The Lake House

4.7
2209 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Canadian
Top tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
Perched directly above Lake Bonavista with large glass windows overlooking the lake, The Lake House is home to one of Calgary’s finest & most creative restaurants as well as a unique setting for private events & weddings. Exuding rustic elegance, the interior is illuminated with ornate elk antler chandeliers & a grand fireplace. Catching your eye when you enter is a glass encased wine cellar & a refurbished bar from the 1800’s, previously housed in a mercantile shop in Montana. Our wonderful location is complemented by Chef Thomas Neukom's celebrated Alberta Rocky Mountain cuisine. His offerings feature locally raised meats, game & vegetables from farmers & producers who share his vision for sustainable high quality & close to home cuisine. To augment Chef Neukom's Canadian focused cuisine, The Lake House provides a variety of wine from some of the world's top producers. Our passion extends to many regions of the world, as we have sought to find some of the world's best producers.
What 2209 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
Food
4.7
Service
4.7
Ambience
4.3
Value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
1 review
Dined 17 hours ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Thanks to Kevin for setting up the rose ;)

s
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 2Food 4Service 1Ambience 4

Yes - I would recommend - but not for a special occasion. Was my husband's 50th and our window table got scooped by another server as we were walking to it. They gave us another window seat - and it was likely the worst in the restaurant - unless you like to look at building beams and an empty outdoor patio. No view of the lake for him.

When another full window table came open they didn't offer it to us.

It was so disappointing that we didn't even want to stay for dessert.

Hats off to the chefs - food was very good. Too bad the front of the restaurant does not match the experience.

MN
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great place! The atmosphere and location was amazing. The view over the lake and location around the building was very nice. Food was outstanding and I would highly recommend it

RW
Vancouver
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

We received complimentary glass of champagne and a happy anniversary note to recognize our special day.

OT
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

The meals were excellent. A little loud though - it would be hard to have conversations with a table of more than 4.

The Lake House
Responded 3 days ago

Good morning Owen, Thank you very much for your lovely review, we apologize about the acoustics, last Monday was a very busy night in the restaurant. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, The Lake House Team

Report
OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Taylor our waitress, is always amazing. Everyone there goes above and beyond to make your dining experience phenomenal

The Lake House
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. We agree. Our staff are fantastic! Warm regards, The Lake House Management

Report
M
1 review
Dined on August 16, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

This was our first time at The Lakehouse and we had a wonderful time. Great food and service and you can't beat the ambience and view. Would definitely go back!

KR
1 review
Dined on August 16, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

I found the restaurant to have great ambience. The service was amazing and the food was interesting (a lot to choose from). A nice place to go for a special occasion!

The Lake House
Responded 5 days ago

Good afternoon Kathy, Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your experience at The Lake House. We look forward to your next booking. Warm regards, Management

Report
AM
Calgary
1 review
Dined on August 16, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

The food, service and location are outstanding. However, with nothing to absorb sound, it is a somewhat noisy restaurant, which was disappointing.

C
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Lovely meal for our anniversary. Always impressed with the food and service. Our favourite restaurant ❤️

DL
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Amazing location. Great service. Incredible food. A great place for dinner

D
Calgary
6 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Beautiful restaurant on the beautiful Lake Bonavista! I’ve always admired it from the beach, so was happy to try it out for our ten year anniversary!
“Darce”, our server, was incredible and very congenial. Very on top of everything.
Food was pricey, but it’s quality. Totally worth it for going once in a blue moon :)

KH
1 review
Dined on August 13, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

I could not have found a better place to take a beautiful woman on our first date! From the table we were seated at to the ambience to the impeccable service to the unbelievably delicious food, everything was picture perfect.

TG
Calgary
15 reviews
Dined on August 12, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

Great evening - would like to see a more senior menu as it’s a little foreign to some of the elderly. Loved it ourselves though and will be back.

OT
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Great place to eat. Pretty setting and great service!

LN
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 3Ambience 1

Worst anniversary dinner in 18 years. So loud my husband and I couldn't hear each other. Our reserved table was next to a family table with little ones and mother's that could not use their inside voices.

The Lake House
Responded on August 14, 2019

Good afternoon Lori, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry that your experience wasn't what you were expecting-- we try our best to be exceptional, and never want to settle for mediocre or average. You mentioned another table that was intrusive but if you could elaborate further on service and food and if there are any ways we can improve I'd love to hear more details. Please email me at .........

Report
RS
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 4

Group table full of kids watching videos and screaming was not good. People should go to McDonalds where other customers aren't paying good dollar to watch you try to parent. Nothing like watching a ten year old dictate to her parents how she will eat $50 a plate food while watching videos on her phone with no headphones.

GT
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

The experience was very pleasant. I was very grateful to the hostess for still accepting our reservation even after arriving almost twenty minutes late. We were immediately seated and and was soon enjoy a lovely brunch with a great view of the lake and wonderful ambiance. Thanks everyone.

The Lake House
Responded 5 days ago

Good afternoon Gerald, Thank you for your lovely review regarding your experience at Brunch at The Lake House. We look forward to your next booking. Warm regards, management

Report
FF
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 2Ambience 5

Expectations were higher given the venue and prices. The food and service did not meet those expectations.

The Lake House
Responded on August 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and give us your rating. I'm sorry that your experience wasn't what you were expecting--but we try our best to be exceptional, and we never want to settle for mediocre or average. If there are any ways we can improve I'd love to hear more details - we sincerely appreciate customer feedback and use it to directly improve our guest's experience. If you’re interesting in sharing a bit more information with us, I can be emailed at ............

Report
J
1 review
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Both service and food were outstanding! We will definitely be back.

N
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Dads birthday

OT
Calgary
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great service. Fantastic cocktail menu and wine list. Food was amazing, specifically the smoked wild boar tenderloin. Our choice for celebrating those special occasions in life.

PG
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great views, excellent staff and delicious food...they even made us a vegetarian option that was not on the menu. What else can one ask for!

ST
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Everything was very good, probably the best eggs Benedict I’ve ever had 😎

CC
Calgary
10 reviews
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Awesome breakfast on the patio

OT
1 review
Dined on August 1, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

As always The Lake House was amazing with everything they do!

SQ
Calgary
1 review
Dined on July 30, 2019
Overall 3Food 5Service 5Ambience 1

Food was great. Service was great.
Noise level was atrocious.
Lack of a customer dress code was obvious everywhere.
For the prices you charge the customer experience is highly disappointing.
The table beside us was clearly drunk and noisy.
UP Your Game Lake House! Time to recapture that reputation for "Fine Dining" you once had.
Susan & Milton Makus
Calgary

SO
1 review
Dined on July 30, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 5Ambience 5

Service was great. Food was average.
Pretty tacky to charge for tap water.

The Lake House
Responded on August 1, 2019

Good afternoon Stephen, Thank you for your recent review in regards to your dining experience. We use a company called Vivrea, an award winning water filtration system. This allows us to reduce our carbon footprint by eliminating the production, transportation, and disposal of pre-packaged bottled water and eliminate the packaging waste of single-use glass and plastic bottles. In the future, if you do not want to take advantage of this service please let us know.

Report
JM
1 review
Dined on July 29, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

The best thing we could have done. Patio, weather, food and service was impeccable. We'll be back!

RC
Calgary
1 review
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall 3Food 2Service 2Ambience 4

Very underwhelmed by the lakehouse. I was looking forward to going there for some time. The food was bland and over priced. I wouldn't go back.

LP
Calgary
1 review
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Great selection for breakfast menu. Ambiance and view are beautiful and quiet. Will be going back!

AH
1 review
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Great food, small menu, but food is well done. We sat on the patio, on a perfect evening, great date night.
Prices are good for upscale, it beats the chains in every aspect.
The rib eye.
Great little chocolates with the bill!
Will be back.

C
1 review
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Highly recommend! Delicious food and excellent customer service.

L
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on July 25, 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 2

We went for our anniversary. Had a window table which was nice to overlook the lake but.... felt extremely rushed through. Ordered the tomato salad which was recommended by the server to share and it came with 3 slices of a basic tomato with some dressing on it. Looked at the table next to us and they’re salads we’re full plates of beautiful different folded herloom tomatoes They were given bread We never got an offer. I ordered the lamb. $40 +. I got three fatty chops and a couple beans on the plate. Won’t go back. Felt let down.

The Lake House
Responded on July 28, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on The Lake House. We strive to ensure every guest receives excellent service as well as delicious food, and are sorry you feel this was not the case during your visit. We would advise letting your server know as soon as possible and our kitchen would be able to remake the dish for you. We hope that you would consider giving us another chance in the future to redeem our CRMR cuisine and change your opinion on us! Desiree Plume-Manager

Report
GF
Calgary
20 reviews
Dined on July 25, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Great evening, fabulous food, wonderful service!

RA
Calgary
1 review
Dined on July 23, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Service was great! Food was amazing. We will definitely be back

AD
Calgary
4 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Anniversary dinner- server added little touches and made a point of wishing us a Happy Anniversary. Awesome service, very attentive.

RH
Calgary
2 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Great view , relaxed setting , imaginative well prepared menu
Deep and interesting wine list
High quality and fair prices — would go back in a heartbeat

OT
Hawaii
4 reviews
Dined on July 21, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Amazing time. Great food, excellent service from Darcy on the patio, and beautiful view. Such a hidden gem.

AP
Calgary
1 review
Dined on July 21, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Beautiful room, wonderful staff, great food. A bit pricy, however the food is delicious. Would highly recommend

1
2
3
56

Tweets by The Lake House