Verses Restaurant

4.0
651 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French
Top tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Verses Bistro offers a sophisticated and accessible contemporary cuisine.

Inspired by Montreal's eclectic gastronomic scene, the menu offers comforting dishes showcasing local products.No matter the season, Verses Bistro showcases what local merchants have to offer. Hence, freshness is the essential ingredient in each plate.
What 651 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
Food
4.2
Service
4.1
Ambience
3.8
Value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
RK
Chicago
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent food and service! Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Old Montreal.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on June 1, 2019

Thank you very much for the nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us!

Report
Helpful
LR
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 2

Le service était lent soit-disant ils ont reçu un gros groupe, alors qu’il y avait encore des tables vides. Je ne retournerai pas à ce resto. Par contre, on a adoré Méchant bœuf

Verses Restaurant
Responded on May 27, 2019

Bonsoir Laura, Nous sommes évidemment déçu que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre visite au Verses. Malgré le fait qu'il y avait quelques tables vides, vous êtes en effet arrivé pendant le service d'un gros groupe de 40. Le service a été long, vous avez raison. C'est pourquoi je vous ai offert la tournée d'apéritifs et que je ne vous ai pas chargé les frais de coupe de gâteau! Les ajustements seront fait croyez moi. Hâte de vous revoir au MB! Merci, David Duchesne Directeur, Bistro Verses

Report
Helpful
RL
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Belle ambiance, personnel courtois, nourriture excellente.

Report
Helpful
OT
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 4

Lovely Mother's Day brunch...corner table...welcoming staff...interesting and tasty menu!

Report
Helpful
RC
Montreal
1 review
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 2Ambience 2

C'est un attrape-touristes. La cuisine était médiocre, sans aucune imagination.

Report
Helpful
R
Montreal
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful service. Beautiful plating. Most of our dishes were excellent. The burger was good but not great. Maître D very welcoming. In and out in time for the a show at the Centaur ! Definitely recommended.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on May 1, 2019

Rosemary, It was a pleasure to welcome you before your night out at the Centaur! I'm glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed your experience at Verses! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
Helpful
OT
Montreal
1 review
Dined on April 26, 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

Restaurant à gaffe, presque tout les plat nous été donné par erreur, mais le service était supérieur à la moyenne des restos.
Nourriture de qualité moyenne à un prix élevé

Verses Restaurant
Responded on May 1, 2019

Bonjour, Désolé de lire que votre expérience n'ait pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes! Vous pouvez être certain que nous ferons un suivi avec notre équipe pour savoir ce qui s'est passé. Je suis cependant content de voir que le service vous a plu, mais aller au restaurant, c'est un tout: nourriture, service, ambiance. Nous ferons tout en notre possible pour réajuster le tir. Au plaisir de vous revoir je l'espère, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
Helpful
H
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Lovely venue - delicious Easter Brunch, beautifully presented. I asked for a quiet corner, and also had to change the time and number of guests at the last minute - both requests were accommodated despite it being a busy day for the restaurant. Service was a little slow at first but the tables were all full and possibly not enough serving staff so the ones that were there were working flat out. All staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Enjoyed our celebratory brunch!

Report
Helpful
KH
New England
7 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 4

We came on our stop in Montreal for Easter brunch. The menu was extremely limited. My son ordered the bagel, and it was literally the size of his thumb. Our service was extremely slow, coffee was sporadic, and two tables next to us had to get up and asked the waitress for their check. The desert selection was mediocre at best, with my vanilla banana cupcake tasting like fish oil. Our bill for four people came to $160, and we didn’t have any alcohol.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

KristinH, Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will make the appropriate follow up with our team to see what happened that day. We want to give every guests a 5* experience and I'm very dissapointed that it wasn't the case with your table. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
Helpful
B
Montreal
3 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Charmant bistro pour le brunch de Pâques

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Merci pour votre commentaire! Au plaisir de vous revoir!

Report
Helpful
OT
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Excellent service. Très bonne qualité de nourriture.

Report
Helpful
D
1 review
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Repas excellent à tous points de vue. Service souriant, discret, efficace, en un mot parfait.

Seul léger bémol (mais c'est une question de goût personnel): le fond "musical" un peu trop fort par moment et d'un genre qui ne me paraît pas adapté aux lieux. Mais c'est très subjectif...

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Bonjour Denali88, Merci d'avoir partager votre expérience au Verses! Bien heureux d'apprendre que vous avez passé du bon temps avec nous! J'en prend note pour la musique. À bientôt j'espère!

Report
Helpful
E
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

The Easter brunch food was good however spare. We had to send our poaeggs back as one was hard boiled. The food was cold. The dessert table was not well stocked.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Dear Edcm3333, Thanks for sharing you experience with us. I'm sorry to read that we didn't totally reach your expectation. I'm glad we corrected the problem with the poached eggs. It is however unacceptable that your food was cold. You can rest assure that we will do everything in our power to correct this unfortunate problem. Hopefully, you can look beyond this very unusual situation and give us another chance. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
Helpful
AC
Toronto
80 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 4

Too much time in between dishes. Service very slow. Ok overall.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Dear AlexC, Thank you for sharing you experience at Verses. We are aiming for a lot more for a score of 3* or Ok overall. For this reason, I would need more information to make sure that we correct what happened on your visit. Besides taking too long between dishes, how was the food? What did you order? If we would've known you didn't want to take your time like most of our guests, it would've been our pleasure to put a ''rush'' on your order. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
Helpful
T
Montreal
14 reviews
Dined on April 18, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Tartare was delicious and nice service

Report
Helpful
OT
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on April 13, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

So good and beautiful presentations of foods that are memorable. We ate so well and had a great conversation time too. Nothing like being wowed with friends who are not easy to be wowed. Thank you

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 14, 2019

Thank you so much for the nice review. So happy that you and your guests were wowed! This is the reason why we do this. I'll be sure to show this review to our team so that we can keep this up and continue to wow peope! Be sure to come back and visit us soon. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
Helpful
HH
1 review
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We love it at Verses. It was our 2nd time there. Food was delicious (although my sole and scallops had a very salty chipotle). Besides that, everything was perfect💕

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 14, 2019

Hey Hope! Glad that you enjoyed your experience at Verses! We will check with the kitchen staff to see what might have happened on your last visit and correct the seasonning. Looking forward to your next visit! David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 4

Great food!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Superbe expérience en tout points!! J’y retournerai avec grand plaisir!

Report
Helpful
H
Montreal
1 review
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

Very nice atmosphere and location but the food and the service were not up to par with the price

Verses Restaurant
Responded on March 9, 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Verse Bistro. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed the atmoshphere. Here at Verses we aim to give all our guests nothing but top quality service and food, I'm dissapointed to hear you did not feel we delievered that. I hope you'll come back and give us a second chance to serve and wow you! Thank you Jennifer Pintar Verses Bistro Restaurant Director

Report
Helpful
SL
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 3

C'etait ma meilleure soirée.. Bon restaurant sur tous les plans ( nourritures, acceuil et l'endroit) je le recommande fortement pour les familles et les couples.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on February 25, 2019

Bonjour Sarra, Merci beaucoup d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire et pour votre belle recommandation. C'est a cause d'une clientèle fidèle comme vous qu'on est capable de continuer a faire ce qu'on aime a tous les jours. Au plaisir de vous revoir! Jennifer Pintar Directrice Verses Bistro

Report
Helpful
SV
Montreal
3 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Absolutely - Excellent!! Exceeding my expectations :D

Verses Restaurant
Responded on February 22, 2019

Hello Stephanie, Here at Verses Bistro we pride ourselves on our detailed and personalized service. Im so happy to hear we lived up to our standards and exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future! Jennifer Pintar Restaurant Director

Report
Helpful
DS
Montreal
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

j ai passer une excellente soirée de st-valentin, serveur attentif ainsi que le personnel en général.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on February 22, 2019

Bonjour Danielle, Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous écrire. Je suis très contente d'entendre de votre belle soirée d’amoureux pour la St-Valentin. Je vais passer vos beaux mots a l'équipe et les féliciter de votre part. Au plaisir! Jennifer Pintar Directrice Verses Bistro

Report
Helpful
S
Montreal
4 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

The service was a bit slow, but the food was tasty. We didn’t really like the dessert.

Report
Helpful
DD
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Une super première expérience! La nourriture était divine et le service attentionné et courtois. Un très bel endroit pour manger dans le Vieux-Port.
Un bel avantage: de bonnes portions, autant pour la nourriture que pour les boissons.

Report
Helpful
MM
1 review
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 5Ambience 3

Thé foid was okay. Thé service was excellent. But that’s about it

Report
Helpful
A
1 review
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 3Ambience 4

The worst meal I have had in the last 3 years. My friend and I ordered 2 brunches and a poutine. Our first visit there and It turned out that the food was literally fries. When we ordered, the waitress didn't remind us that the your brunch was practically a plate of fries and let us add another plate of fries. And when it comes to the flavor, YUCK. The only flavor I could taste from the food was salt, too salty. We were recommended to go try your place by our app group, and I am sorry I have to say the same to our members.

Report
Helpful
LP
Montreal
12 reviews
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Hands down my favourite restaurant in Old Montreal. Always impeccable, delicious, creative and did I mention delicious?!

Report
Helpful
AB
Montreal
1 review
Dined on February 3, 2019
Overall 3Food 1Service 3Ambience 3

We just aren't cool enough to appreciate the alternative food menu - didn't enjoy the food, but the coffee was nice.

Report
Helpful
FO
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 3Ambience 4

The seafood chowder portion was disappointing, but not as disappointing as its taste, as it was completely lacking flavour and depth. The presence of canned corn was also especially a turn off.

The mousse de canard was alright, but was served with a small portion of what seemed like canned cranberry sauce, which brought the sophistication of the plate down considerably.

The sea bass was good, but the portion of purée de courge muskée left much to be desired, especially if it was featured in the title of the dish.

The pasta with beef cheek was good, but was quite conservative in terms of quantity in relation to the pasta.

Overall, the night was good but a bit of a let down. My girlfriend had been to this establishment before, and had a very positive experience with good food. Now, in the context of this "happening gourmand", we couldn't help but feel as though the standard was lowered because of the discounted price.

Report
Helpful
BS
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 3Ambience 3

We had made reservations and didn't get our table until 30 min later. We were expected to be somewhere else after dinner and we had to rush out to make it. The waiter was very nice, they offered us cocktails for our patience but service was really slow. Food was A-MA-ZING!

Report
Helpful
BH
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Fine service and great food, nicely presented, but they allowed a very loud and boisterous table to go on unchecked for at least a half hour

Report
Helpful
NG
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We went for the Happening Gourmand on a Saturday night. The service was impeccable, the atmosphere very relaxed if a bit noisy but then the place was packed. The food was excellent, the portions just big enough and very tasty. Would definitely return in the summer to see their rooftop terrace.

Report
Helpful
M
Montreal
3 reviews
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 2Food 4Service 3Ambience 1

Ate at your restaurant before and had an excellent service and experience. This time arounf the table beside us was loud and obnoxious. I felt we were at an episode of occupation double. Staff finally told the table to calm down , but it was too late we were leaving. Too bad it ruined my wife’s birthday supper

Report
Helpful
Z
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellente cuisine personnel affable courtois j’ai adoré le choix des mets copieux

Report
Helpful
CT
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

C’était une première fois et j’y retournerais sans hésiter!

Report
Helpful
HP
Montreal
1 review
Dined on February 2, 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 2Ambience 4

Le service était trop rapide pas de temps entre les plats. Il n’y avait quasiment pas de viande dans les paradelles a la joue de bœuf

Report
Helpful
S
Montreal
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

Aucun des plats n'étaient chaud!!!!!!! Ce qui est bizarre ni la chaudrée qui devrait être fumante. Les femmes à côté ont retourné leurs plats. Nous de même!

Report
Helpful
K
Montreal
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 2

Meh expected better cuisine better service too. It was not worth the price but was ok. Restaurant manager was the best part. She took care of us by bringing a nice apéro

Report
Helpful
OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on January 26, 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 1Ambience 3

My reservation was at 9, I was told to sit at the bar at -9:30 I asked the status and the hostess said she didn't know I was there

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17

Tweets by Verses Restaurant

null