Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
45 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American

Top tags:

Casual
During the Covid-19 mandatory shut down, our restaurant is happy to offer curbside pick-up & delivery to our valued guest. Please call the restaurant directly for curbside pick up or visit our website for a direct link to our delivery site. Our menus can be found online by visiting moxies.com.

Open for brunch, lunch, dinner and late-night dining, Moxie’s Red Deer is a kid-friendly casual restaurant located at the base of Sandman Hotel Red Deer -- just a short drive from popular Red Deer tourist hub Bower Place Shopping Centre and tourist attraction Sunnybrook Farm. Come check out our delicious steaks, pastas and burgers! Our Executive Chef Brandon Thordarson has added tasty new additions like our popular Honey Garlic Sirloin and Mustard + Dill Salmon to our wide array of choices.

Heading out for a drink? Come try a fresh Mojito or White Peach Bellini – we offer delicious drink specials daily. Pop in and enjoy a warm welcome on our patio!

Support Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer during COVID-19

What 45 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
Food
4.1
Service
4.1
Ambience
3.9
Value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on January 13, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

My steak is always cooked perfectly and my sangria is always delicious, nothing more I could ask for! Perfect date night :)

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on February 18, 2020

Thanks for the five stars! We are glad to hear that we could make your perfect date night and we agree, the sangria's are delicious!

Report
JD
JeffreyD
Calgary
5 reviews
Dined on January 2, 2020
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience3

Right from the moment we arrived it was bad. Not prepared for reservation. Food was mediocre at best. Service was okay but not stellar. Food price is high compared to Earl's and the Hideout, both of which have much better food. We made reservation saying it's a birthday and no one acknowledged it. Poor overall experience. Not likely to return.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on January 3, 2020

Good day Jeff, I would like to extend our sincere apologies as this is not the level of service we strive to provide at Moxie's. I understand your level of frustration and would love the opportunity to rectify this situation for you. If you would kindly email me at reddeergm@moxies.ca to further discuss. Regards, Jackson Baragar GM, Moxie's Red Deer

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

New Years dinner

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on January 3, 2020

Thanks for the five stars! Glad to hear your New Year's with us was an enjoyable one!

Report
WN
WendyN
Seattle
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food was perfect. I was surprized honestly by the quality of everything! Delicious and a friendly, warm environment with lovely service staff. Thank you Moxies! We'll be back!

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on October 29, 2019

Hi Wendy, Thank you for your kind words and feedback! I am glad to hear you had such a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Jackson Baragar GM, Moxie's Red Deer

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Calgary
7 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our server was wonderful. I wish I caught his name.
The staff were accommodating with our request to sit in a particular area outside on the patio.
Food and drinks were delicious...
Will go back again next time instead Deer.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on September 10, 2019

Glad to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us! We look forward to serving you again in the near future! Jackson Baragar, GM.

Report
GP
vipG3Prez
Des Moines
4 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2019
Overall4Food3Service4Ambience3

Good food, good service, but they need more inside tables. They have lots of booths, but the inside tables were taken by two parties so we had to sit on the patio. Thankfully the weather cooperated.

DC
DebbieC
Calgary
7 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2019
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Good food and good service!

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on June 8, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! Jackson Baragar, GM.

Report
JL
JohnL
Edmonton
14 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food was great.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on May 28, 2019

Glad to hear it, thanks John! Jackson Baragar, GM.

Report
MA
MikeA
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall3Food4Service4Ambience2

It was a busy Saturday evening at Moxie's in Red Deer and we had made a reservation to ensure we got in at a good time, 6:30pm.Service was ultra slow. We had put our order in and a few minutes later a second waitress showed up to take our order not knowing a previous waitress already took it. My Wife had ordered Lettuce wraps for dinner but they showed up early as an appie. Not a big deal but they took them back until the rest of our food showed up. Our dinner arrived and I had ordered the fish tacos, one of my favourites. Less than five minutes later a waiter showed up with another order of fish tacos. Not sure if this had anything to do with the two waitresses or not but away he went. Dinner was decent, my Wife loved her lettuce wraps, the fish tacos were good but two or three times we waited for the waitress to come back for various things
hot sauce, etc. but it was a long time in between visits. When dinner was done we ordered a chocolate cake to go for my Daughter and waited for the bill. When the bill showed up, surprise surprise it had two orders of fish tacos on it.( I still don't know how that happened) The hostess took the bill to correct it, came back and to my surprise, they had taken our drinks off the bill ($30) to compensate for our waiting a long time, which was nice. I paid the bill and let her know we were still waiting for the chocolate cake. She looked annoyed that someone hadn't brought it yet and went and got the chocolate cake herself and threw in a gelato as well, nice touch. Overall, the food was good, service was terribly slow and disorganized but they had the decency to comp our drinks and threw in the extra dessert to make up for it... somewhat.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on May 21, 2019

Good day Mike, I would like to start by apologizing for your recent experience with us, this is not the level of service we strive to provide and I will be following up with my team accordingly. I assure you we view these matters with the utmost severity, if you would kindly email me at reddeergm@moxies.ca as I would like to know a few further details and rectify this situation further for you. Thank you for your time. Jackson Baragar, GM

Report
P
Packerfan
Palm Springs
2 reviews
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience5

Very busy and very noisy. Food was fine. Service a touch slow bu understandable given how busy it was.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on May 21, 2019

Good day, Thank you for your recent feedback. Please let us know if there is something we could have done differently next time. Jackson Baragar, GM

Report
GK
GeorgeK
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall3Food2Service5Ambience5

The service of food delivery is slow and considering it was slow, I was surprised that my steak was sent to me very rare when I ordered medium well and said to the waiter a little pink is ok but no more than that but came to my table blue rare and meat was cold in the middle.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on May 21, 2019

Good day George, My apologies for your recent experience with us, I will certainly be following up with my team to ensure this is not an ongoing issue. If you would kindly email me at reddeergm@moxies.ca so that I may rectify this situation further for you. Jackson Baragar, GM

Report
RS
RonS
Montreal
5 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Birthday lunch for a family member - great service, good food. Thanks

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on May 15, 2019

Thanks for your feedback Ron! We are glad you had such a great time. Jackson Baragar, GM.

Report
KS
KevinS
1 review
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

I expected something a little classier. Although the meal I received was warm at best, it did taste good. Thought the menu was a little lacking. The waitress was pleasant however she left us for long periods of time, forgot a salad and got drink orders wrong. And there was only two other tables with people in the whole place.
Not up to the standards of the Edmonton Moxies.

t
theeaaaa
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall3Food2Service2Ambience2

My reservation didn't matter - they sat us in the lounge because a table wasn't available... and then they were out of multiple food items... service was slow.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on April 30, 2019

Good day, I am sorry to hear that you recent experience was not up to usual standards, if you would kindly email me at reddeergm@moxies.ca so that I may rectify this situation further for you. Jackson Baragar GM, Moxie's Red Deer

Report
RF
RhondaF
Calgary
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall2Food4Service4Ambience2

Ok. I'm not sure if it was the day but, our group of 4 women usually come here for a dinner a few times a year and we're never disappointed. Breakfast was the time that worked for us, so I recommended we go to our usual place (as we're usually very happy with our experience) and the other 3 ladies didn't even know that Moxie's served breakfast. In short, it was blowing cold air (air conditioning) while we had a nice blizzard coming down outside. The coffee was luke warm for a round. Our waitress was pretty good, but must not have talked to her supervisor about the room temp (after I asked her about it and said she needed to check with her manager when she came in at 10??). Our food was good, thank goodness. I sure hope we return, but would really like to enjoy a hot cup of coffee without wearing our coats!!! Thanks.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on April 30, 2019

Good day Rhonda, Let me start by offering my sincere apologies for the discomfort you and your guests recently experienced. I will be certain to follow up with my Saturday team to ensure this is not an ongoing issue. If you would kindly email me at reddeergm@moxies,ca so that I may further rectify this situation for you. Jackson Baragar GM, Moxie's Red Deer

Report
TM
TerriM
1 review
Dined on April 14, 2019
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience1

I’ve been to Moxie’s many times and have never had such poor service. It was 20 min before we were even asked about drinks and my drink was missed. About 45 mins before getting appetizer after reminding the server about the order. The restaurant was not busy at the time we were there. Once our meal orders were finally taken they were very slow coming out. If the restaurant was short staffed or some other unfortunate circumstance I would prefer the server say something instead of feeling ignored.

Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer
Responded on April 25, 2019

Good day Terri, Let me start by offering my sincere apologies for your recent experience with us, this is not the level of service we strive to provide and I will be following up with my team accordingly. I understand your level of frustration and I would love the opportunity to rectify this situation for you. If you would kindly email me at reddeergm@moxies.ca as I would love the opportunity to discuss further. Thank you for your time, Jackson Baragar GM, Moxie's Red Deer

Report
RK
RachelK
1 review
Dined on April 3, 2019
Overall4Food4Service2Ambience4

This is my second time here in two years. Both times the restaurant wasn’t even half full and the service was so slow. Took forever for the waitress to come by. It just doesn’t seem to be a priority. The last time we were here there were only a few tables.

GH
GarthH
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

Slow service, but once staff knew we were dissatisfied with the service, they got their act together and service improved. Food was served well prepared and hot.

H
Htotheizzo
Calgary
1 review
Dined on March 4, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Thought the food was great. Service was pleasant. It was Monday night so it was nice and quiet.

CD
ColinD
Adelaide
1 review
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Outstanding diligence towards our daughter who is Celiac and has major Gluten Allergies. Manager even came to the table to assure us all would be good. Outstanding service by everyone.

B
Bugman99
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

We arrived on time, were seated promptly close to the door. We requested a different seat, which they were helpful in finding. Once we were seated, we ordered our drinks and meals. All of our foods was at our table in less than 15 minutes. The food was excellent and so was our server, very attentive to our needs as the meal progressed. We were in and out in just over an hour. No rushing to get us out, the meal and service were first class

RA
RobinA
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall3Food5Service5Ambience5

Made reservation but was told upon arrival table was too squished for group.

So we sat in the lounge and it was ok.

How hard is it for a restaurant chain to figure out how to seat n number of people? That was disappointing.

They had one thing to do.

SS
SimpleSimon
1 review
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall2Food4Service1Ambience2

Service was slow, starter salad was never brought, substite of house dressing instead of spicy dressing request on an entre salad was not not made. Removal of 1 item from another entre salad was not made. There were the only 2 minor changes requested on 5 meals. Steak was served as medium rare when the request was for well done. Waitress did offfer to take one meal back to the kitchen when the error was brought to her attention however when you have already waited 45 minutes for your meals, everyone else already has their meals and are eating and you have another event that you need to get to, that didn’t really feel like an option.

NO
NicoleO
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was amazing. Service was amazing. Great prices! I can’t wait to go back!

CB
CherylB
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2018
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Great experience! Great food but a little pricey on a few items (ie Chicken lettuce wraps).

LO
LucyO
Calgary
1 review
Dined on June 24, 2018
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Our dining experience was very good. Good service with a pleasant waiter. Food well prepared with nice presentation.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on June 17, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a large group and the food came out all at the same time. Was fast and yummy and service was great! Thank you so much!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 15, 2018
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Food was amazing! Great birthday dinner!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Saskatoon
4 reviews
Dined on May 13, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Mothers Day dinner. Food was exceptional. Steaks were done perfectly. The nacho appetizers with chicken were a great size for sharing. Leah did a great job keeping our glasses full and attending to our needs. It was a very nice meal out with the family. I liked being able to book a spot the day before to ensure we would have a spot for our special occasion.

LM
LisaM
1 review
Dined on May 13, 2018
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

Our waiter went above and beyond for our anniversary dinner. Food was great and we didn’t have to wait long. Overall it was fantastic!

AH
AngieH
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2018
Overall2Food3Service1Ambience4

Unfortunately this was an extremely busy evening but thankfully we did have a reservation and were seated right away.
Our server appeared promptly and took our drink order, but didn’t return with drinks or to take meal order for approximately 25 min.
Meal was delivered. Items ordered included chicken and ribs- chicken was very well done and extremely salty. Side salad was lovely, fresh ingredients and large. Ribs were decent. Grilled cheese sandwich was good, steak salad was also great.
Waters never did get a refill. Wine was never asked if another was preferred. We sat with empty plates on the table for 38 mins. When our server finally came to ask if we wanted anything else, our kids wanted the ice cream that came with the meal and I requested a dessert drink. 20 min later, still nothing. We got up to look for our server and pay the bill. She apologized fir not completing our order and asked how everything else was. I explained that food was good but unfortunately the service was terrible.

Where we would have enjoyed our meal and spent additional cash, we left, had wine and dessert at our hotel instead. As Moxies everywhere else has a great service record, this was very disappointing to say the least.

AD
AshleyD
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The atmosphere was great and the service was excellent.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Myself and my 2 year old son came here for dinner and our waitress was impeccable! I am very impressed with the overall food and service. Our waitress acknowledged my son and was very polite. He had a wonderful experience and we will be back!

D
Dakb
1 review
Dined on February 9, 2018
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

Great service! Honestly one of the best waiters I’ve ever had anywhere. Food was good too! I found the wine a bit expensive for one glass but even so, that was really good too

OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2017
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was good, not the fastest but it was nye

C
Ccon
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2017
Overall2Food2Service2Ambience2

Food was blah my lobster was chewy and overcooked I was never offered anymore water after first glass had to ask for some when we were about to leave. My chair was saggy and uncomfortable and we were cold where we were sat. Too loud couldn't hear any conversation. Won't be back. Sorry Red Deer Moxies, not impressed.

D
Dinerniner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2017
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food

OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on December 28, 2017
Overall3Food4Service3Ambience3

The restaurant it's self was good. The food was good for the little I received there was definitely no frills about it. The portion of the chicken was good nothing worth any value with it on the plate. The waitresses were good not great. And was just to much money for what I got on return.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on December 16, 2017
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was crowded in the evening but our reservation helped us getting seat. The food was good. One of our order for Teryaki chicken bowl was wrongly served with Thai curry rice. The restaurant Manager apologized for the mistake. We didn't wait for the original order. The food was tasty.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Calgary
1 review
Dined on October 28, 2017
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience1

Poor poor service... 2 out of 5 people complained that their food was cold when received... lots of time waiting for waitress to come to our table

Tweets by Moxie's Grill & Bar - Red Deer