Modavie

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
3407 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
French bistro in a jazzy atmosphere

Seven nights a week, live local bands take the stage at Montreal’s hottest live music bar and bistro. Modavie’s spirited setting encompasses two intimate floors and sets the scene for a night of great tunes and top dining . The bistro’s far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef, duck and inspired pasta dishes.
What 3407 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.5
Service
4.6
Ambience
4.2
Value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
JI
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

A perfect evening in Montreal. Our server was so knowledgeable about the wine selections and helped us picked an amazing bottle to go with our meal.

S
Montreal
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

This was our first time and not the last, very nice restaurant, the waiter was always there to filled out our glaces, the food was really good and well plated, was a bit cold with the opening and closing door, next time I’ll ask to be place where the music is at. Thank you

IR
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

We had a very pleasant evening. The service was excellent and the ambiance is perfect. The menu was just what we expected. An excellent evening all around.
We look forward to the next visit.

FB
Montreal
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Excellent service et quelle bonne qualité de tous les plats que nous avons dégusté et surtout terminé en entier! Je trouve déplorable que le 3/4 des clients ne terminent pas leurs assiettes! Quel gaspillage de si bonne nourriture!

Report
D
Montreal
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

L'ambiance est agréable
Le service est rapide et les serveurs courtois

Report
l
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience4

Expérience médiocre au niveau de la nourriture. Très déçue de mes plats. Je n'ai pas choisi les bons plats je pense. Mais excellent service et ambiance.

Report
AB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1Food1Service2Ambience5

Honestly - we are regular customers of Modavie but the brunch yesterday was honestly awful. The baked eggs was more like sickly cheesy soup and the service was pretty ordinary and a little lazy. We felt ill until this morning - and won't be returning. We like the Mimosas and the music was fab but other than that it was a no thanks from us.

OT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great meal, food was great and the service from Daniel was amazing.

PP
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food2Service5Ambience5

We were there for a birthday, 7 persons with a reservation. The service was amazing, super good. The live music was also very good and the restaurant in and of itself has the right ambience and look/feel. The food was so/so, but everything else was so good that we didn’t really care. Great job by the staff.

F
Montreal
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2Food3Service5Ambience3

c'est dommage toutefois que nous fussions assis à côté de la porte. Nous n'entendions ni la musique et nous avions froid du va et viens des consommateurs qui entraient et sortaient du restaurant.

Report
DM
Dallas
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

We had a lovely evening, made more special by the snow storm. It was so beautiful with the rustic feel of the place. We'll be back! :)

OT
Montreal
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Nous venons souper au Modavie à tous les ans pour la fête de ma mère et de ma belle-mère et nous ne sommes jamais déçu. Le serveur Enzo était parfait et les musiciens du côté Blues étaient excellent.

Report
FM
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience5

Ce n'est pas une critique négative en soi, l'expérience a été agréable mais mon copain et moi nous attendions à une qualité de nourriture plus élevée. Il n'y a pas eu de "wow" en mangeant pour venir soutenir l'expérience de notre sortie dans ce resto. Nous ne connaissions pas ce restaurant et avions possiblement des attentes trop élevées par rapport au type de restaurant qu'est Modavie.

Report
SS
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

My daughter and me really enjoyed the time there! The ambiance is nice , food is tasty and service is good. We will come back again!

A
Montreal
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Food was very good. Service was attentive and friendly though main courses were very slow to arrive and the restaurant was less than half full. Jazz duo was OK but far from outstanding - very little synergy between the 2 musicians.

DJ
Chicago
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

enjoyed the old style Montreal feel, really enjoyed the live jazz music. the service was top notch along with the food and the wine. Will definately be returning here on our next visit to Montreal

LC
New Orleans
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience2

Service was very slow and food was less than ordinary. I do not recommend this place

RU
Chicago
20 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Loved the beet salad and the mussels. The fries were tasty but not hot or it would be 5 star. Would definitely go back!

OT
1 review
Dined on January 14, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food, service and ambiance were great for out of towners like us. Enjoyed everything. We recommend the lamb chops and the desserts too. Absolutely top notch. Hope to go again.

J
Atlanta
7 reviews
Dined on January 14, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fabulous food, top service, great music and a very special ambiance.

NG
1 review
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

C'est notre 2e fois et nous aimons beaucoup la nourriture et l'ambiance.

Report
DL
Toronto
1 review
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

The ambiance was great and the food portions were incredible value for money. Highly recommend for a night out with some good eats and good friends.

C
1 review
Dined on January 9, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

From meeting Lorenzo at the door to our knowledgeable waiter to the most delicious food (if someone recommends the lamb, definitely order it, yum!), the entire experience was wonderful!

KB
Montreal
1 review
Dined on January 7, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Favorite fine-dining gluten free restaurant. I have Celiac’s and have never reacted. Their wine list is extensive, the food is great (I highly recommend the lamb poutine and beet salad) and overall has a lovely ambiance with live music.

OT
1 review
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience4

It was a great dining experience ,only problem was seating I asked for the floor level near the musicians but was given a table further away

CS
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience5

Restaurant is beautiful on the inside and menu selection was nice. However, both the risotto and the osso bucco lacked seasoning. They were both just kind of blah. Restaurant was pricey.

RC
1 review
Dined on January 4, 2020
Overall3Food1Service4Ambience5

The cassolet was not very good, and very expensive for what it was. Don't pick anything from the brunch menu and you'll do ok. The music was excellent and the service very good.

OT
1 review
Dined on January 3, 2020
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience5

Really nice ambiance (Jazz band playing every night) and close to Metro station Place D'Arms in Old Port. The chicken dish they have on their menu was a little bland and dry but the fillet Mignon with truffle mash is a must try.

DD
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on January 2, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent live jazz trio on Thursdays really puts a lot of atmosphere. Food, from appetizer to dessert was very well prepared and excellent.

BF
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

All the dishes were very fine. Especially, mussel was awesome.

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us such nice words! We are glad you enjoyed your Expérience Modavie and hopre to have the pleasure of serving you once again very soon.

Report
T
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Nous sommes vraiment satisfait.

Les calmars frits, la poutine à l'agneau braisé, le tartare au boeuf, le steak frites, les moules frites et le Tataki de cerf de Virginie ont vraiment étés aimés.
Le Magret de canard était un peu trop cuit à notre goût, mais comme les goûts sont dans la nature...

Ils ont beaucoup de choix de vin et notre serveur avait un mot à dire sur chacun!

Le turn off a été la visite aux toilettes. Des clients les avaient laissé dans un état pitoyable. Force est de croire que le personnel n'y va pas souvent et que personne n'a cru bon de leur faire part de l'état des lieux.

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour Thierry, Merci du temps pris pour nous écrire ce commentaire! Nous sommes très heureux de lire que vous avez appréciés votre Expérience Modavie. En ce qui concerne la propreté des toilettes, nos employés sont assignés à la vérification horaire , toutefois, l'achalandage repousse parfois celles-ci. Votre commentaire nous permettra de nous pencher sur des solutions à cet effet. Au plaisir de vous revoir parmi nous!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall3Food2Service4Ambience5

Server was great. The food tasted like an after thought.

OT
Montreal
5 reviews
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

We were looking for a restaurant open New Year’s Day and found Modavie. We sat in the bar area which had wonderful live music. It’s a beautiful space with lots of ambiance. The food and service were excellent. We will go back!

A
New York Area
23 reviews
Dined on January 1, 2020
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience2

Second time here. I remember it being better. Came for brunch on New Year’s Day however the brunch available wasn’t very good. I also thought there would be music for the jazz brunch because it’s a holiday but this wasn’t the case. Overall not great value for the money. Won’t come back next time.

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour Abby, Thank you for the time you took to write us this review! We are quite disappointed you did appreciate our brunch offer and will have our Chefs look into improvig it. Over the holiday period we offered musical brunch on the 24th, 25th and 31st of December as well as on the weekends. It was an oversight from us and we will make sure to offer it next year. We hope to see you again for an experience improved from you last very soon!

Report
M
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience2

We were very excited to celebrate New Year Night in Montreal. Unfortunately this place was wrong choice. The food was mediocre. Butternut squash soup was replaced with the worst onion soup ever. The main course arrived with 30 minutes delay when we were the last people left in the room. All barely warm. We almost didn’t touch it. Our waitress took it without asking if we want to take it home. My daughter didn’t touch her pasta what happened the first time in her life. It was cold. She didn’t get her brownie at all. No one seems care. Very disappointed. It was the worst meal of our 6 days trip and the most expensive.

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour Marina, Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. Needless to say, the quality of the food we serve to our customers is of the highest importance to us. We are therefore very concerned by the bad experience you had with us. Each issur you have noted have already been brought to the attention of our Chefs. They will thoroughly be looked into, in an attempt to prevent the same situation in the future. Hopefully, we will get the chance to change your opinion soon!

Report
S
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall2Food1Service2Ambience5

We book a table to celebrate New Year’s Eve. Place was packed but understaffed. Although they offered a Prix-fixe menu, food took forever to come to us, to a point where we just lost our appetite. They ran out of the soup and the main dish was bland and lack flavor. Waiters were very friendly, but they couldn’t keep up with the amount of customers. Music was good!

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour, First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking time to write us an honest review! Our busy time is not an excuse for the problems you have experienced and we strive to create an ambiance that is above and beyond expectations. Thanks to your comment our procedures and policies are on the way to be revised for the benefit of our valued guests. I hope you'll return again to feel a flawless experience, that has nothing to do with the one you had on your last visit.

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience4

New Year’s Eve 2020. Good jazz music but over crowded. There seemed to be a lot of extra tables added, we had little space to move where we where seated. The waiter was very attentive and careful with the food allergies. The dinner menu looked very intriguing but average overall. The lamb was elasticity and the soup way too sweet. The risotto dish was much better than the lamb. It took way too long between dishes to get the food. We where seated at 8h45 and had to rush waiter for our main dish at 10h40 . I have had a much better gastronomic experience at this restaurant before.

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us an honest review! First of all, we are quite disappointed you were under the impression tables were added and we will look into solution to give our guests more space. Otherwise, we apologize for the time it took for your food to get to the table and futhermore for the quality of it. We are currently looking into ways to enhance our fixed menu offer for our next events. We sure hope to have the pleasure to serve you again sometime soon!

Report
OT
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience5

Lovely venue
Great table
Poor service (New Years Eve- but it should have been better)
Food - pre fix - very limited and saw many tables getting food other than what was on the pre-fix....we were told no other options.

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to write us an honest review! We are glad you appreciated our venue. On the other hand, we would like to extend our apologies concerning the service and food. We are already looking into ways to prevent such situations in the future. We hope to have the chance to offer you a flawless Expérience Modavie sometime soon.

Report
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

We went for the early seating on New Year’s Eve. We were warmly welcomed and service was great. The music was great also. It was a prix fix menu. The food and pacing were spot on.

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience4

New Year’s Eve. Despite a small set menu the service was painfully slow. The food itself was mediocre. Even the brownie the children had for dessert was disappointing. The “prestige” wine pairings were also underwhelming for the price. Overall not a good experience.

Modavie
Responded on January 8, 2020

Bonjour, First and foremost, thank you for bringing this to our attention, a follow-up with the Chef and his team has already been executed. Obviously, we would like to hit the marh with each plate we serve, and we apologize for the inconsistency you experienced during your last visit. We hope to welcome you again someday for a true Expérience Modavie.

Report

Tweets by Modavie