Kona Grill - Alpharetta

4
1588 reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill at Avalon in the heart of Alpharetta, steps away from Regal Cinemas and the plaza. Come in and enjoy your local paradise before catching a movie. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while modern American entrees are prepared from scratch. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio overlooking the plaza fountain is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice-cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive beverage menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Alpharetta during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required

Offers

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1,000 point tables

Sun 9:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 9:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 1588 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
Food
3.9
Service
4.1
Ambience
3.7
Value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5Food3Service4Ambience4

Aiden was awesome

MD
MikeD
Atlanta
22 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

Good food and I’ve found it pretty consistent. Nice atmosphere and the outside tables have heating making them Isabelle power much all winter here. Service has always been good, although it was clear that the servers were having to hustle to keep up.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Checkin was easy and they were prepared for the reservation. Was extremely busy but the server kept up and ensured we had drinks and info on food. Kitchen was slammed but that was ok because we were enjoying ourselves. Food was tasty all around but was more warm than hot.

MM
vipMattM
Atlanta
10 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2Food3Service3Ambience2

We specifically made a reservation for an outdoor table. But, when we arrived, there were no tables, and we were told that they don't take outdoor table reservations. When I showed them the reservation with outdoor table selected, they said it would be a 1.5 hour wait. Terrible customer service. Don't offer a reservation outside if you aren't going to even try to honor it.

HD
HeatherD
Atlanta
5 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Jaszmine was an amazing waitress, we came and sat outside for happy hour and everything was delivered quick and a great price! Thanks!

S
Summer
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience2

I am so disappointed with our experience at Kona Grill. Our server (Jazmin, check said “Jazzy”) was acting so strange and didn’t handle the situation well.

From the get-go, our interaction with the server was weird and unpleasant.

My husband ordered a salad. We ordered the angry edamame as an appetizer. Then, I ordered the filet with brussels sprouts and miso potatoes. When my food came out, it was a ribeye with potatoes and green beans. When I was able to talk to the server again, she told me “yeah I brought you the wrong plate” and asked if I still wanted the right meal or If I could keep that one. She seemed super annoyed and didn’t apologize for the mixup.

I told her I didn’t want to wait on it the filet to be cooked (It was getting late) but that I did want the sides to be correct, and didn’t like green beans and wanted the brussels sprouts instead. She said okay but never brought them out. She also only refilled my drink once (and that was before our food even came out).

When we got our check, I will still charged for the filet ($34) even though I was given a ribeye ($30) and she also charged me an additional $8 for the brussels sprouts- which I have two issues with. If I ordered them and the wrong thing was given, I shouldn’t be charged extra to get the thing I ordered in the first place. We never received the brussels sprouts at ALL so they shouldn’t have been on the check. She seemed so confused when we asked her to correct the bill. It wasn’t handled properly whatsoever. I didn’t get the meal I ordered, the food I did receive wasn’t good, the server was unpleasant and inattentive, and it was a $60 meal I didn’t want.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded 4 days ago

Dear Summer, Thanks for your time and for your feedback, I am really sorry about all the experience that you and your husband went through, we sincerely apologize that your dining experience did not match our exceptional standards. It’s very important our guests feel that a Kona Grill experience is well worth the value and we clearly missed the mark. Please expect a private message from the management team or contact me if you give us another opportunity we will make it right. David Vasquez .

Report
SJ
vipStephanieJ
Atlanta
14 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience3

Family dinner with kids! One of my favorite places to eat. Very disappointed. It took over an hour for our food to come out. Customer service was average at best. The manager did step in to help. He was very nice and tried to correct the issues. Probably not going back:(

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded 4 days ago

Dear Stephanie, Thanks for your time and for your feedback, I am really sorry about all the experience that you and your husband went through, we sincerely apologize that your dining experience did not match our exceptional standards. It’s very important our guests feel that a Kona Grill experience is well worth the value and we clearly missed the mark. Please expect a private message from the management team or contact me if you give us another opportunity we will make it right. David Vasquez .

Report
D
Davespicks
Atlanta
18 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Food and service were over the top! Huge portions and wonderful flavors. Suited the steak and potatoes guy for me and the sushi for the wife. Jerren was awesome and delivered as promised.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks a lot for the positive Review!

Report
JT
vipJenTheClassyCritic
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2021
Overall4Food4Service2Ambience4

server was very slow and then did not bring what we asked for; we could tell she was new but tried to be patient; the floors are very slippery and there were a number of times walking to the table and going to the bathroom that I almost slipped and fell; noise was fine and food was good but I've experience better at other locations. Also I would prefer the servers ask if we have a rewards account so that they can tie the bill to it because I typically forget to mention it and with this server being so new, i doubted her ability to figure it out in time for us to get the accurate points attached to my account

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks a lot for your feedback and for the 4 stars Review! I will approach to the staff and ensure that they follow the steps and remind guests about our KonaVore rewards program. Thanks for bringing this up to the staff attention so we can correct this and serve you better.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
24 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Thomas was great!

C
Candj
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Excellent food and service. Still had to wait 30 minutes past our reservation to be seated. No one able to help us at the bar for drinks while we waited

WG
WoodstockGuy
Atlanta
119 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

A tasty island menu with a great sushi bar as well. A loaf & lively scene. You won't be disappointed.

A
Abigail
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Drinks were good, service was great, it was a little loud, but it was a wonderful experience- I would go back!

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 10, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
k
kevinh
Atlanta
14 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall3Food2Service2Ambience2

VERY LOUD. Needed to shout to have a conversation.
Food was just ok
Service was slow, but they were very busy.
Surf &Turf consisting of a steak and specialty roll is a great value at $39

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 10, 2021

Thanks for the feedback, we will take this feedback and become a better overall restaurant. Thanks.

Report
CR
CharleneR
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

It was very nice - can't wait for my next opportunity to dine @ Kona!

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 10, 2021

Thank you for the 4 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Great place and I want to go back again but I felt rushed. Seems like you are enjoying your last bite and here comes the waitress taking the plate away before you can even swallow. Waitress was great but slow down.
PS. The Run Cake does not have an ounce of Rum.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thank you for the 4 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

40th birthday

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall3Food2Service2Ambience3

Reserved at table for 8pm. Showed up and was informed it’ll be maybe 10 mins. After 15 mins, went back and asked what is the status. Informed they “overbooked” and it’ll be at least another 10/15 mins. We sat at 8:45. No apologies. The food was not hot. Felt like it was prepared before, and sat out.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm so sorry for your experience we defiantly failed you on your visit. We would love for you to come back in and give us a chance to make this right! We promise a better experience!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience5

Service was good, food was good, but a bit over priced. We had 2 burgers, fries, and 2 alcoholic beverages that totaled to $99. Pretty pricey for burger and fries.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 3, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm so sorry for your experience we defiantly failed you on your visit. We would love for you to come back in and give us a chance to make this right! We promise a better experience!

Report
JM
vipJohnM
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall1Food3Service2Ambience1

We have been to Kona many, many times over the years, but last night was the last time we'll go. The sushi is excellent and other food normally very good. The experience we had last night was, however, among the worst I've ever had at any restaurant. We had a reservation at 6:45 but did not get seated until around 7:15, and only after we pressed the issue. Once seated, we ordered our meals and some appetizers-- after around 25 minutes, one of our meals arrived. The other three did not arrive for another 30 minutes after that, so one of our party ate alone and finished the meal before anyone else's food came to the table. We had multiple conversations with our server and the manager about this, and nothing seemed to help. The kitchen was overwhelmed and disorganized, yet they had take out orders lined up. There are too many other options in this price point to sit through that type of meal again.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear of your experience with us and we would love to make it up to you. Please give us an email with your contact information and experience so that we can invite you back out and make things right! Manager Sindou Alpharetta@konagrillcom

Report
F
Frankie4
Chicago
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience1

Seated almost 30 minutes past our reservation, food arrived 45 minutes after ordering. I sympathize with the labor shortage but it’s very easily fixed. STOP booking reservations like you have a full staff! All it does is cause mass chaos in the waiting area, dining area and kitchen. Kona Grill you will lose the nice employees have

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 3, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Manager Sindou Alpharetta@konagrillcom

Report
NO
vipNOISY
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall3Food4Service4Ambience1

The food is very good, but the music and noise level is painful. Boom Boom all evening at extreme decibels. It is not a pleasant place to eat, only due to the noise and DJ music.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thanks for the feedback, we will take this feedback and become a better overall restaurant. Thanks.

Report
P
Pmoldham
Charleston
15 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

They were very accommodating with our furry friend. Asked for outside dining and they made it happen!

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on October 2, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review! Our motto is Make Every Experience Exceptional, and I am so pleased we seem to have done our job! I will pass your note on to our team, I know it will make their day to read your review.

Report
J
Jeff
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience4

Was sat at an outside table (asked for). Sat there 5 to 10 minutes with multiple different wait staff pass the table. Some of them multiple times. NO ONE stopped by to say "Welcome, Little busy, will be right with you" or, So and So will be your server, he/she will be right with you." NOTHING...

20 Minutes after we left, our table settings were still on the table, like they didn't even notice we left... Needless to say the place wasn't busy AT ALL.

So have no clue how the food was or value. Moved on to a place with BETTER SERVICE, Of course with the service we got, McDonald's would have be a STEP UP.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 27, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our motto is Make Every Experience Exceptional but unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations! There's no excuse for mediocrity and our management team will accept full responsibility for this situation. We will cover your feedback with our team and put an action plan in place. My name is Sanjay Cato, feel to ask for me on your next visit. Thank you so much for the feedback.

Report
W
Wirerun47
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on September 24, 2021
Overall2Food2Service5Ambience5

The food was not cooked to the specifics of the menu (no glaze on the salmon)
I made the reservation 4 days before attending. left a msg that it was for a date. When we arrived the table they brought us to was not ready kid booster seat with crumbs still on chair, table top with food and used napkin still on it…and the table was for 4 plus not for two… the service after was good food came on time waiter was attentive to our needs….

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 25, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you. Kona Grill Manager Sindou Alpharetta@konagrillcom

Report
RT
ReneeT
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience2

We had a reservation for 8 for my daughter’s birthday, having brought her and 5 of her friends Sa to dinner. It was so loud inside that we could barely have a conversation. It took over an hour to get our food and that includes the simple edamame appetizers. The food was so-so at best and the entire group was hungry when we finally left, since no one ate much. Not worth it and will not go back.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 21, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report
D
Dman
Atlanta
12 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

everyone's food was good with one wrong meal brought which was exchanged. Server was overwhelmed and never got silverware for 2 people.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 20, 2021

Dear Dman, I'm very sorry about the experience and for the wrong meal, I also want to thank you for providing your feedback, this will help us improve and become better for your next visit. Please ask for me so I can be aware and make sure you receive the service that you and your family deserve. Att, David Vasquez - Assistant General Manager.

Report
VM
vipVirginiaM
Atlanta
27 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience3

The ordering system went down during lunch. Our orders were delayed or missed altogether. We eventually rec'd our food and take away order. We all ate at different times which was difficult.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 20, 2021

Dear Virginia, I'm very sorry about the experience and for the wrong timing between meals, I also want to thank you for providing your feedback, this will help us improve and become better for your next visit. Please ask for me so I can be aware and make sure you receive the service that you and your family deserve. Att, David Vasquez - Assistant General Manager.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
7 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was excellent. Fast service and everything came out the way we wanted. Stephany our server was great. We ask for her section when we come in.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 22, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars!

Report
B
vipBronwen
Western NC
24 reviews
Dined on September 16, 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience3

Food was good. Portions are very large. The restaurant is very loud so we sat outside. Our entrees were delayed and took over an hour to come out but management was proactive and apologized. It was a business dinner so we weren't in a rush but it was so a very long wait. I've been a few times and normally service is quick so it may have been an off night

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 25, 2021

Thank you for the Great review. We are glad to see that you had a great experience dining with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
KW
KenW
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Servers were awesome. Constantly checking with the kitchen on our orders. Biggest piece of carrot cake I’ve ever seen.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 17, 2021

Dear Ken, Thanks for the 5 Stars review! See you soon.

Report
H
Holly
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2021
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience3

Overall, I like Kona Grill. My food is normally great but last night it was just alright. Our server was terrible. She had an assistant in training helping her and he was MUCH more attentive than her. She came and checked on us 1 time and we were already finished with our food at that point. My experience was just alright. Not sure if I’m coming back yet.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 17, 2021

I apologize for the inconsistency during your visits. We strive to provide our guests with top notch service at all times in order to make your experience great. Please visit us again so we can turn that visit around and make it exceptional. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall2Food5Service2Ambience4

Had to wait an additional 30 minutes after reservation to be seated and hostess kept promising we were next but this was not the case.
Our waiter was great and the food was good as well. Certainly helped to turn around the experience.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 14, 2021

We strive for exceptional guest satisfaction and I am so sorry that we failed you. I would love to personally talk to you about your experience and have you give us a second chance if you would please email me at Alpharetta@konagrill.co

Report
EH
EmmaH
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience2

I really enjoy Kona normally, but this Saturday experience was worse than most. For starters, we placed a reservation for 7:45, and didn’t get seated until 8:30. I’m fine if that was a call-ahead situation, but if you’re going to call it a reservation, I want to have a table reserved for the party. Second, our food took over an hour to come out of the kitchen. I understand it was very busy but an hour wait should have an apology, or some sort of compensation for the long wait. Third, one of the menu items that I had ordered stated that it came with one type of cheese, but a bleu cheese was added instead and ruined the salad. Lastly, the music was blasting loud, and it was club music being played at a restaurant. We enjoyed the playlist but when trying to talk, it was excessively loud.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 14, 2021

We strive for exceptional guest satisfaction and I am so sorry that we failed you. I would love to personally talk to you about your experience and have you give us a second chance if you would please email me at Alpharetta@konagrill.co

Report
GS
GinnyS
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Service and food was excellent

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 12, 2021

Thanks a lot for your 5 stars review! See you soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2021
Overall1Food2Service2Ambience2

We had a group of 12 and the staff was nice, but not that attentive. No ones drinks were ever re-filled, service was extremely slow and orders were mixed up or wrong. Some of the food was so bad that we sent it back and went somewhere else to eat for those people. They were good about removing the item from the bill, but we really just wanted the right food and for it to be fixed right. I’ll never take another group back to Kona and cancelled future plans. This used to be a great place but not since COVID. They weren’t even that busy so that wasn’t an excuse. I was embarrassed that I had recommended the restaurant and felt terrible that the overall experience was so bad.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 11, 2021

I'm very sorry about this experience, I really appreciate your time and for letting me know about all of this situation, this will help us to improve our service and improve our performance. If you provide me your information, I will contact you so we so I can arrange everything and be aware of your next visit if you are willing in giving us another opportunity. We want to make this right and we want to give you the Kona experience you deserve. Att, David Vasquez - Assistant General Manager.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Nashville
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience5

The butter cake w/ice cream and raspberry drizzle was SUPERB! The green beans were fresh, delicious and crunchy. The fingerling potatoes could have used some butter and salt. The sushi roll that came with the surf-n-turf was very tasty. The ribeye was thinner than expected but cooked to perfection for my taste. Overall a nice experience. Thank you.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 9, 2021

Thank you for the review!

Report
TB
vipTifftheBarber
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience4

I had the longest piece of hair in my fried rice. The waiter tried to give me a few $5 coupons but the chef comped our bill which made me feel properly accommodated. The food is usually awesome. That was just a terrible mishap. I would give it one more try. Out of all the times we’ve eaten there, that was the 1st issue.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 9, 2021

I am very sorry about this. I am glad to hear the chef made your experience better! I hope to see you back again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience4

Waited way too long. Food was terrible, couldn’t get silverware and napkins, drinks, forget it. The whole exp was awful.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 9, 2021

I am very sorry about this experience. Please reach out to the restaurant so I can get more information.

Report
C
Cliff
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Great, fun place, music alittle loud, made talking difficult. But we were older than the average?

Kona Grill - Alpharetta
Responded on September 9, 2021

Thank you for the review!

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Alpharetta does offer delivery in partnership with Postmates and Uber Eats. Kona Grill - Alpharetta also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (470) 226-1540.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta is rated 4 stars by 1588 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Alpharetta does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.