The Lookout Restaurant at Gray Monk
Live Music on Friday and Saturday nights! Find Gray Monk on Facebook for details.
Our indoor dining room is open year round with lake views from every table.
We do our best to accommodate our guest's requests, however we cannot guarantee a table on our patio.
The appetizer burrata salad was excellent; however the chicken was very dry. It’s hit and miss.
The Lookout still has the best views of Lake Okanagan in the Okanagan.
In the top 2-3 dining experiences in the Okanagan. Food quality and presentation was superb.
Thank you for the 5 star review! I'm delighted that we were able to offer a top dining experience for you. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Stopped in for a light lunch. Had a glass of wine, soup and calamari. Everything was great! Very nice view looking over the lake. Patio would be nice in the summertime.
Hi Kris, Thanks for taking the time to leave us 5 stars. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
We live very close and love the winery. Since spring of 19 when the new chef was brought in the restaurant has been terrible. We have brought friends and family there and this was our third disappointing meal there since he started. Our valentines experience was the same. This chef has no idea what he’s doing and we will not be returning as long as he remains. My wife’s meal was a disaster (they comped the meal completely). Her starter was a fish of some sort that came cold and so hard that she could not cut it. Then she ordered halibut which was over breaded and really just a poor meal all round. The wine is fantastic, the service was great and the band they had playing was terrific. The food for the third time in a row spanning over many months was terrible. We eat out more than we should and at very nice restaurants, if this restaurant wants to survive among all of the amazing wineries, they need to change their chef. We are not the only ones that feel this way thru conversations with neighbours, Grey Monk is losing patrons rapidly.
Hello - Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the music and service despite your wife's meal not living up to your expectations. I assure you we that strive to deliver top quality food and I'm disappointed that we did not deliver on this visit. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, I'd welcome any input you might have. I can be reached at 250-766-3168 x3. Sincerely, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Great live music for Valentines, over and above service.
Thanks for the 4 Star review! Until next time, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
The view can’t be beat. The meal itself was excellent. However there were a few little things lacking. It was Valentine’s Day and you wouldn’t know it by the decor. Black table clothes and napkins could have been sprinkled with confetti hearts to dress things up. A flower or 2 on the tables would have helped as well. Soup served with spoons arriving later? Candles lit well into the dinner.
All little things. But when you pay top dollar you expect the little things.
Hi Doug, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the meal and the view! We will take your suggestions into consideration for next year. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Our dinner at Outlook was to help celebrate my 80th birthday. From our arrival to our departure, every aspect of our time there was totally enjoyable.
Our server (Cara) was friendly, professional and carried out her duties in a manner that does great credit to the Outlook.
We will be back.
Hello Sandy, I'm so happy that you had an excellent birthday with us. I will be sure to pass on to Kara how well her service was. Until next time, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Hi Tara, I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
It was lovely. Next time we will reserve for later as the live music would be a definite plus.
Thanks for the 5 star review! Please do join us again for one of our our live music nights! Check facebook for a list of events. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
The food, wine and service were in the top 5% in my experience. We will definitely be back. My new favourite restaurant in the Kelowna area.
Thanks for the 5 star review. I'm glad you had an excellent experience. Sincerely, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Music was great but a little loud & we had trouble talking to each other. We asked to reduce volume.
Hi Wayne, Thanks for taking the time to leave a note about your experience. I'm glad we were able to adjust the volume for you. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Even on a gray winters day the view and service, wine and food put a big smile on our faces!! The Dine Around Menu is a tremendous value dollar wise while providing delicious taste options. No skimping there!! Wonderful experience!
Hi Patti, Thanks for taking the time to leave us 5 stars ! I'm glad you enjoyed our dine around menu. Until next time, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Great food and great service. The jazz combo was very difficult to talk over so that was not a plus. The room is pleasant and airy but not necessarily warm. On that note, sitting near the big windows on a cold winter's night meant the chills. We look forward to returning as long as there is no band playing.
Hi Steve, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It did get a little cold in our dining room during that cold snap and we are working towards keeping it warm for future winter weather! I apologize if you found the live music too loud, we do try and keep it at a comfortable volume but I will note your comments. Thanks for the 4 stars, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Awesome healthy food
A cozy setting on a wintry evening in the Okanagan
Hi Louise, Thanks for the great review! See you next time, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
The food, our server and the live music was excellent.
Thank you for the 5 star review. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
This was our second visit here. We stopped for Lunch with our daughter and her boyfriend. Food was very good(except for apple pie that was substandard. Crust was soggy and cold and should never have been allowed out of the kitchen)
The rest of the food was very tasty and the server was attentive and friendly. The view is amazing!
We would return.
Nice venue, Sherman Doucette trio was the live music. They were great, there’s even room to dance - which we did. The menu is limited, which is fine but grossly overpriced - for the appetizers especially - but most importantly, the food was not very good. The mixed greens salad starter ($16) had a mushy layer of cheese below (was that supposed to be feta?) the limp greens and a non descriptive dressing...chicken paprikash Entree bland, the charcuterie board was ok - I think the salami was your typical packaged fare from Superstore...this is where you hope local cured meats might have been showcased. I want to go back because Lake Country has so few dining choices..but...it must be tough for an establishment with a focus on wine production to switch gears and put out good delicious unpretentious local fare...but isn’t it a good fit and wouldn’t it be nice? So often I’ve been disappointed at wineries and instead stick to The Cactus Club or similar. Heavy sigh.
The Lookout is in an awesome location that I look forward to experiencing in the Spring/Summer. The food needs some fine tuning to a more international vibe. The staff were very warm and helpful. The music was awesome.
Hi Grant Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the live music! Look for more performers in 2020. Happy Holidays, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
We had lunch on Dec. 14th and the meal was fabulous. Our waitress was super friendly, really informative and really helpful. She explained every dish, gave us background on the chef and updates on the restaurant. She didn't rush our long overdue visit with my brother and was super efficient. The ambiance was beautiful with a terrific view.
Hi Bird, Thanks for the 5 stars! I'm glad our service and setting helped make a memorable visit. Happy Holidays, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Service was excellent, food was wonderful . We enjoyed the music, however as background music it was to loud to have an enjoyable conversation.
Hi Karl, Thanks for the 5 star review and feedback on the live music volume. Happy Holidays, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
We dined at The Lookout on a Friday evening to enjoy the beautiful live music. Great vibe, terrific service, wonderful meal (chicken paprikash and the sable fish) and of course the wine and an amazing pumpkin cheesecake for dessert. Loved it and will definitely be back.
Hi Brenda, Thanks for the 5 star review! Happy Holidays, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Poppa Dawg was playing and he was fantastic!!! Made the night.
Not many people there which is something I hate in a restaurant - no atmosphere. Service was friendly but marginal. Most of the service staff seemed to arrive towards the end of our meal and close to the end if the night’s music which I found weird. I had the chicken dish which I thought was a chicken dish but it turned out to be chicken pasta dish. Again odd! My husband’s duck main course was really good. He had calamari for a starter - wouldn’t order again - pub food. I had burrata and tomato starter. Nice but didn’t need the prosciutto it came with - turned a light fresh appetizer into something else. Portion was also too large.
Now to my real pet peeve - we finished our appetizer and about 30 seconds later our main course arrived!!!! Amateurish.
Do not likely to go for dinner again but for lunch in the summer for the view.
Poppa Dawg made our night - big thumbs down otherwise.
The ambience and live music was awesome. Really good service. Unfortunately the food was not what was expected at all. We both had pasta and it was bland and not well put together.
Our dinner was fresh and delicious. It was pleasantly served in a timely manner. We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment as well, the Rowdymen never disappoint!
Great place to eat good food and listen to live music. Loved the band. The wine is also fantastic.
The two entrees that we ordered were both $30 plus. Definitely not worth the price. Nothing special.
While the menu sounded great, the food was bland. We had the striploin, which in itself was ok, but everything else was tasteless. I actually had to ask for salt so I could get the food down. Dont know if this was just a bad day for the kitchen, or if the actual recipe is so tasteless. The wine was good though, so at least they know how to make that!
Very quiet time of year. Beautiful vista. Indoor dining now it is October. A friend's birthday, they had never experienced Gray Monk. A complimentary glass of Rosé bubbly. A little wine tasting, a few purchases. Good day!
Hello & thank you for the 5 star review. I'm glad you and your guests got to enjoy the beauty of autumn at Gray Monk! Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Great meal with awesome service.
Thanks for the 5 star review! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience. Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Service was excellent. Flank steak was overdone and three of our party ordered it.
Hi Lori, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I regret that you felt that your Flank Steak was overdone and I wish your concerns had been brought to a managers attention at the time you visited. If you wish to discuss your experience further I can be reached at 250-766-3168 x. 3. Sincerely, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Very nice, excellent service and cool location. We fund the food here is always great.
Hello Cynthia, Thanks for the 4 stars! Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
It was a lovely Thanksgiving dinner, however we felt quite rushed through it particularly when we asked for them to wait while we have our happy hour drink first. First course arrived just after our drinks, wine arrived after the main course was delivered. It was busy, and these are small things, but are remembered. Yes, I would go back.
Hello, Thanks for joining us for Thanksgiving. I apologize if you feel that you were rushed! We were a full house on Sunday night, trying to operate as smoothly as possible and I imagine your server didn't want you table getting lost in the queue - with so many other tables in the restaurant. I recognize that the timing on the small things is important. If you wish to discuss your experience further, I can be reached at 250-766-3168 x 3. Sincerely, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
As always, absolutely a wonderful experience and such a beautiful view.
Hi Gregory, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 Star review! Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Really special place. Great views. Great food. The whole experience topped off by lovely service
Hello Stuart, Thank you for leaving a 5 star review! I'm glad you had such an excellent experience. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Was a great experience, nice view, good food, very nice and kind staff!
Hello Luc, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Excellent view and very nice ambience for a relaxing Sunday lunch with good friends. Duck Confit was exceptional and everyone was raving about their experience. Highly recommended!
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review! I'm glad you enjoyed you lunch the Duck Confit is also my favourite. Cheers, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
Love the Lookout Restaurant and Winery at Gray Monk. Always dine here when visiting Kelowna, BC.
Hi Sandie, Thanks for the 5 star review! We'll see you next time, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
One of our favorite places to go for a special lunch. We always bring friends from out of town when they visit.
Hi Ken, Thanks for the review! I'm glad to hear that you keep us in mind for special occasions. Cheers! Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
In the summer it’s a great spot because of the lake. The duck was good but the rest of the party had the cheese and meat board and that was disappointing. It wasn’t worth the money.
Hello Annabel, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed the view and the Duck Confit - excellent choice. Our share boards showcase local cheese makers, BC meats and Okanagan produce. I'm sorry if they didn't live up to your expectations. Hope to see you again, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager
The food was extremely mediocre. The mussels were small and tasteless and the fries we barely warm. And the service was extremely slow.
Hello Randy, I'm so sorry to hear that your time with us didn't live up to the expectations we hope to set at The Lookout. I regret that your concerns over the quality of the food wasn't brought to a manager's attention at the time you visited. If you're willing to chat more about your experience, I'd be interested in hearing you out. I can be reached at 1-250-766-3168 x. 3. Sincerely, Michaela Senkiw Restaurant Manager