The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
791 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Afternoon Tea
Top tags:
  • Afternoon Tea
  • Special Occasion
  • Quiet Conversation
Since 1927, Tea at the Windsor Arms has been synonymous with elegant, afternoon indulgence. Relax in our French-style lobby tea room or our majestic purple room with its original working fireplace or enjoy your Afternoon Tea behind the red velvet drapes in our Russian Red Tea Room.

Peruse a selection of teas from Russian Caravan to Sencha; our staff will happily guide you through the myriad of tastes and aromas.

Reserve the Tea Room for intimate gatherings such as corporate functions, bridal and baby showers, or get-togethers with friends. All Tea Rooms are available for either full or partial bookings.
What 791 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
Food
4.2
Service
4.4
Ambience
3.8
Value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
v
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4Food 5Service 5Ambience 4

Nice quiet place for Tea time

M
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

As always, the Windsor Arms provides a delightful Afternoon Tea. The food was good, but the scones could have been lighter and more condiments provided. They did not leave much room for the other delicious treats.

f
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Came here for my birthday and it was such a special treat! I chose this place over other high tea experiences because it had an old English vibe that made the experience feel authentic. Also traditional hats / headwear are encouraged, so you can really get in the spirit and be on theme! Service and food were excellent. They also had a great selection of teas. I would highly recommend this for any special occasion or to create fun memories with special people in your life!

JM
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall 2Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

Overpriced $55 plus tax pastries interesting.
A rip off overall.

OT
Orange County
1 review
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Quality and service was excellent, we were in a very lovely purple room that was very cozy. Would go again.

JM
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Great ambiance and excellent service. The pastries were great. Sandwiches pretty good. Excellent smoked salmon on croissant. The scones are unusual, very smooth texture. The jam is thin, runny, and not very sweet. Excellent clotted cream.

F
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 2

Seating was 1-3pm. Server kept asking to bring us take away containers starting around 1:45pm. After multiple repeated requests and our continuous declines the server finally said we need to leave because our 2hrs seating was up. I check the time and it was 2:15pm. I reminded her that our seating was 1-3pm and that she was extremely premature and rude for the multiple interruptions and for rushing us to leave. She apologized claiming she didn’t notice the time. Server name is Jessica. Apart from the rude service, the food was dry, stale, and the sandwiches were extremely over seasoned with black pepper. I don’t mind paying more for good food, ambiance, and service but this was just a complete joke. I visited Windsor arms back in 2011 and their food and service was definitely better then. Now it’s just a waste of time, energy, and money. Avoid at all costs!

OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

Server Jenny was amazing. There was a birthday party in the private room. The door was left open quite a bit so the noise level was quite distracting for me and my friends.

OT
1 review
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 4Ambience 3

No happy this time

LM
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 1Ambience 1

We arrived ten minutes early, and were ignored. We finally had to ask who we give our names to. They were unprepared for the three oclock sitting. When we were seated it was next to the traffic aisle and there were dirty dishes and left over food on a small table next of our chairs. I had lost my appetite! The food here was mediocre at best. The service was terrible not once did anyone come back to check on us. We have had many high teas and this was no HIGH TEA.

CS
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 22, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 4Ambience 5

We had lovely experience at the Windsor Arms for our high tea. Beautiful room and some really nice food. The only constructive criticism we would offer is that A) our tea got cold quickly and we felt should have been reheated more frequently than it was for sure. and B) the strawberry rhubard jam was very, very runny which resulted in a messy scone eating experience.

N
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 3

Not happy with my experience. Also submitted a complaint to the Windsor Arms directly and did not receive a caring response from the President.

m
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 1Ambience 5

Our server was in a mood after we tipped him. Was it not enough to his liking?
The food was not worth the $40 price.

SG
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall 4Food 2Service 1Ambience 2

Service wasn’t that great - we had to ask for glasses of water rather than being served it right away. Scones fell apart as soon as tried to cut them open. Jelly was watery (?) and therefore did not enjoy spreading it over the scones. Waitress bumped herself onto me and did not even apologize. It was a tight space I understand but when paying $50 for an afternoon tea experience I expect a higher level of service and also someone who speaks clearly rather than mumbling or saying words so fast it’s difficult to understand!

V
Toronto
8 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 4

We had read some poor reviews for the Windsor Arms high tea just before going and worried about it as it was a birthday celebration for my friend. With delight we had a great experience- mostly due to luck, having been seated with an excellent server (Jessica) who was kind, informative and accommodating (dietary request) and prompt without being pushy. Lovely teas and our service was fresh and yummy. Desserts seemed to favour mousse type offerings. A variety of cakelets would be preferable. We overheard the server next to us and got a clear idea of why there have been other poor reviews. This man was outright rude.

AR
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Had a wonderful experience at Windsor Arms Hotel High Tea. We were celebrating my aunt’s 80th birthday and it was truly delightful. A must do treat at least once!

DM
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 2Food 5Service 1Ambience 5

Horrible Customer Service with the Windsor Arms Spa, followed by the High Tea at paying.. OpenTable Gift Certificates and NOT allowed at this hotel because they said they have "had problems" with OpenTable Gift Certificates in the past. What type of problems??? If they allow bookings on OpenTable - why don't they accept gift certificates from same? Very disappointing on that regard. Also: does the hotel have no management on a Sunday?? We could not get management at the spa, we could not get management at the front desk, and we could not get management at the tea restaurant.. crazy!! I left a message for George F, the hotel owner - - no call back 3 hours later - another major disappointment. What kind of show is this hotel running - - I expected a lot more on the service side. Ronald at the spa is a horrific specimen of customer service.. the front desk guy was also horrific.. what a shame for a hotel you would think had high standards of service and management.

SA
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 2Ambience 5

I would certainly recommend The Tea Room. The selection of teas was excellent as well as the ambient of the rooms. Service at the front door and front desk was great.
Our server however, was rather rude. She really begrudgingly told us what the food was and seemed annoyed whenever we asked her anything.
When the two hours were up, she came to our table. We thought she would ask us how we wished to settle our bill. Instead, she said, okay well your time is up, so you have to leave. One lady in our party was so shocked she laughed. At this the server said, "Well I told you it's two hours, and it's been two hours so you have to go."
To clarify, we knew it was two hours, and in addition, she, very rudely, told us at the beginning of the tea that it is two hours. So this was quite clear.
This was quite disappointing, as the rest of the tea was perfect.
Regardless, I look forward to going again - hopefully with another server.

IB
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Always a pleasure to come back for unbelievable experience!

E
Toronto
14 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2019
Overall 4Food 3Service 4Ambience 4

Tea and food were enjoyable but seemed expensive compared to other afternoon tea options. A pretty room and service is quite good

AG
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 5Ambience 4

The Windsor Arms high tea service is underwhelming and overpriced. The decor and presentation is lovely, but the scones and sandwiches are incredibly dry. I was very disappointed by how overpriced this particular high tea was, especially since I booked on a Monday for the reduced price of $40 and had to pay 55 on a bank holiday.

K
Dallas
1 review
Dined on August 3, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 4Ambience 5

Celebrated a birthday.

JL
1 review
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Food is delicious. Don’t be fooled by the small portions. I always leave feeling full, and often can’t finish everything.

N
Miami
3 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

My favorite place for high tea! I'm big on ambiance and this place delivers. Great selection of teas and treats. You will not be disappointed.

JM
1 review
Dined on July 27, 2019
Overall 3Food 4Service 2Ambience 4

The room/deco was lovely. My friend and I loved the opportunity to dress up a little and have some girl time. The food was very good, though we did miss having a little more variety that we normally get at the Fairmont. It’s a smaller room so it does tend to get a little loud which is normal, but the waitress we had and the group next to us had, Jenny, was very rude, loud, and definitely needs more training. We are all being served the same meal.. so to go to a table and call out “LADY WITH THE NUT ALLERGY?” like we’re in a big family restaurant was very distracting and I felt bad for the woman who timidly put her hand up as everyone in the restaurant watched. She continued to yell out tea orders as well. Our table was not properly set up when we were seated. But what really got to me was when we were ready to leave we called her over and we asked for our bill she was very dismissive and kept looking away to something else that was going on. That bugged us.. but what really put me over the edge is the fact that she came back minutes later and asked if everything was alright and if we needed anything. We looked at each other confused and my friend asked for the bill again to which Jenny responded “Oh had you asked me for the bill?” Luckily for her my friend was paying so she tipped her anyway. Had it been me that moment would have easily made her too disappear.

Customer service issues aside, we did have a lovely time and enjoyed the atmosphere. We’ll definitely come back again.. though maybe with a different waitress.

HN
1 review
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

It was such a lovely experience. The server was very helpful and the food was delicious!

SK
1 review
Dined on July 21, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Apple Mango tea is just woow! It was perfect Sunday afternoon. Highly recommend for girls afternoon bonding or as a birthday gift. Service and ambiance were excellent. Food was delicious ,especially smoked salmon/cucumber croissants!
If you have dietery restrictions they are happy to accommodate.

OT
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall 1Food 1Service 2Ambience 1

It was not the best - we loved the tea but the room was crowded, AC was not working very well. The food was not up to standards.

T
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 19, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Our waiter was amazing!!! Gave us a lot of suggestions and went over menu.
Tea and dessert were amazing, everything we were looking for.

SW
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

A perfect setting for great chatting with a fabulous tea 'spread'

CC
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 3Ambience 4

We were so looking to our day at The Tea Room. We were there last year and we liked the ambiance and the opportunity to wear a fancy hat. This time around the ambiance and the hats were there, that's why I put the value at fair because if you want ambiance and a fancy hat, then it's good. But the food and the service were lacking. Let's start with the food. Compared to last year's menu, this one paled in comparison. The sandwiches and scones were there. The quiche was quite delightful. But the desserts were a series of mousse cakes. So by the time you get to the desserts, everything has melted. And well, though they were bite size, you can only have so many mousse cakes. Last year, there was a better variety and quality of cakes and pastries. For a family that loves their desserts, this was really disappointing. The service was fair, our waitress seemed very new and a little stressed. She made some missteps but corrected them on her own. I guess the experience was so different from our last visit that it had us thinking that we need to start looking for another tradition. It's not cheap (and for four people), we were hoping for a better, all-round experience.

OT
1 review
Dined on July 14, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

It was a lovely experience! I took my friend for her first high tea and she loved it!

g
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on July 11, 2019
Overall 4Food 5Service 3Ambience 5

This is my third time having tea at Windsor Arms. There are things that Windsor Arms does really well, such as: variety of food offered, quality of food, tea selection, ambiance. Our server Jessica was absolutely amazing this time around. One thing that is always dampens the experience is the check-in. We were left waiting for over 15 minutes for the hostess, even though there were two people at the front registration desk who saw us and just kept chatting away with their personal matter. This happened every time we have dined here and we always wondered why they’d have a separate hostess when they already have staff who are readily available.

SL
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Jessica provided the best service. The scones were fresh, sandwiches delicious, tea was good quality.

KA
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 4Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Could use a few more sandwiches (as opposed to tea biscuits) for the $$, but taste was fine. Had a few issues with the A/C but it was promptly addressed which was appreciated! :)

P
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

Such a wonderful time! Brought my Nana to high tea for her birthday and it was perfect! We both LOVED the teas we chose. My Nana is very particular with her tea and she just loved the house blend that our server recommended! Everyone working was so kind and prompt. The Windsor Arms made my Nana feel very special on her birthday. Went the extra mile to celebrate her! We were so pleased with the selection of treats, tiny sandwiches and biscuits! All was very delicious! Great ambiance. We were able to take our extra treats with us, which was great! Also when we were finished we asked one of the gentlemen working if he could take a photo for us, and he took about 10 to make sure we had a perfect picture, so kind! Did this without having to ask for more than one, wow! Such a sweet man! The valet was great, the gentleman working that day was so funny and kind! Amazing service throughout the hotel, we loved the staff! Will go back for sure! Such a nice afternoon. We loved it.

OT
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 5Food 4Service 5Ambience 5

My sister, sister in law and myself took our three mothers for a belated Mother’s Day experience. We hadn’t been to the Windsor Arms for high tea before and weren’t sure what to expect based on some reviews we had read. The hotel is lovely, staff incredibly friendly and helpful and everything was just perfect! We were pleasantly surprised at how much food we received (couldn’t finish it all) and were pleased to be told we could pack up the rest to take home. We will definitely return.

LB
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 6, 2019
Overall 2Food 2Service 2Ambience 4

I hope this gets passed on to the Wndsor Arms as they need pay attention and hopefully correct deficiencies for other guests. The standard tea service was good - excellents teas and quite tasty savouries altho the sweets components were rather too sweet. My complaint is regarding the way food allergies were catered to which was shockingly catered for one of my guests whose birthday we were celebrating. I notified staff re a dairy restriction which I assume means no milk or cheeses The food served was shockingly meagre, dry white bread which seemed stale to the diner and scones which she thought might have been made with an unusual flour making htem dry and tasteless, Surely for a $50 tea The Wndsor Arms ould go to a little more trouble and provide foods as tasty as the standard service. The diner with nut, orange and shellfish allergies did much better being served with much the same food as those without allergies. It remains a mystery as to why the kitchen responded in such a strange way to a dairy restrition as breads don't usually contain molk?! Sadly this guest didn't complain when or question when she was served and I only learned about it after although I did notice that the platter looked pretty miserable.

LB
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on July 5, 2019
Overall 5Food 5Service 5Ambience 5

Perfect cosy corner and delightful tea service

OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall 3Food 3Service 3Ambience 3

Excellent pleasant service. Nice ambience. The tea we selected was excellent flavour.

1
2
3
20