Verses Restaurant

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
668 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary French
Verses Bistro offers a sophisticated and accessible contemporary cuisine.

Inspired by Montreal's eclectic gastronomic scene, the menu offers comforting dishes showcasing local products.No matter the season, Verses Bistro showcases what local merchants have to offer. Hence, freshness is the essential ingredient in each plate.
What 668 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
Food
4.1
Service
4.3
Ambience
4.1
Value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
DK
San Francisco
25 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great place in Old Town Monty. I looked at numerous places for brunch and Verses had great reviews. Hamburger was good and fries were excellent.

OT
Vancouver
5 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great location, view, and accommodated our seating request well

m
Montreal
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Excellent service, comme toujours. Nourriture était très bonne. Je souhaiterais cependant que la liste des vins soit plus longue (plus de choix), notamment dans les vins français (rouge et blanc)

Report
VP
Montreal
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Très bon restaurant avec service hors pair. Seul bémol la carte des desserts gagnerait à être retravaillée: peu de choix, pas vraiment alignée avec les plats.

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall 2Food 1Service 4Ambience 2

The food is a real disappointment. For 4 of us dining 2 of the choices were not available. My mussels arrived cold, flavourless, and ⅔ of the shells were empty. The meat was so well done - it was flavourless. Ketchup and mayonnaise arrived in packets. While we were not expecting fine dining - the whole experience was underwhelming. Really too bad.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on September 7, 2019

Good morning, I won't lie. I'm very dissapointed reading your review as I know that we are much better then what you are describing. I assure you, this is not a typical experience at our fine restaurant. We will be making the proper follow ups to make sure such experiences won't happen again. I am truly sorry about everything and I really hope that you can look beyond this very unusual experience and give us another try. Kind regards, David Duchesne General Manager, Verses Bistro

Report
OT
Naples
11 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 1Ambience 2

Terrible service

Verses Restaurant
Responded on September 4, 2019

Good morning, So sorry to read that you didn't get the 5* service that we train our staff to give. May I have more details on your visit as your review doesn't say a lot? What happened? Took a lot of time to be greated? Took a lot of time to get the food? Have a great week, David Duchesne Directeur, Verses Bistro

Report
BG
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great food, great service, good value, seated at larger table even thou only 2

Verses Restaurant
Responded on September 7, 2019

Hey Brian! Thanks for the nice review. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at Verses Bistro. Looking forward to your next visit. Have a great weekend, David Duchesne General Manager, Verses Bistro

Report
S
New York Area
40 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

We loved our brunch--beautiful, delicious drinks; great tasty food; and warm, friendly staff.

A
Montreal
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Excellent repas, portions adéquates et dessert succulent. Service courtois. Excellente localisation dans le vieux Montréal.

Report
RM
Los Angeles
6 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

Although I dined at the restaurant, the restaurant inexplicably canceled my reservation, so I did not get the benefit of earning points -- even though I dined there. NOTE - I called prior to my reservation time to inform the restaurant that I would be 15 minutes late. The manager stated it should be no problem. Obviously, that wasn't the case as they canceled my reservation, didn't tell me, but still took my money. And $12 for valet parking. The service was inattentive, we asked for a Brandy Alexander for my mother that would more aptly be called a Water Alexander, considering how watered-down it was, and the crepes my mother were served had the consistency and flavor of cardboard. When we asked for additional syrup to enhance the crepe experience, we were told by one of the servers that this would cost more money. Huh?? Great location that suffers greatly due to serious lack of attention to important details.

L
Chicago
9 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful atmosphere and terrific food! Wait staff is pleasant and accommodating.

S
Montreal
6 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 3Ambience 5

Bon restaurant - qualité-prix. Beau décor, bien situé. Plat savoureux, belles présentations. Bel endroit pour souper entre amis/famille

Verses Restaurant
Responded on August 7, 2019

Bonjour! Selon vous, qu'aurions nous pu faire pour se mériter le 5*? Vos commentaires sont super importants. Nous cherchons toujours des façons de s'améliorer :) Merci, David Duchesne Directeur, Verses Bistro

Report
LT
1 review
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

I ordered oysters and they came with red peppers and some smelly green. Oysters were of good quality but the broth and the peppers and the green spoiled the taste. The pate we ordered as appetizer was nothing to write home about. My wife ordered octopus dish and it was way overcooked. Service was rushed.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on August 7, 2019

Hello LenT. I think you are talking about the mussels as we don't serve oysters... You could've asked for your dish to be without peppers and cilantro (smelly green) as all the ingredients are listed on the menu. It is one of our most popular dish but we can accomodate special requests without any problem. Did you let your waiter or floor manager know about your dissatisfaction? We would've been more then happy to let you order something else! Very sorry you did not enjoy your experience.

Report
SL
1 review
Dined on July 23, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We were a table of 10 and I believe everyone was more than happy with the diner they had and the quality of the service/staff was just impeccable! Great food, very nice selection and a very good value. I definitely recommend and will return.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on July 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the nice review. Really happy that you enjoyed your experience at Verses Bistro. Looking forward to your next visit! Have a great weekend :) David Duchesne Director, Verses Bistro

Report
E
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on July 12, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

The main entrees were excellent as was the wine. The service was unacceptable.

JC
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 2

Having been to this restaurant many times before our expectation was a quiet , romantic dinner in an upscale restaurant with amazing food and service.
Obviously we did not realize that they had changed the restaurant to a more moderate , casual style restaurant so we were very disappointed.
Waiters in jeans and casualware contributed to our disappointment.
We wont be going back

Verses Restaurant
Responded on July 14, 2019

Hello JeffreyC. I'm really sorry you feel this way about the changes that have been made in the last year. We decided to take the classic french bistro route. So far, the response is really, really good! However, we are aware that these changes won't make everyone happy. I sincerely hope that you come and visit us again :) Have a great week!

Report
m
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Nice dinner in the hotel on a rainy night

RK
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Excellent food and service! Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Old Montreal.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on June 1, 2019

Thank you very much for the nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us!

Report
LR
1 review
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 2

Le service était lent soit-disant ils ont reçu un gros groupe, alors qu’il y avait encore des tables vides. Je ne retournerai pas à ce resto. Par contre, on a adoré Méchant bœuf

Verses Restaurant
Responded on May 27, 2019

Bonsoir Laura, Nous sommes évidemment déçu que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre visite au Verses. Malgré le fait qu'il y avait quelques tables vides, vous êtes en effet arrivé pendant le service d'un gros groupe de 40. Le service a été long, vous avez raison. C'est pourquoi je vous ai offert la tournée d'apéritifs et que je ne vous ai pas chargé les frais de coupe de gâteau! Les ajustements seront fait croyez moi. Hâte de vous revoir au MB! Merci, David Duchesne Directeur, Bistro Verses

Report
RL
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Belle ambiance, personnel courtois, nourriture excellente.

Report
OT
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 4

Lovely Mother's Day brunch...corner table...welcoming staff...interesting and tasty menu!

RC
Montreal
1 review
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 2Ambience 2

C'est un attrape-touristes. La cuisine était médiocre, sans aucune imagination.

Report
R
Montreal
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Wonderful service. Beautiful plating. Most of our dishes were excellent. The burger was good but not great. Maître D very welcoming. In and out in time for the a show at the Centaur ! Definitely recommended.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on May 1, 2019

Rosemary, It was a pleasure to welcome you before your night out at the Centaur! I'm glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed your experience at Verses! Looking forward to seeing you again soon! David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
j
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined on April 26, 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

Restaurant à gaffe, presque tout les plat nous été donné par erreur, mais le service était supérieur à la moyenne des restos.
Nourriture de qualité moyenne à un prix élevé

Verses Restaurant
Responded on May 1, 2019

Bonjour, Désolé de lire que votre expérience n'ait pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes! Vous pouvez être certain que nous ferons un suivi avec notre équipe pour savoir ce qui s'est passé. Je suis cependant content de voir que le service vous a plu, mais aller au restaurant, c'est un tout: nourriture, service, ambiance. Nous ferons tout en notre possible pour réajuster le tir. Au plaisir de vous revoir je l'espère, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
H
Vancouver
4 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Lovely venue - delicious Easter Brunch, beautifully presented. I asked for a quiet corner, and also had to change the time and number of guests at the last minute - both requests were accommodated despite it being a busy day for the restaurant. Service was a little slow at first but the tables were all full and possibly not enough serving staff so the ones that were there were working flat out. All staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Enjoyed our celebratory brunch!

KH
New England
9 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 4

We came on our stop in Montreal for Easter brunch. The menu was extremely limited. My son ordered the bagel, and it was literally the size of his thumb. Our service was extremely slow, coffee was sporadic, and two tables next to us had to get up and asked the waitress for their check. The desert selection was mediocre at best, with my vanilla banana cupcake tasting like fish oil. Our bill for four people came to $160, and we didn’t have any alcohol.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

KristinH, Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will make the appropriate follow up with our team to see what happened that day. We want to give every guests a 5* experience and I'm very dissapointed that it wasn't the case with your table. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
B
Montreal
3 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Charmant bistro pour le brunch de Pâques

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Merci pour votre commentaire! Au plaisir de vous revoir!

Report
OT
Montreal
2 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Excellent service. Très bonne qualité de nourriture.

Report
D
1 review
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Repas excellent à tous points de vue. Service souriant, discret, efficace, en un mot parfait.

Seul léger bémol (mais c'est une question de goût personnel): le fond "musical" un peu trop fort par moment et d'un genre qui ne me paraît pas adapté aux lieux. Mais c'est très subjectif...

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Bonjour Denali88, Merci d'avoir partager votre expérience au Verses! Bien heureux d'apprendre que vous avez passé du bon temps avec nous! J'en prend note pour la musique. À bientôt j'espère!

Report
E
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

The Easter brunch food was good however spare. We had to send our poaeggs back as one was hard boiled. The food was cold. The dessert table was not well stocked.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Dear Edcm3333, Thanks for sharing you experience with us. I'm sorry to read that we didn't totally reach your expectation. I'm glad we corrected the problem with the poached eggs. It is however unacceptable that your food was cold. You can rest assure that we will do everything in our power to correct this unfortunate problem. Hopefully, you can look beyond this very unusual situation and give us another chance. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
AC
Toronto
89 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 4

Too much time in between dishes. Service very slow. Ok overall.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 27, 2019

Dear AlexC, Thank you for sharing you experience at Verses. We are aiming for a lot more for a score of 3* or Ok overall. For this reason, I would need more information to make sure that we correct what happened on your visit. Besides taking too long between dishes, how was the food? What did you order? If we would've known you didn't want to take your time like most of our guests, it would've been our pleasure to put a ''rush'' on your order. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
T
Montreal
19 reviews
Dined on April 18, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Tartare was delicious and nice service

OT
Chicago
6 reviews
Dined on April 13, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

So good and beautiful presentations of foods that are memorable. We ate so well and had a great conversation time too. Nothing like being wowed with friends who are not easy to be wowed. Thank you

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 14, 2019

Thank you so much for the nice review. So happy that you and your guests were wowed! This is the reason why we do this. I'll be sure to show this review to our team so that we can keep this up and continue to wow peope! Be sure to come back and visit us soon. Regards, David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
HH
1 review
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We love it at Verses. It was our 2nd time there. Food was delicious (although my sole and scallops had a very salty chipotle). Besides that, everything was perfect💕

Verses Restaurant
Responded on April 14, 2019

Hey Hope! Glad that you enjoyed your experience at Verses! We will check with the kitchen staff to see what might have happened on your last visit and correct the seasonning. Looking forward to your next visit! David Duchesne Maitre d'hôtel

Report
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 4Ambience 4

Great food!

OT
1 review
Dined on March 22, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Superbe expérience en tout points!! J’y retournerai avec grand plaisir!

Report
H
Montreal
1 review
Dined on March 3, 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

Very nice atmosphere and location but the food and the service were not up to par with the price

Verses Restaurant
Responded on March 9, 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Verse Bistro. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed the atmoshphere. Here at Verses we aim to give all our guests nothing but top quality service and food, I'm dissapointed to hear you did not feel we delievered that. I hope you'll come back and give us a second chance to serve and wow you! Thank you Jennifer Pintar Verses Bistro Restaurant Director

Report
SL
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 3

C'etait ma meilleure soirée.. Bon restaurant sur tous les plans ( nourritures, acceuil et l'endroit) je le recommande fortement pour les familles et les couples.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on February 25, 2019

Bonjour Sarra, Merci beaucoup d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire et pour votre belle recommandation. C'est a cause d'une clientèle fidèle comme vous qu'on est capable de continuer a faire ce qu'on aime a tous les jours. Au plaisir de vous revoir! Jennifer Pintar Directrice Verses Bistro

Report
SV
Montreal
3 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Absolutely - Excellent!! Exceeding my expectations :D

Verses Restaurant
Responded on February 22, 2019

Hello Stephanie, Here at Verses Bistro we pride ourselves on our detailed and personalized service. Im so happy to hear we lived up to our standards and exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future! Jennifer Pintar Restaurant Director

Report
DS
Montreal
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

j ai passer une excellente soirée de st-valentin, serveur attentif ainsi que le personnel en général.

Verses Restaurant
Responded on February 22, 2019

Bonjour Danielle, Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous écrire. Je suis très contente d'entendre de votre belle soirée d’amoureux pour la St-Valentin. Je vais passer vos beaux mots a l'équipe et les féliciter de votre part. Au plaisir! Jennifer Pintar Directrice Verses Bistro

Report
1
2
3
17

Tweets by Verses Restaurant