Museum after spending a minimum amount over $100.

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello VictorM, Thank you so much for your kind review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner, and agree that seeing the chefs in action can be quite special! I completely understand your sentiment regarding the paid parking. I will pass your feedback on and we will evaluate whether a parking voucher is something that can be implemented in the future. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you again soon! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager

Report
ST
SusanT
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall4Food5Service3Ambience4

Our lunch here was a mostly pleasant experience. The restaurant is very open (even the kitchen!) but we did not find it overly noisy. We enjoyed a table by the window but would have been totally fine at a communal table as well, what an interesting concept! The food was excellent and nicely presented. I'm not sure whether the influx of people from our seminar was overwhelming but getting our order in took some time and we did not receive our food until 1:25. (our reservation was for 12:15) At least our water glasses were refilled regularly while we waited! We were supposed to be back from lunch at 1:30 so we decided to miss the next presentation and stay to enjoy our food. Some places are just slower, but it would be nice to know in advance so you can be prepared for it. :-)

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello, Thank you so much for your review, and I sincerely apologize for the long wait you endured. You are correct in that we had a very large number of guests seated at once from the conference, which slowed things down for the kitchen. I do appreciate your having made a reservation, and can assure you that if you were to visit on a regular day, you would not need to expect nearly that much of a wait. Thank you again for your honest feedback, and we so look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
t
viptheclevercouple
Manitoba
30 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

Service was great; informed and responsive. The food however was good but a few items were not. The carrot fries were overly breaded and served cold - yuck. We have enjoyed these previously and they were half the size with half the coating. But not this time. Additionally, the menu really fails for vegans. There are several vegetarian options but it is time to rethink the menu and offer some real options for vegans. And finally, offering only soy milk (which MANY vegans already know isn’t a great health option) as the only vegan milk option is short sighted. Almond, cashew and oat are alternative milk options that would be more welcoming to many. Soy milk curdles in hot coffee and is profoundly off putting. That all being said - this bistro really remains a great place to dine - the menu is interesting and the food for the most part is great.

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello, Thank you for your honest feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your service and some of the food. I do apologize about the disappointing carrot fries and will pass your experience on to the chef. With regard to vegan meals, while we do have some delicious vegan options on the menu, there is always room for improvement and expansion of that category. I also appreciate your note regarding the soy milk, and will absolutely look into other dairy alternatives. Thank you again!

Report
m
markl
1 review
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Great tasting food. Live music was a nice touch. A little loud when we arrived

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello markl, Thank you for your review, and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the live music. We will definitely take your note regarding the volume into account when preparing for our upcoming music nights. Thank you so much again, and we hope to serve you again soon!

Report
t
ttbz
Manitoba
12 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Good food and service. A bit noisy because of the concrete floors.

ERA Bistro
Responded on February 25, 2020

Hello ttbz, Thank you for your review, and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your food they are a challenge that we have been trying to overcome, and there is always room for improvement with regard to the ambiance of our space. Thank you again, and we hope to serve you again soon! Stephanie McPhail ERA Bistro Manager

Report
j
jamsmith620
Manitoba
17 reviews
Dined on December 27, 2019
Overall5Food5Service3Ambience5

Carrot fries for the win!

a
arlened
1 review
Dined on December 21, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Would like them to sell the jam. Otherwise really enjoyable.

LP
LindaP
1 review
Dined on December 17, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our group of friends had a marvelous time celebrating our friendship around this Christmas Season and everything was superb!!! The perfect setting and wouldn't change a thing!!!! Thank u!!!!🎄💖🎅👍
Merry Christmas back at you all!!!
Linda, Marilynn, Shirley, Marj & Rita

LH
LauraH
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on December 13, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had great service & food. The live music was right beside us so it was loud & the dining room is very open. Overall we loved it & will be back.

S
Sarah
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Our server was wonderful and very hard working, it seemed like she had a lot of tables and handled it very well. The food was delicious and fairly priced. We enjoyed our dinner after a lovely visit to the museum. Would definitely return again. Thank you.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Love this restaurant, food is unique and the service is always top notch.

CS
CherylS
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on December 6, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food and service. The atmosphere inside the great Winnipeg Human Rights bldg is a bonus. Highly recommended.

PG
PolarGas
1 review
Dined on December 4, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The meals were delicious, the service great. We will be back.

FF
FoodandFunFan
Manitoba
7 reviews
Dined on November 30, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

It was a quiet morning and Maggie was our server. The mimosas, lattés, morning burger and creme brulée we're all delicious. I'll definitely be back.

p
pdaddy
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on November 29, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

My wife and I had dinner at ERA after spending some time at CMHR for Friday Night Rights. Place was surprisingly lively on our arrival, with a couple of larger groups clearly celebrating some kind of special event. All good; have fun. The only caveat to this is that due to the design of the space, the acoustics made it such that it was quite “LOUD”. Again, nobody’s fault, and I can be a pretty loud guy myself at times.
Server was pleasant and seemed genuine. She did get into a minor tussle with the wine when she brought to the table. Minor detail..that’s a practice thing.
Pike cakes..excellent; potato latkes very good; chicken dish off the specials menu...very good. Service good..just needs a little practice. My wife and I are big eaters so as we were sharing everything including the main, we weren’t entirely sated when we left, but like I said...ravenous appetizes.
Absolutely would recommend, and we will go back.

SB
SarahB
1 review
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

A great way to spend a Friday evening after taking in "Friday Night Rights " at the museum. There was live music, which was excellent, although we weren't expecting it and did find it a bit loud for conversation. The food and service were great, I will definitely return.

H
Happycustomer
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined on November 15, 2019
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience5

Wonderful service and a locally inspired menu. The venue is beautiful.
I would recommend to friends and family as a must visit.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manitoba
5 reviews
Dined on November 2, 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Family brunch

TR
TRacyD
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on November 2, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

Good food, and good service. Only complaint is lack of water refill. Would go again.

LA
LauraA
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2019
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience5

Carrot fries are amazing! We also had pulled pork tacos which were mediocre, and shrimp caesar salad which was also just ok. I would go try other things on the menu.

e
enjoydinner
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

Great food will be back! Had the chickpea and bean sloppy joe.

GA
GailA
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

We had visitors from out of town who were going to see the CMHR so we met for lunch at ERA before their visit. Everyone had something different from the mushroom linguini to the quinoa salad with chicken breast and the food and service were great. The one misstep was that a guest ordered the daily soup and specifically asked for it to be very very hot. When it came, it had no steam rising from it and it was lukewarm. Our very accommodating and competent server immediately whisked it away and quickly returned with a steaming hot bowl of delicious soup.
We also shared the chocolate mousse cake in a jar with some excellent vanilla icecream. The patio looked beautiful with the Esplanade Bridge in the background but it was too chilly to eat outside. Something to look forward to next summer. We will definitely be back!

SK
SteveK
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Super friendly people, and a lovely environment in which to enjoy a delicious and relaxing lunch.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manitoba
7 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience4

I did see the chef take fruit directly out of the grocery store clam shell without washing it and then adding placing the fruit on our brunch plates. Not impressed.

ERA Bistro
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I completely understand that what you saw would have been unsettling. I'm happy to tell you that when we receive our orders of fresh berries, we rinse them in the containers they come in (which are perforated for this purpose) before they are stocked on the line to be used. So, while it appeared as though they were not washed before being put on your plate, I can assure you that they were. I hope this helps, and that you won't hesitate to dine with us again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience3

This is my second visit to Era Bistro. And I found the food to be disappointing, I orederd the monte cristo. The sandwich was good, however my hash browns were over done and dry and my bacon the same.
The service was good, she was polite and helpful.
I would probably not go back... I'm torn because my first time was so enjoyable.

ERA Bistro
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your hashbrowns and bacon were over-done; this is certainly not the standard we strive for at the Bistro, and I apologize that this error was not caught before the meal was delivered to you. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and that you enjoyed your sandwich; I hope this will encourage you to give us another chance, so that we can try to make up for the unfortunate parts of your most recent visit. Thank you again!

Report
j
jamsmith620
Manitoba
17 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall3Food5Service2Ambience4

Food was great as always. Service was very disjointed. The server who took our drink order was terribly confused and came back to the table to clarify what we had wanted (1 water, 1 soft drink). We then waited way too long to have our order taken. Again, she had to come back to the table to ask questions about what we had just ordered (if you can't remember things write them down!). Food was brought out quickly, but then we never saw the server again. No one came to see if the food was ok (luckily it was), and eventually we had to wave someone down to get our bill. I think it may have been an issue with one waitress going home and another one coming on shift.........but if that's the case they need a better system.

m
mpearl
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

We first encountered heavy security at the entrance of the Human Rights Museum and there was a bit of a dark maze to get to the Resturant. In keeping with the austerity of the site, it is dark and windowless. Most of the tables are very long but because of the quiet of the long weekend, we were able to obtain one of the few private tables. There was a wait before our server arrived to get drink orders and and give us water. There was a really long wait for the meals to arrive after they were ordered. I loved the pork souvlaki with arugula salad and tzatziki sauce. It was delicious. My son was disappointed with his choice from the Brunch menu, the Good Morning burger. The patty had a texture of sausage meat. Because the menu stated a beef patty, he was expecting the meat to be regular hamburger. There should be a more accurate description to avoid disappointment. I would like to see steamed fresh vegetables included on this menu for a healthy option. Salad type vegetables were the only choices available, except for unhealthy fat laden carrot fries

h
happyandfull
Vancouver
6 reviews
Dined on August 28, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food, ambience, entertainment (San Carlos) all exceeded our expectations. It was our first visit and we loved our entire experience. We will be back soon!

BD
BrnD
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great dinner - amazing location and delicious food! Highly recommended!

h
holi
Manitoba
16 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

We had been pre warned that it would be very busy and service not up to par. That was true. It seemed the outdoor clientele received better service than those inside. As a result if delays in service, one of the desserts two of our table ordered were no longer available. There were also
Menu items not available. My recommendation is given the increasing popularity of Wednesday evening dining, increase the serving staff and be sure to have sufficient menu items to fulfill what is on the menu. I have been here twice and both times, items were not available. For a fine dining restaurant this is unacceptable.

DJ
DonJim
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

It was a very enjoyable experience.

FF
vipFamilyFun
Manitoba
6 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Went for dinner and for the live music. Food was surprisingly delicious and sitting on the patio with live performers was simply perfect. Music was a bit loud, so don’t expect just background music.

h
holi
Manitoba
16 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

it was a generally quiet afternoon. I had taken a young woman for her birthday to the Museum for a tour and lunch after. She really enjoyed their burger and the chocolate mouse dessert. I had the steel-head trout. I found the salad stringy and hard to manage in a restaurant setting but overall everything we had was good. The staff were thoughtful and not intrusive.

KB
KarlaB
1 review
Dined on July 11, 2019
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience4

Carrot fries are my only complaint - deep fried carrots - no place for these on such a healthy menu

LH
LenH
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Nice place for an outside venue to listen to good music by the Doug Edmond band , beers were good ( lake of the Woods blond) chicken club average along with the hamburger considered the menus is small and not really my cup of tea , if you come for the ambience and beer or wine it’s great

N
Natasx12
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience4

I Made a reservation for 12:15, thought it would be best to reserve a table since the restaurant is located in the HRM, and figured it would be very busy.
When we arrived at the restaurant, the inside had only had 3 guests,. I had reservations for the patio, there too, there were only 3 guests, it was very quiet.
We were seated promptly and requested a table with an umbrella. The hostess was very nice and cleared the table right away and seated us.
This is where the restaurant fails at service. We sat there for about 20 minutes, debating whether or not we should get up and leave. When our server arrived, I asked if she had forgotten about us, she replied that she was trying to balance the inside patrons with the patio patrons of the restaurant. There was only 3 tables inside, plus another server on duty! When our meals arrived, it was another 20 minutes before we were checked on to see if everything was alright and to top up the coffee. The servers were polite and friendly but lack the operational skills required for the restaurant.

FAQs

ERA Bistro is rated 4.5 stars by 193 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by ERA Bistro