The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - St. James

4.6
1190 reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
Steakhouse
Following provincial Covid restrictions, all guests dining together inside must be from the same household unless all are fully vaccinated. ID will need to be provided on arrival.

The Keg Steakhouse and Bar serves the finest cuts of succulent steak, aged for tenderness and grilled to perfection. Prime rib is a Keg specialty, slow roasted, hand carved and perfectly seasoned with special Keg spices. The restaurant also serves delicious seafood, memorable appetizers, crisp salads and decadent desserts. A casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse and Bar. You will find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and up-scale bar setting where guests can enjoy an excellent wine list, signature Keg martinis, and fresh squeezed juice cocktails.

Takeout From The Keg
Visit our website to learn more and order now, or copy and paste this link: www.kegsteakhouse.com/en/takeout.

Support The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - St. James during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1190 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
Food
4.7
Service
4.4
Ambience
4.3
Value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
RF
RonF
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall3Food4Service4Ambience4

we were celebrating our 35th Wedding Anniversary. Unfortunately the table behind us had an infant who was fussy and crying through out most of our time there. the restaurant wasn't very full. it's unfortunate the patrons at the restaurant weren't spread out a bit more.

JK
JonK
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall2Food1Service1Ambience3

my first steak was over cooked and my second steak was under cooked. worst meal i have ever had at the keg and will not come back to this location ever.

PH
PatriciaH
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

My hubby and I always choose the Keg for our anniversary and last night was nbo different. We loved the food and our server Chelsey was the sweetest young woman!!!!

GE
GEORGEW
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall3Food3Service4Ambience3

Our server (Jason) was very personable and attentive.

WF
WinnipegFoody
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

During my last few visits, the Keg St. James has consistently had better service and better quality steaks than the "fancy" Winnipeg steakhouse street address namesake, which is supposedly in a class they don't even compete with. Now, when given a choice, it's the Keg first!

JC
JasmineC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our waiter “Nathan” was the best! gave us good service & made sure we got what we needed, especially to check up on us and made jokes which made the table have positive energy

CR
CrownRoyals44
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

you can always count on the food at The Keg!
Exceptional Service!!

f
vipfoodie4life89
Las Vegas
9 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We had a great time our server was fantastic

S
debbieS
Manitoba
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2Food5Service5Ambience2

Tables are far too close given covid. Covid is transferable by fully vaccinated people. I believe ur not following public health order of social distancing. Need to fix that ASAP. Our server was lovely

C
Cheers123
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3Food3Service2Ambience2

It was adequate. Haven't been out in awhile and I felt bombarded with the id and vaccination card. They were not very friendly. I mentioned it was our anniversary in the booking but nothing was noted .. and food was a bit salty for my taste. We were stuck in a small table with little space with no options of where to sit. It was ok but I'd rather eat In I think.

KD
KelvinD
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience3

We didn’t want to sit in the lounge, when asked if we could sit in dining area we were told that wouldn’t be possible. I think it would have been possible!

WB
WandaB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

All employees were very courteous and looked like they enjoyed their job as smiling. Our meal was delicious and promptly served. Waitress was very diligent about waiting on us and checked if we needed anything else. Great experience. The noise level was a little high but was busy so could account for that & large group next to us.

W
Wpgwilly
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We found their steaks were well seasoned and cooked as requested.

SK
SherryK
Manitoba
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Enjoyed a wonderful evening out at the St.James Keg! Emily - our server- read our needs perfectly - two friends catching up after not seeing each other for a long time! We were never rushed, food and wine were delivered in a nice fashion! Even though she was also serving another large group she was very attentive to ur needs. We both had prime rib and - as always - cooked to perfection!

C
Connor
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great food server was great and provided us with quality service and was always checking and seeing how we were doing.

S
Sharic
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent service. Corey got me my Steakhouse Salad! YAY! It was excellent as always. Thank you ☺️

AW
AndrewW
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

So great to be back. As usual it was wonderful. Extra special after such a long hiatus.

ML
MartialL
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience5

You can’t go wrong at the Keg. It’s a bit expensive but you get good food and service.

DB
DianneB
Manitoba
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2Food5Service5Ambience3

FOOD IS FABULOUS!!!!!

HOWEVER . . . This is the 2nd time in less than 2 months that we made a reservation thru OpenTable, and both were disappointing results. Both times our "special requests" were ignored. Both times requests were clearly stated info regarding birthday events, and then on the 2nd visit, was the added info regarding a handicap person's needs, and yet no action taken. We drew attention to ourselves, in an unwanted way for the disabled person (my mom), who was hugely embarrassed by this, and on her birthday. MOST DISAPPOINTING!! The noise level is really quite high at peak times.

PO
PatO
Manitoba
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

great manager there was a bit of a hiccup and we were not served right away, however the manager made it right and was outstanding service.

R
Randy
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

We found the noise level very high, which is OK if you are in that party. Maybe have a quiter section of the restaurant, or when booking have an place to ask for a quit area.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience4

Our need for a quieter table was accommodated. Plus, the Fort prime rib served was returned with a much better option. This was huge for our guest who rarely gets beef in a care home. He was very pleased with the follow through.

c
cathyk
Manitoba
4 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2021
Overall3Food4Service2Ambience3

The food was delicious but we saw very little of our waiter. After he brought our food we didn't see him again till he asked if he could bring the bill. The waiter seem more interested in his tip then giving good service.

DH
DebraH
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was so convenient to be able to use Open Table to make a reservation. Loved that The Keg was taking COVID precautions seriously and it was so great to get back to eating at the restaurant. Food was great, quick but not rushed; service was just right.

WH
WendyH
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall5Food5Service4Ambience4

Great food, wonderful accommodating staff,very noisy.

CD
ChristineD
Manitoba
2 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our server Leah F was amazing. She recommended apppetizers that we’re very tasty. All staff wore masks and patrons were all very respectful of each other. I highly recommend this location if you’re planning on dinning out. You won’t be disappointed.

k
kenh
Manitoba
5 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall5Food4Service5Ambience5

As usual, a great dining experience.

C
Chay
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

The food and service was fantastic! Great value for what we paid. Will be back soon!

SD
ShelleyD
Manitoba
3 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall4Food4Service4Ambience4

Anniversary dinner. Good food and service but our section and table felt really cramped.

AK
AdeleK
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

We were seated immediately and when we asked for a larger table, we were accommodated easily. The waitress was fast, friendly and provided us with great service. The food was hot and tasted great.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

My daughter and myself enjoyed a thanksgiving meal together.
The food is fantastic as always however as far as value I do find it a bit overpriced considering the vegetables that are served with a steak and portion size.
Our server we have had before and unfortunately I cannot recall his name but he is consistently exceptional in the service he provides; he is attentive, personable and a gentleman.
We enjoyed our dining experience thoroughly!

CT
CassieT
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Great Food, Great service! Our server was great, especially with the kids!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Food was the correct temperature and well prepared… delicious!

RR
RaeleneR
Manitoba
21 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

What a marvelous experience tonight out Server Emily was such an amazing person, she really made our dinner complete.

C
Charlotte
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

It was nice to see Jamie again and she recognized us from last time! We always tend to book for an earlier meal to avoid the rush times and it is such a delight. We tried the cheese toast for the first time and it was just amazing, so buttery and flavourful! Our steaks were as perfect as always, it is our favourite place to go whether for a special occasion or just a nice date night!

KL
KarenL
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience4

Steak and lobster!
Server was really nice.
Downside, drinks were too watered down, also, server didn't bother checking if customers need refills.

UPDATE: October 14, 2021: Restaurant manager, Tracy Winter called and emailed me saying she would like to speak with me regarding the review I provided. I was initially impressed knowing that they do take time to read reviews provided by their customers and go out of their way to contact the customer. But turned out to be the opposite. Post review is very disappointing. If you only mean to berate the customer instead of hearing them out to see how you could improve your service and products, please do not bother calling or reaching out anymore. My initial review was good. But the way you handled the review you received was totally disappointing. I paid the food my kids and I ate in your restaurant. For you to contest what I have wrote on the review and made it looked like I was not telling the truth when I said that we had to wait despite booking in advance was so obnoxious. Managers should exemplify to the staff how to provide good customer service. Not showing them how to clap back to the customer when you received below par review. You should take the reviews as "Objective criticisms" and not attack customer for telling the truth about their experience in your establishment.
I even thank you for the slice of cake my son received because it was his birthday when we dinned in the restaurant. My kids enjoyed the food. But your action is a huge backlash. You were rude. I paid for our bill in full, but you were so rude. Hope it makes you feel good.

JL
JenniferL
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Excellent meal. Excellent service. We look forward to our next meal there.

RR
RizaR
Manitoba
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Our experience at the Keg has been so great! It’s always been great food and service. Our server Chelsea accommodated all our requests and management gave us discount for our appetizers which is very nice. We will always consider The Keg as our number 1 fine dining restaurant to celebrate our ocassions.

JM
JMSM
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2021
Overall4Food5Service5Ambience4

We had made dinner reservations. We enjoyed our indoor seating and the reception. Staff were extremely efficient and courteous. The food was exactly as we ordered and the service was excellent. We witnessed a table being cleared and cleaned in preparation for the next guests and the protocols in effect. Our server was the greatest for friendliness and suggestions. We thank everyone for making us feel we were special to and including our departure. We will return without hesitation.

JH
JenniferH
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5Food5Service5Ambience5

Dryden and Alex were amazing at the bar top. Excellent food

FAQs

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - St. James is rated 4.6 stars by 1190 OpenTable diners.

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - St. James does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.kegsteakhouse.com/en/gift-cards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - St. James