EVOO in the Courtyard

4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
210 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean

Top tags:

Good Vegetarian Options
Evoo offers a variety of vegetable forward and locally driven pizzas, pastas and small plates with Mediterranean influences. We aim to provide an intimate and attentive dining experience with a creative craft cocktail program and local craft beers. We experience regular change in our menus as a vehicle for our evolution. Our menu is meant to be a reflection of our creativity and ambition showcasing the potential of plant-based alternatives to our local terroir while maintaining the restaurant's roots of Mediterranean cuisine.
Find us on Skip the Dishes for delivery.
What 210 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
Food
4.4
Service
4.2
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Service was exceptional, wood fired pizzas were delicious. Fried Brussels are a must try.

DA
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience5

Service was terrible and food lacked flavor. They make a big deal about offering gluten free but it was very poorly executed and undercooked

OT
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Service was great. Food came quickly and was delicious. Very nice cocktails and great atmosphere.

JM
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Wonderful fresh and flavourful food and deft, discerning service. Going back as soon as I can. Bravo!

CN
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2019
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience5

This was not me first visit to EVOO. The food is amazing. However, this time, it took a very long time for the food to come out. The wait staff was good, the food was good it just seemed like the kitchen was slow. And it was not busy. We were not a big group - only 7.

CH
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on November 12, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Lovely evening out with my hubby

W
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience5

The SQUASH GNOCCHI was cold & somewhat bland. Seemed like they didn't even use a heat lamp. The
PUTTANESCA spaghetti however was very good, hot and I would order that again. Overall service was friendly & prompt, but the waitress was keen to remove the appetizer plates before we were finished! Beverage selection was good and the atmosphere was very nice. EVOO has many vegetarian options, so I would return to try these other menu items.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on November 19, 2019

Hi Wayne, thank you for your feedback. We aim to provide perfect service (that isn't over eager) with food to match. We assure you that food temperature is of the upmost importance to us and your particular experience will be addressed with our staff. We are glad that our menu entices you enough to return for another meal - we have grown our menu this week to include more options for everyone. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
S
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Came for a 'date night' with my husband. Had the non-vegan tasting menu and requested a wine pairing. Very flavourful and fresh dishes. Service was attentive and quick without being overbedringbor feeling rushed. Loved the ambiance of the back room. Will definitely be back!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on November 19, 2019

We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us. We try our best to provide the type of experience that you witnessed while dinning with us. We hope that your next visit is as enjoyable as the last and we look forward to serving you soon!

Report
NF
Qatar
3 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2019
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

Great restaurant with wonderful food selections for both vegetarians/vegans and non-alike. Incredible service from arrival to departure. Food was simply delicious! Temperature was really cold in restaurant and must bring attention to this. We would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant and would return for sure.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on November 19, 2019

Hi Natacha, we are delighted that all things food and service were enjoyed. We recognize that restaurant temperature is something we struggle with. Where our restaurant is located in one of the oldest buildings in the city (with exposed brick, at that), there is often little that can be done on the really cold days. This is not to say that we are doing everything we can to mitigate this issue. We aim to provide comfort foods (pizza and pasta) to help keep your soul warm!!

Report
PC
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

My wife and I decided to go for the 4 course blind chef's special - and every part was amazing! My wife is a picky eater and even she ate most everything, even the things she does not usually like.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on November 19, 2019

And that, Philip, is exactly what we are going for with our Chef's choice menu!!!! Thank you for putting your trust in us - we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
JP
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

We were under a time constraint which our server was aware of and she made certain that we were out in good time. pleasant atmosphere and very good food

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on November 19, 2019

We are glad that we were able to meet your needs and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
SP
Atlantic Canada
3 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

Beautiful room and excellent service. We enjoyed our meals very much.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on October 21, 2019

Hey Stephen, we are overjoyed that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to serve you again soon!

Report
CP
Montreal
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Perfect pizza crust and excellent service. Beautiful location.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on October 21, 2019

Hi Catherine, thank you for the kind compliments! We pride ourselves on our Neapolitan style wood-fired pizzas. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
TG
Atlantic Canada
3 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

Food was decent, server was really good, very friendly, just disappointed that the menu had no beef, other than a burger, and no chicken options.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on October 5, 2019

Hi Todd, we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We try our best to have a balance of vegan options and non-vegan options. Sometimes this does mean more lamb than beef but only in an attempt to offer a better product when we can! We hope you'll try us again soon. Cheers!

Report
JM
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Delectable Meditteranean fare, wonderful warm service in a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Janet, Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to having you with us again soon. Cheers!

Report
OT
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2019
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience4

Have always loved EVOO. Felt the portions on the pizza, a wee to scant and took the server quite some time to place order. love the atmosphere, but where not many people in the restaurant the music was a bit loud. This is not typical of our meals at EVOO so i know it is done better.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We hope that this uncharacteristic evening does not deter you from visiting us again soon. We always aim to provide timely service to compliment our attention-driven food. Cheers!

Report
CT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2019
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience4

The menu posted on OpenTable has been changed to an integrated menu. Very disappointing as I did not see the dishes that I expected.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Carol, We apologize for not providing the style of menu that you hoped for. Admittedly, we are having technical difficulties with our OpenTable page in that we cannot seem to change what is showing on this menu (something to do with them using SinglePlatform to generate menus). Sometimes the perils of technology fool even a young team like us! We hope you'll try out our ever-changing menu options sometime - you may just find yourself enjoying something that you didn't expect. Cheers!

Report
A
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall2Food2Service4Ambience4

Evoo used to be a nice place to go to please the whole family including the vegan in the family. They have recently changed the menu and it’s almost impossible to feed the meat eater in you family. 2 out of 6 in our party was satisfied with the meal. It would have been nice if they had kept a couple of the staples on the menu. Very disappointed, will not go back until they change the menu.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Evoo has recently undergone a shift in our philosophy in an attempt to encourage people to step outside their comfort zone to see the potential of plant-based alternatives. That being said, we are actually putting more work into the meat we are still serving through an in house curing program. We are prioritizing conscious consumption through local ingredients over all else in order to minimize our footprint and we want that for our customers, too!

Report
L
Atlantic Canada
20 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Food was good, server was courteous and attentive.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
EV
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food far exceeded our expectations! We will definitely be back and will tell all our friends!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Emma, we are so. glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and we look forward to serving you and all your friends, soon!

Report
PR
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall2Food1Service2Ambience1

The new menu is bland. No seasoning in our entree. Mac and cheese should have more cheese. We were there 2 years ago and it was outstanding flavours. Now the food we found bland and boring.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hello Phil, while in a previous era of our restaurant many of the products being used were not processed in house and made with ingredients sources from the mainland - we not focus on making everything in house with locally sourced ingredients. We believe that this is the best way to do our part in sustainability! We apologize that your experience was subpar and ensure you that we work tirelessly everyday to provide the highest quality product that we can.

Report
SC
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Great service and great atmosphere! Their dessert was delicious. The gluten-free pizza was not the best we've had. We enjoyed their specials based on local foods. Overall, we would recommend it.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Samantha, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable evening with us. We are constantly working towards improvement and our gluten friendly options are at the forefront of that pursuit. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
PN
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This was the perfect dining experience, start to finish! A warm and welcoming ambiance showcasing a unique menu executed perfectly, with incredibly attentive and knowledgeable service. Each item was so deliciously different that it was difficult to pick our favourites- we're heading back for an encore performance this evening :) Come visit EVOO, this restaurant will not disappoint!!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Patti, it gives us ear-to-ear smiles to hear about your experience with us at Evoo! We are delighted that your reception of our dining intention was exactly what we are trying to achieve. We look forward. to having you with us on your next visit home. Cheers!

Report
m
Houston
10 reviews
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The pizzas and appetizers were amazing.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Thank you Marian! We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report
OT
Austin
2 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent food, service, and ambiance!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again soon!

Report
NN
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great meal experience! We had a great time! Loved the food!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Nancy, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to having you dine with us in the near future. Come check out some of our Fall offerings!

Report
BP
Atlantic Canada
4 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience4

Our third time at EVOO but disappointed in the food. Tuna tartare tasted more like smoked salmon. The value was poor versus previous visits. Won’t hurry back.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Barbara, thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you did not have an enjoyable time with us on your last visit and hope that you do not count us out for your next meal downtown. We are constant working to improve our menu items and are always switching up the menu so we believe that there could always be a chance that you may enjoy some of our new dishes. We would love the opportunity to cook for you again soon. Cheers!

Report
N
1 review
Dined on July 29, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

We ordered 4 appetizers, 3 were good but 1 wasn't great. Server removed the 1 from the bill on their own accord. Nice to see that behaviour, implies they care about food quality.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Nick, we take food. quality very seriously here at Evoo and aim to provide the highest quality product, always. We are delighted that this practice of ours did not go unnoticed. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
MG
Milwaukee
6 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food and choices - wife is a vegan, I am not - and great service.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

We are delighted that you were able to experience what we are trying to do first hand - dinner without compromise regardless of your dietary restrictions. Cheers!

Report
T
Vancouver
8 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience3

I feel that the menu was not for us. Went a few years ago and it was amazing. We stayed for a drink which was ok and left. Unfortunately we would not go back

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Tash, we apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have definitely made shifts towards more thought driven food that is more technical and creative. We are continuing to take our inspiration from classical Mediterranean cuisine while pursuing local ingredients to give them the modern 'Newfoundland touch'. We hope that you will give us another chance by stepping outside of your culinary comfort zone - I promise you the food does not disappoint once you commit!

Report
OT
Montreal
14 reviews
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Have tried there a couple of times this summer so far. Love it there, staff are also very friendly & our Server Nathan ( on both occassions ) is an excelent server

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

We are delighted that you enjoy our restaurant and we thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again soon. Cheers!

Report
LF
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall2Food2Service1Ambience4

Disappointing visit - food replaced as it was cold and unpleasant attitude. Family birthday celebration downer!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

We apologize that you had an unpleasant experience in our establishment. Rest assured that we take customer satisfaction with the upmost seriousness - be it service or. food. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove ourselves to you in the future. Cheers!

Report
AM
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

The best vegan menu in st.johns ! Loved it! Service was amazing!!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

We are delighted. that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to serving you again soon. Cheers!

Report
H
1 review
Dined on July 23, 2019
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience4

Really great place for people who have dietary restrictions. Definitely a strong menu with something for everyone. We were a table of six, but it didn’t seem as if the restaurant was busy. The drinks were amazing but took over 20 minutes to get them.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Hugh, we are. delighted that you had am enjoyable experience with us. We have in the last few months shifted towards craft cocktails and this shift has come with some growing pains. We are constantly working out the kinks and hope that this does not deter you from dining with us again soon. Cheers!

Report
EM
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on July 18, 2019
Overall3Food5Service4Ambience4

Wasn’t a fan of the seating, felt like I was too close to table next to us, could hear whole conversation. In the past had a booth/another table and was much happier with that.
Food was delicious, but slow.
It seemed one more person on staff would’ve been helpful.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

Hi Erin, we apologize that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. We hope that you will consider another meal with us soon so that we can redeem ourselves. Often the dead of summer comes with its challenges (re: speed) but rest assured that we were making everything happen as quickly as possible. Cheers!

Report
SD
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Thanks for a lovely evening! We especially enjoyed the cod and pizzas.

OT
Edmonton
2 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Updated menu is great!! Lots of choices. Pasta is unreal!

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and look forward to serving you again soon. Cheers!

Report
JG
Atlantic Canada
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

EVOO Pizza single handedly restores your will to live

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

YAS! We couldn't be happier to hear this! It restores our will to live as well - cone try out new pizza menu that launched this past month. It may just make you forget that the world is coming to an end!!! Cheers!

Report
OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on June 30, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food. Second time back and hope there will be a third.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

We hope that since this time you have had the chance to visit us a third time - or fourth time! We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience. Cheers!

Report
T
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on June 30, 2019
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

Had a great meal tonight at EVOO, delicious vegan options (from a non-vegan who loves great flavours and textures), the watermelon tartare was fantastic. Our server Jakob was wonderful and helped make dinner memorable. Definitely glad we stopped in at EVOO for dinner tonight.

EVOO in the Courtyard
Responded on September 25, 2019

We are delighted by your feedback and encourage you to visit us again soon for more different vegan options!

Report