Sud Forno

4.3
594 reviews
CAN$30 and under
Italian
"PROOF OF VACCINATION REQUIRED TO DINE INDOORS"
We are housed in a heritage building in the heart of the financial district. Looking for a quick grab & go item? Our main bar will provide coffee with limited breakfast items, salads and sandwiches for cash and carry.
We ask that you review our COVID safety features in the pop up section called “Safety Precautions” to see how Terroni/Sud Forno is keeping you safe.
Important Booking requirements for your patio reservation:
-Reservations are weather permitting.
-Table requests for indoor dining vs out door dining are a REQUEST ONLY and not guaranteed
-In the event of rain, all food will be packaged to go and we will require payment upon presentation of final bill
-Masks are required indoors for all guests
-Out by time required for all reservations 2-5 guests (1.5 hrs max) and 6+ guests (2 hours max)
-Please don’t be late as out by times will not be adjusted; be mindful that someone has booked your table after 2 hours

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
  • Proof of vaccination required to dine indoors
What 594 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
Food
4.3
Service
4.3
Ambience
4.0
Value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
63 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Dinner here was OK. Very noisy atmosphere so if your looking for ambiance and conversation might not be a great match. Food was good but probably won’t return.

JS
JulieS
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food is amazing, service is great. I have never been disappointed with Sud Forno.

BG
BriannaG
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

My first time dining at Sud Forno and I loved it! Will definitely be coming back again

Sud Forno
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your kind words Brianna, we are so pleased to hear you loved your first experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Mexico City
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Fantastic food! Everything was amazing.

m
vipmseraf
Toronto
11 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4Food5Service3Ambience5

Beautiful restaurant, multi level and charming. Delicious cocktails: I had an espresso martini and built my own gin & tonic. Food was incredible!

JR
JunaedR
Toronto
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Horrible rude Waitress Had a lot of attitude What was not cooked properly

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standards. We strive to offer the highest level of customer service and it is concerning to hear that your server did not uphold these standards. Please know that a manager is always on duty to address your concerns immediately so you leave feeling satisfied. We will share your comments with management and hope that you won't let this instance overshadow previous positive experiences.

Report
MH
vipMarkH
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3Food5Service2Ambience2

It was very loud with the table next to us was too close. We could only hear their conversation. When the door opened we were blasted with freezing cold air. Dinner took over an hour to arrive.

The Gorgonzola gnocchi was excellent.

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

Thank you for your 5-star review of our food, we are happy you thought the Gnocci Gorgonzola e Noci was excellent! We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the service and ambience. A manager is always on duty to correct any concerns you have during your visit and to ensure you leave feeling satisfied. During the holiday season our larger locations tend to become more festive, we recommend trying one of our smaller restaurants like La Bettola di Terroni for a more intimate experience

Report
K
Karl
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 26, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

one of the best beef tenderloins that I have had in a restaurant, and the the price was not terrible.

Sud Forno
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your kind words and 5-star review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Bistecca di Manzo. We hope you will consider visiting us again soon.

Report
R
Rads
1 review
Dined on November 25, 2021
Overall1Food3Service1Ambience5

Had to wait an hour between apps and main course. Asked one server for an update and she never came back, asked another and she was rude about it.
Extremely noisy, hard to have a conversation with your table.

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

Thank you for your 5-star review of our ambience. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your overall experience. Please know a manager is always available to address any concerns and ensure you leave feeling satisfied. As we enter the holiday season some of our locations tend to become more festive. If you would prefer a more intimate experience we would suggest trying one of our smaller locations such as La Bettola di Terroni. We hope you will consider visiting again in the future.

Report
DS
DerenS
1 review
Dined on November 24, 2021
Overall2Food4Service2Ambience4

We had a reservation for 7 people at 11:30 am - restaurant was nearly empty when we placed our orders. A few of us ordered appetizers in addition to entrees, but appetizers were served simultaneously with other people's entrees....and then 4 of us waited roughly 30 minutes for our entrees to be served. One of the 4 had to get their meal to go due to a business meeting at 1, and the rest of us finished our food in a rush in order to make it back in time for a group meeting.

Other than the server repeatedly apologizing and offering us some complimentary cannoli, there were no adjustments made to our final bill (>$300).

Very disappointing.

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

Thank you for your sharing your feedback with us and for the positive reviews of our food and ambience. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and pleased that our team attempted service recovery by offering you complimentary Dolci. We ask for your patience at this time as our industry is struggling with staff shortages due to the pandemic. We will share your feedback with management for further investigation and hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Report
R
Ruby
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 23, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Great food, service was excellent. Appreciated our server's wine recommendation! It was a bit crowded during the lunch hour, sitting very closely to people but otherwise no issue. I'll be back :)

L
Louis
London
1 review
Dined on November 23, 2021
Overall3Food2Service3Ambience2

May have just been lunch hour rush/short staff due to Covid, but both my pizza and my guest's were served cold ... tasty, but cold. Noise level was "very" loud ... we were practically shouting to have a conversation across a 30 inch table. $50+ for two pizzas and a tea was too high given the quality of the experience.

I've generally had good experiences at Sud Forno - unfortunately, the last few times it has fallen short of expectation.

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Louis. You are correct that the pandemic has resulted in major obstacles for our industry including staff shortages and we ask for your patience while we train new team members. As we enter the holiday season we do tend to become more festive. If you prefer a more intimate experience we suggest trying La Bettola di Terroni, one of our smaller locations at 106 Victoria St, Toronto. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Report
RT
RezaT
1 review
Dined on November 22, 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

You don't need to tell a customer that you only can have the table for 1.5 hrs on Mondays, while the restaurant is almost empty.

The server doesn't need to be offensive if the customer gives feedback about the food or cocktail.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

The food was tasteless, the service was horrible, & we had a specific time to eat (they told us we need to be out in an hour and a half) even though the food came late. Never again…

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We are transparent about our dining times which range from 1h30 to 2hours and allow us to ensure that tables are sanitised for the next guests during multiple seatings. Please know a manager is always on duty to address any concerns during your visit so they are corrected and you leave feeling satisfied. We will share your feedback with the management and chef. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Report
H
Hareem
1 review
Dined on November 18, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Really appreciated their help in getting us situated!

We only reserved for 8 but with the flexible office situation, had 11 people show up for a team lunch. They were accommodating when they didn't have to be, and were lighthearted about it.

The food was delicious and the restaurant has a great vibe.

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience! We are so pleased you enjoyed your team lunch and hope to see you again soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
14 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

First… our server Lindsay was spectacular. A fount of knowledge, friendly, conversational and attentive.

The food was spectacular… every dish was tasty and the desserts were to die for.

A
Ally
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

The atmoshpere is fantastic. It's such a nice place to be. The food was delicious though they don't have a huge menu its good enough. The service was great. The only thing is that they put me and my friend very close to another table. They went away pretty soon so it wasn't too bad.

FD
FrancescaD
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5Food4Service4Ambience5

Alicia was such an amazing server and recommended a delicious bottle of wine for us!!

RM
RaheemM
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall2Food1Service3Ambience3

If it wasn't for our server doing what they could to make things right in the moment for us, I probably would've rated much lower. We had to send our appetizer back because it did not taste good and was not worth the cost. I had to send my main back to get warmed because the pasta was cold. Two separate times some fly/small insect fell into my friend's drink and another found its way onto our dessert so we couldn't finish eating it. I don't know if it was just a bad night for them but we were not impressed.

ER
ErikaR
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Very nice place for business lunch. The food is gorgeous!

Sud Forno
Responded a day ago

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall1Food2Service1Ambience2

Disappointing night. Nearly 20 minutes after being seated until we were approached by our server after we asked to be seen.

Apps came out and within a few minutes our server came by to ask if we were ready for our entrees. Not sure if they were trying to rush us to keep us within their 90 minute target but needless to say we weren’t ready.

Food expectably came out cold after sitting in the kitchen. We were told that our entrees were being remade but unfortunately wasn’t followed through on.

Feedback communicated to our server but were told that it was our responsibility to let management know. It’ll be a one and done for us as there are just too many other great Italian spots to support in Toronto.

M
Mercoledi
Toronto
1 review
Dined on November 5, 2021
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience4

Staff were friendly and upbeat. It was a birthday and was noted on reservation. There was no mention from the staff until we told them and it seemed no thought given to table choice. Restaurant was less busy when we arrived and we requested another table instead of the one we were assigned. Server told us he was seating in there to give the table to the server in that area. It would have been nice to hear “we know it’s a special occasion and we chose this for you.”
We’ve been to Sud Forno many times precovid so perhaps growing pains during the recovery.
Thanks

MR
MichaelR
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined on November 3, 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience3

A versatile restaurant that suits almost all
Occasions from casual to formal business to an impromptu get together with friends. I’m never disappointed.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Amazing food as always! Will always go to Sud Forno

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

meeting w an old friend.

Francisco was amazing 🙏🏼❤️‍🔥

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall1Food1Service1Ambience1

Incredibly rude hostess, cocktails had no trace of any alcohol to them. Seated by the door despite the place being half empty. Kicked out early due to restaurant renovations.

C
Coupington
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall3Food3Service5Ambience4

Our server was great.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

We ordered a pizza, which was really yum! And my drink (gin, elderflower and basil) was just great!

TB
vipTrishaB
Toronto
16 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Such a lovely spot to have a last minute dinner with family. The service was so good and the waitstaff was patient, efficient and very kind.

c
catherine
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

Didnt' check my vaccine passport.

Misinformed me that the patio was closed when I called, so I couldn't reserve the patio.

Overall good service and good value. Upstairs, the noise level is very high and the social distancing isn't quite there.

MS
MariaS
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Grilled calamari were cooked to perfection. Cod cakes ...yum. pasta was delicious

c
chowandcocktails
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience5

First time at Sud Forno and we really enjoyed it! My two girlfriends and I started our ladies night here for dinner and were not disappointed. Busy on Saturday night, so service was a tad slow but we appreciated not being rushed and our server was delightful! Espresso martinis followed by a vodka cocktail on their menu (all I remember is that there was St. Germain in it), both were delicious. We had the Antipasto board to start which was the perfect amount for 3, then I had the Cacio e Pepe which was well cooked and seasoned. Overall, the interior was a delicate mix of modern and classic, seating was comfortable and spacious, and the volume was just enough to provide energy but still hear each other perfectly. Couldn't be happier, and enthusiastic to return!

NC
NaomiC
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food and great service!

JC
JackyC
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Wonderful evening eating a restaurant indoors!!! What a treat!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall3Food3Service3Ambience3

Just OK - not as good as we expected based on the reviews. Burrata and ravioli were good, but rest of party was not impressed with pizza. Hostess has to step in frequently for server (when waits were long), which was nice of her!

NF
NaschaF
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was delicious, ambiance was great, service was speedy and delightful. We were in a bit of a rush to get in and out, and our server helped make sure everything ran smoothly without feeling rushed.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience4

The special was way over cooked and the polenta that it was to come with was switched to mashed potatoes which is not a good substitution and the food took over an hour to come

R
Rankin
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience5

The restaurant has very cozy modern atmosphere. The food is properly portioned. An appetizer and a main course will defiantly satisfy your stomach. The flavour and taste are well balanced. Not a single ingredient or flavour dominates or overwhelms the entire dish. Every ingredient exist in harmony with each other and renders a peaceful yet exciting sensation for the customer. Making this restaurant worthy of a second visit.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall4Food3Service5Ambience5

It was good experience for a date

FS
FaridaS
New England
9 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2021
Overall4Food4Service3Ambience4

Our server was slightly disoriented during the meal - it took more than 20 mins after being seated for someone to come over and take the order. I’ve eaten at Sud Forno before so I know the ambiance and food are good but overall service was slow leaving us a little disappointed.

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Sud Forno using the Order Online button. Sud Forno also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (416) 955-1100.

Sud Forno is rated 4.3 stars by 594 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.