Porto Mar

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
23 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Portuguese
Beautiful historic building located in Old Montreal. An ideal spot for romantic dinners, business meetings, casual encounters, birthdays and other special events.

Our menu offers a variety of traditional Portuguese dishes including fresh fish, seafood and a choice of grilled specialties. Our extensive wine list has many imported wines at affordable prices.

Support Porto Mar during COVID-19

What 23 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.5
Service
4.5
Ambience
4.2
Value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
j
jmlinmtl
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We were made to feel super safe with their Covid protocol and the food and service was exceptional as usual. Cannot recommend any more, it's the best restaurant in Old Montreal.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Montreal
4 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

Beautiful location, wonderful atmosphere, such a fine dinner with my young daughter after taking her to an art show. Perfect night, thank you to the Wonderful Gentleman at Porto Mar ! I will be back again soon !

j
jmlinmtl
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We live a couple of blocks away and have the choice of many restaurants but we return often to Porto Mar because the food is so yummy and the prices are very fair. Everyone is greeted as if they were family and the service is outstanding. You cannot go wrong with ordering the rack of lamb from the table d’hôte menu. I have had them before and they are always cooked to perfection. I have also had the Portuguese chicken, which is my favourite too. Many at my table had fish and raves about the freshness and preparation. One of the best things about this restaurant is that you are never rushed out. You are welcome to enjoy your evening at your pace. When you are in a bit of a hurry (lunch) they can easily accommodate too. Thank you to the whole staff for being so great. Looking forward to coming back soon.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience2

I can cook Portuguese dishes better at home. Wine list is table wine at premium prices. Some patrons were out of control with their noise level. Service was nice and considerate. Overall Not recommended

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
6 reviews
Dined on December 27, 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

The food was good, the ambience and service too.
Avoid the table beside the kitchen and the restrooms. It’s too noisy.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our waitress was excellent, food delicious, perfect ambiance.

B
Bsydes
London
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall4Food5Service4Ambience4

I took my wife to Porto Mar for her birthday. Overall we enjoyed our experience. But there were a few issues which cause is to rate them a 4/5.

When we arrived there were no menus available. So we were told we had to wait. As we patiently waited, a table of 2 was seated next to us and after them, a table 4 was seated in the corner. The table of 4 was provided one menu to share prior to either of the tables of 2, even though we arrived first. Additionally, there should be assaulted menus for the entire restaurant. My wife and I shared the mixed seafood for 2 and the chorizo appetizer. The food we ordered was good but nothing special stood out. The staff were nice and courteous. Overall, we enjoyed our experience, but we will probably not return.

b
vipbayareares
San Francisco
56 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Lovely and delicious Portuguese food, with low key but good service, and very reasonably priced.

QE
vipQED1
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on August 19, 2019
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience4

Nice ambiance, friendly staff. We had a steak (thin but good) and bacalao which was a long wait and very tough, seemed overcooked when it should hardly have been cooked at all. The fish was a great disappointment

Porto Mar
Responded on August 28, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the fish but perhaps you intended to order the fresh cod fish and not the salty cod fish? The bacalhau that you ordered was the salty cod fish which does take longer to prepare and is more fibrous given that it is dried and cured in salt. The fresh cod fish is more tender and not as well cooked. They are very different dishes. Please try the fresh cod fish next time and we are sure you will not be disappointed. Cheers.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on July 4, 2019
Overall2Food2Service3Ambience4

Based on the reviews I was expecting really fresh seafood without the tourist trap prices of Old Montreal. But we could tell the food was mostly frozen or canned, and therefore way overpriced.

Review of the following that my partner and I ordered:
Sardines: so disappointing. The skin was inedible because of scales, and was also too soggy for grilled sardines. And the skin is the whole point of this type of dish! I ate the meat of the sardines, but we did not finish this dish.
Snails /escargots: this was the best dish we ate, yet we could tell the snails were from a can. The sauce was pretty acidic / vinegary so not for everyone but I really liked the sauce.
Salmon: this was cooked pretty well, but was not fresh salmon. It came with limp broccoli and a half potato that was incredibly plain. I love potatoes and didn’t eat it.
Clams and pork: pork was really tough. My partner barely ate it.

The server was lovely but she was the only one and had too many tables to give proper service.

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience at our restaurant was not what you expected. We would like to clarify though that we never use frozen fish and that our salmon is always fresh. We receive fresh fish every day. Did you mention anything to your waitress as we are happy to change any dish that does not meet the customers satisfaction? The sardines are one of our most popular dishes. We apologize again and hope to get another chance to serve you and improve your experience. Best Regards.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Great atmosphere and great food the staff were friendly and inviting.

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you so much for the great review. We look forward to serving you again. Cheers!

Report
M
Mary
Miami
4 reviews
Dined on June 10, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Good food and service

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you so much Mary for the great review! So glad you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant. Cheers!

Report
JC
JosephC
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Beautiful location with great food and service. We look forward to returning.

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you so much Joseph for the great review! So happy you enjoyed our food and the beautiful location we are in. Looking forward to serving you again. Cheers!

Report
L
Layaa
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2019
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience5

The staff were really friendly. The place was very beautiful and very close to Old Port. The food was really tasty, but the price was a bit high for the food they served (a fancy restaurant).

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and the beautiful location we are in. Cheers!

Report
B
Buffetmania
New Orleans
14 reviews
Dined on April 9, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It's so wonderful Portgese restaurant with very fresh and delicious dishes. We had sardin, salmon, cod, escargo, and wines. All dishes are so good flavors. We also liked its kind service and chilled atmosphere.

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed our dishes and the fresh fish as well as the relaxed atmosphere. Looking forward to serving you again. Cheers!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Montreal
1 review
Dined on April 1, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food on a quiet Monday. We always enjoy our experience.

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you very much for the great review! We look forward to serving you again. Cheers!

Report
BT
vipBetterThanEver
Montreal
28 reviews
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience5

It was an OK experience both times we ate here. Nothing exceptional. More like a 4 star. Certainly not the 4.7 star listed.

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you were not as impressed as we would have hoped with your experience at our restaurant. We look forward to having another chance to prove to you why our ratings are so high. Best Regards.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Absolutely amaZing

Porto Mar
Responded on July 17, 2019

Thank you so much for the great review! So happy you had such a great experience at our restaurant. Until next time, cheers!

Report
LL
LaurentL
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Very good food with lot of fish dishes. Nice place near « le Vieux Port » of Montréal.
I recommand for a pleasant and quality moment with family.

NR
NeilR
Montreal
5 reviews
Dined on December 10, 2018
Overall4Food4Service5Ambience4

Very quiet evening. One of our party had the liver and two of us thought it was great. Different treatment of some foods. We had a good evening. Only complaint I have was having a TV on in a restaurant. Staff was great, even after all others had left.

l
viplittlerabbit
Seattle
50 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2018
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience5

Cynthia ,Passos and chef were charming. Food delish and not overly salty. Had cod that was cooked perfectly. Had 3 course dinner for 34 cad. Would return if I find myself in Montreal.

Porto Mar
Responded on November 8, 2018

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to serve you in our restaurant. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town. Cheers!

Report
L
Lexus450
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on October 29, 2018
Overall4Food3Service3Ambience4

Very nice meal. Portugese chicken was delicious, good fish, good soup. We appreciated that there was very low noise level so it allowed nice conversation. An old-school ambiance, but it was pleasant, peaceful and we had a very enjoyable meal.

Porto Mar
Responded on November 8, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the relaxed and quiet atmosphere here at Porto Mar. We hope to see you again in the near future. Cheers!

Report
B
Bill
Denver
37 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2018
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

They have a nice selection of Portuguese wines. The food was excellent with nice presentation. Service was superb.

Porto Mar
Responded on November 8, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed wine from our wide selection of Portuguese wines as well as the meal, presentation and service. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Cheers!

Report

FAQs

Porto Mar offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (514) 286-5223.

Porto Mar is rated 4.5 stars by 23 OpenTable diners.

Porto Mar does offer gift cards which you can purchase here http://www.quaiouest.ca/giftcertificates.html.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.